LISTENER

Maria

Farnham, United Kingdom
  • 21
  • reviews
  • 9
  • helpful votes
  • 27
  • ratings
  • Try Not to Breathe

  • By: Holly Seddon
  • Narrated by: Jot Davies, Lucy Middleweek, Katy Sobey
  • Length: 10 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,318
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,005
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,997

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Laura Lippman, and Paula Hawkins comes Holly Seddon's arresting fiction debut: an engrossing thriller full of page-turning twists and turns, richly imagined characters, and gripping psychological suspense. Some secrets never die. They're just locked away. Alex Dale is lost. Destructive habits have cost her a marriage and a journalism career. All she has left is her routine: a morning run until her body aches, then a few hours of forgettable work before the past grabs hold and drags her down.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • If you can get over annoying irritating inflections in speech of two readers it's worth listening to.

  • By Pete on 02-12-16

Great listen

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 31-03-19

I really enjoyed this book. Kept you guessing almost to the end. Definitely worth a listen. Would listen to this author again.

  • The Ruby in the Smoke

  • By: Philip Pullman
  • Narrated by: Anton Lesser
  • Length: 6 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,963
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1,744
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,735

An unabridged reading of Philip Pullman's nerve-shattering thriller, set in the murky streets and opium dens of Old London. When 16-year old Sally's father drowns in suspicious circumstances, she is left to fend for herself in Victorian London. Although she doesn't know it, she is already in terrible danger.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A layered and satisfying listen

  • By Barry on 08-09-16

Enjoyable listen with good narration.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-01-18

This kept me interested all the way through - unusual story. Well narrated - lots of different voices so that you knew who was talking.

  • Local Girl Missing

  • By: Claire Douglas
  • Narrated by: Hannah Murray, Emilia Fox
  • Length: 10 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 646
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 598
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 593

Twenty years ago 21-year-old Sophie Collier vanished one night. She left nothing behind but a trainer on the old pier - and a hole in the heart of her best friend, Francesca. Now a body's been found. And Francesca's drawn back to the seaside town she's tried to forget. Perhaps the truth of what happened to Sophie will finally come out. Yet Francesca is beginning to wish she hadn't returned. Everywhere she turns are ghosts from her past. The same old faces and familiar haunts of her youth.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • great thriller.

  • By Miss Lesley Davidson on 09-11-16

Good twist

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-12-17

This was a good listen and kept you guessing right until the end.
I liked there being a different narrator for each girl - both were excellent and believable.

The Woman Who Went to Bed for a Year
    
    
        By:
        












    





    





    
        
            
            
                
            
        
        Sue Townsend
    
    


    
    
        Narrated by:
        












    





    





    
        
            
            
                
            
        
        Caroline Quentin
    
    


    
    Length: 10 hrs and 25 mins
    338 ratings
    Overall 3.6
  • The Woman Who Went to Bed for a Year

  • By: Sue Townsend
  • Narrated by: Caroline Quentin
  • Length: 10 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 338
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 223
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 224

The day her children leave home, Eva climbs into bed and stays there. She's had enough - of her kids' carelessness, her husband's thoughtlessness and of the world's general indifference. Brian can't believe his wife is doing this. Who is going to make dinner? But Eva won't budge; and soon she realises to her horror that everyone has been taking her for granted - including herself.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • A disappointment

  • By Amanda on 18-12-12

Good narration

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-04-17

Reasonable story but left a bit in the air - would have liked the ends to be tied up. Enjoyed narration.

  • The Throwaway Children

  • By: Diney Costeloe
  • Narrated by: Anne Dover
  • Length: 17 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 834
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 744
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 745

Rita and Rosie Stevens are only nine and five years old when their widowed mother marries a violent bully. Under pressure from her new husband, she is persuaded to send the girls to an orphanage. It is not long before the powers that be decide to send a consignment of orphans to their sister institution in Australia. Among them, without their family's consent or knowledge, are Rita and Rosie, the throwaway children.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A wonderful novel, beautifully narrated.

  • By Elizabeth on 28-02-17

Excellent listen

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-02-17

Another enjoyable listen from this author. I really invested in the characters. Beautifully read too.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • The Girl with No Name

  • By: Diney Costeloe
  • Narrated by: Bea Holland
  • Length: 18 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 551
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 494
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 491

Thirteen-year-old Lisa escapes from Nazi Germany on the Kindertransport and arrives in England in August 1939. She can't speak a word of English, and among her meagre belongings is one precious photograph of her family. But when the Blitz blows her new home apart, she wakes up in hospital with no memory of who she is. The authorities give her a new name and despatch her to a children's home. With the war in full swing, what will become of Lisa now?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Girl with no name!

  • By Magic Maggie on 14-09-16

Fab

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-02-17

I really enjoyed this book and it had a great story set in the Second World War.
The narrator bought it alive with her different voices.
A fab listen. Really recommend.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • The Miner's Daughter

  • The Families of Fairley Terrace Sagas, Book 2
  • By: Jennie Felton
  • Narrated by: Janine Berkut
  • Length: 16 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 41
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 34
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 36

A powerful saga in the Families of Fairley Terrace series, filled with romance, tragedy, drama, secrets and triumph in adversity from the author of All The Dark Secrets. When Annie Day at number four, Fairley Terrace, loses her beloved husband in a tragic mining disaster, she cannot afford the luxury of grief. For now she must find a way to support herself and her two young daughters, Kitty and Lucy, and marriage to widower Algernon Pierce seems to be the answers to Annie's prayers.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Enjoyable

  • By Maria on 16-10-16

Enjoyable

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-10-16

A good easy listen. I also bought subsequent novels and liked how they all slightly linked.
Recommended.

  • Possession

  • By: Helen Hardt
  • Narrated by: Sebastian York, Neva Navarre
  • Length: 7 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 144
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 126
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 125

Jade Roberts's love for Talon Steel is the real deal, and she's more determined than ever to help him come to grips with whatever is haunting him. To that end, she continues her investigation of the Steels...and unknowingly attracts some dangerous foes from their shrouded history. Talon loves Jade deeply and longs to possess her forever, so he faces his worst fears and exposes his rawest wounds in an attempt to heal.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great

  • By Kerry on 11-03-17

A must have to conclude the story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-10-16

Bought the final book straight away as I was caught up in the story.
A good listen with plenty of sexy scenes (maybe a few too many) but there is also a good story behind it. The abuse theme runs through which isn't something I would choose to read about but I needed to hear the conclusion.
Overall I enjoyed this trilogy and was caught up in the characters and willing for it all to work out.
Left with an opening for another book about the older brother which I would definitely buy.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Obsession

  • The Steel Brothers Saga, Book 2
  • By: Helen Hardt
  • Narrated by: Sebastian York, Neva Navarre
  • Length: 7 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 134
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 114
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 113

Jade Roberts is in love with Talon Steel but no longer welcome in his home. While she resolves to move on, she still longs for the passion she and Talon shared...and when her boss asks her to dig up information on the Steels, she's only too happy to comply. Talon and his brothers are hiding something, and Jade is determined find out what it is. The moment Talon saw Jade he wanted her, ached for her, craved her...and now his desire has become his obsession.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A compelling listen

  • By Maria on 16-10-16

A compelling listen

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-10-16

I bought book 2 straight away as I was intrigued about what was going to happen next.
I personally didn't like the child abuse sections and wonder if that had to be so explicit.
Good story - you'll want to get the next book. Lots of sex scenes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Craving

  • The Steel Brothers Saga, Book 1
  • By: Helen Hardt
  • Narrated by: Sebastian York, Neva Navarre
  • Length: 7 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 221
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 185
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 185

After being left at the altar, Jade Roberts seeks solace at her best friend's ranch on the Colorado western slope. Her humiliation still ripe, she doesn't expect to be attracted to her friend's reticent brother, but when the gorgeous cowboy kisses her, all bets are off. Talon Steel is broken. Having never fully healed from a horrific childhood trauma, he simply exists, taking from women what is offered and giving nothing in return...until Jade Roberts catapults into his life.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Half a story

  • By PatButcher on 25-04-17

Raunchy with a good story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-10-16

Very racy and sexy.
However, I found the sections about child abuse a little distressing and found it a little distasteful in an erotic book - didn't seem right. I probably wouldn't have bought it if I had realised.
The story however was very good and I was compelled to listen on.
Very explicit and maybe a few too many sex scenes for me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful