LISTENER

James Kerr

  • 4
  • reviews
  • 6
  • helpful votes
  • 7
  • ratings
  • The Sandman

  • By: Lars Kepler
  • Narrated by: Saul Reichlin
  • Length: 14 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 174
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 165
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 163

The number-one Swedish thriller by the author of The Hypnotist and The Fire Witness. He's Sweden's most prolific serial killer. Jurek Walter is serving a life sentence. Kept in solitary confinement, he is still considered extremely dangerous by psychiatric staff. He'll lull you into a sense of calm. Mikael knows him as The Sandman. Seven years ago, he was taken from his bed along with his sister. They are both presumed dead. He has one target left.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Terrifying

  • By Sara on 30-11-14

Another superb book from these authors

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-05-17

So interesting and well read. A clever and intriguing storyline with twists and turns. Mmmmm - looking for the next one now.

  • Stalker

  • By: Lars Kepler
  • Narrated by: Saul Reichlin
  • Length: 19 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 180
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 172
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 172

The much-anticipated fifth thriller in Lars Kepler's best-selling series featuring Joona Linna. Perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. A video clip is sent to the National Criminal Investigation Department. Someone has secretly filmed a woman through her window from the garden. The next day she is found dead after a frenzied knife attack. The police receive a second film of another unknown woman. There is no way of identifying her before time runs out.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Stalker

  • By vincent mawhinney on 15-09-17

Another great read.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-05-17



Clever writing with twists and turns - didn't want to stop listening. Can't wait to download the next one.

  • The Narrow Bed

  • By: Sophie Hannah
  • Narrated by: Julia Barrie
  • Length: 15 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 122
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 109
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 109

Queen of psychological crime Sophie Hannah returns with a chilling new Culver Valley crime novel. A killer that the police are calling "Billy Dead Mates" is murdering pairs of best friends one by one. Before they die, each victim is given a small white book.... For months detectives have failed to catch Billy or work out what the white books mean. And then a woman, scared by what she's seen on the news, comes forward. Stand-up comedian Kim Tribbeck has one of Billy's peculiar little books.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • I think I liked it - but not sure!

  • By SCR on 02-03-16

Another great book from Sophie Hannah

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 20-02-16

A gripping story, which if it was an actual paper copy book, was hard to put down.
Julia Barrie is a great narrator which makes all of the difference to the enjoyment of the book.
When the book appeared on Audible I bought it immediately as Sophie Hannah has become a "must listen to" for me.

The Female Eunuch
    
    
        By:
        












    





    





    
        
            
            
                
            
        
        Germaine Greer
    
    


    
    
        Narrated by:
        












    





    





    
        
            
            
                
            
        
        Germaine Greer
    
    


    
    Length: 12 hrs and 39 mins
    134 ratings
    Overall 4.0
  • The Female Eunuch

  • By: Germaine Greer
  • Narrated by: Germaine Greer
  • Length: 12 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 134
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 115
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 112

A worldwide best seller, The Female Eunuch is a landmark book in the history of the women's movement and a ground-breaking feminist tract. Drawing from history, literature, and popular culture - past and present - Germaine Greer's searing examination of women's oppression is both an important social commentary and a passionately argued polemical masterpiece. This is one of the most famous, most widely read books on feminism ever written.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • great reading

  • By Philip on 09-03-13

Not for me

Overall
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-01-13

Sorry but for the first time since joining Audible I do not want to continue to listen to this book.

6 of 17 people found this review helpful