LISTENER

Alkes

  • 11
  • reviews
  • 5
  • helpful votes
  • 189
  • ratings
  • The Midnight Line

  • Jack Reacher, Book 22
  • By: Lee Child
  • Narrated by: Jeff Harding
  • Length: 11 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,837
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,659
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,660

Jack Reacher takes an aimless stroll past a pawn shop in a small Midwestern town. In the window he sees a West Point class ring from 2005. It's tiny. It's a woman cadet's graduation present to herself. Why would she give it up? Reacher's a West Pointer, too, and he knows what she went through to get it. Reacher tracks the ring back to its owner, step by step, down a criminal trail leading west. Like Big Foot come out of the forest, he arrives in the deserted wilds of Wyoming. All he wants is to find the woman.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Reacher's Fine Lines

  • By Simon on 07-11-17

Disappointing

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-11-17

Thankfully this isn't the 1st Reacher book I have read and I did not miss out on all the excellent books before this one. I wouldn't have tried a second one if this had been my first.

Not a book I would recommend to a friend

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • The Girl with All the Gifts

  • By: M. R. Carey
  • Narrated by: Finty Williams
  • Length: 13 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,921
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,518
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,507

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr Caldwell calls her 'our little genius'. Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don't like her. She jokes that she won't bite, but they don't laugh. Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children's cells.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A stunning read

  • By Simon on 19-01-14

Great book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-05-17

What a great story. Well written and read. You won't regret getting this one. Enjoy

  • We Are Legion (We Are Bob)

  • Bobiverse, Book 1
  • By: Dennis E. Taylor
  • Narrated by: Ray Porter
  • Length: 9 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,026
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 5,705
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,689

Bob Johansson has just sold his software company and is looking forward to a life of leisure. There are places to go, books to read, and movies to watch. So it's a little unfair when he gets himself killed crossing the street. Bob wakes up a century later to find that corpsicles have been declared to be without rights, and he is now the property of the state. He has been uploaded into computer hardware and is slated to be the controlling AI in an interstellar probe looking for habitable planets.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • An unexpected gem

  • By Andrew on 29-01-17

Great book! Loved every second of it.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-04-17

I rate every book I listen to but I rarely write reviews.
Loved the differences in the Bobs and the common humanity or conscience they share. I've never said this before or even thought it but this could have been a Heinlen novel, which is no small thing.. in fact if you liked this and haven't tried Robert Heinlen that's another recommendation.

  • The Physics of the Dead

  • A Supernatural Mystery Novel
  • By: Luke Smitherd
  • Narrated by: Luke Smitherd
  • Length: 9 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,018
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 969
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 964

The afterlife doesn't come with a manual. In fact, Hart and Bowler (two ordinary but dead men) have had to work out the rules of their new existence for themselves. It's that fact (along with being unable to leave the boundaries of their city center, unable to communicate with the other lost souls, unable to rest in case The Beast catches up with them) that makes getting out of their situation a priority. But Hart and Bowler don't know why they're there in the first place; if they ever want to leave, they will have to find all the answers to be able to understand the physics of the dead.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • There is Simply no Formula for Luke Smitherd!

  • By Simon on 04-03-16

Hasn't failed to please

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 29-03-17

Was going to say that this author was improving with every book but then I saw this was the first book he released, so there goes that theory.
Reminds me of Iain Banks but more human ;)
I think you'll like it

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 14

  • By: Peter Clines
  • Narrated by: Ray Porter
  • Length: 12 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,829
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,729
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,725

There are some odd things about Nate’s new apartment. Of course, he has other things on his mind. He hates his job. He has no money in the bank. No girlfriend. No plans for the future. So while his new home isn’t perfect, it’s livable. The rent is low, the property managers are friendly, and the odd little mysteries don’t nag at him too much. At least, not until he meets Mandy, his neighbor across the hall, and notices something unusual about her apartment. And Xela’s apartment. And Tim’s. And Veek’s.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A good one!

  • By Robyn on 23-11-16

Yes good book. You'll like it

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-03-17

Enjoyed this story very much. The only thing that detracted from it were the spoilers in the review section.

  • Hope and Red

  • By: Jon Skovron
  • Narrated by: Jon Skovron
  • Length: 12 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 97
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 92
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 92

In a fracturing empire spread across savage seas, two people find a common cause. Hope, the lone survivor of a village massacred by the emperor's forces, is secretly trained as a warrior and instrument of vengeance. Red, an orphan adopted by a notorious matriarch of the criminal underworld, learns to be an expert thief and con artist. Together they will take down an empire. Perfect for fans of Brent Weeks, Brandon Sanderson and Peter V. Brett, Hope and Red is destined to be the next fantasy blockbuster.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Smug Caricatures in a Clichéd Land

  • By Simon on 20-11-16

What a debut

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 29-09-16

Expect great things from this author. His imagination runs free and his writing keeps pace. Excellent!

  • Battlefield Earth

  • Post-Apocalyptic Sci-Fi and New York Times Bestseller
  • By: L. Ron Hubbard
  • Narrated by: Josh Clark, Scott Menville, Fred Tatascorie, and others
  • Length: 47 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 243
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 220
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 221

In the year AD 3000, Earth is a barren wasteland, plundered of its natural resources by the millennium-long regime of taloned, gas-breathing, nine-foot alien conquerors from the planet Psychlo. Fewer than 35,000 humans survive in a handful of communities scattered across the face of a postapocalyptic Earth. From a desolate village in the Rocky Mountains near what once was Denver, Colorado, a courageous young man named Jonnie Goodboy Tyler embarks on a hero's journey to challenge the fearful myths of his people.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Outstanding

  • By Raymond Moffat on 17-06-16

Top 3 audiobook!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-07-16

Wow! This book just wouldn't let up. Plot just kept on developing right until the last!
Truly one of my top 3 of all time. Can't recommend enough!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • On Target

  • A Gray Man Novel
  • By: Mark Greaney
  • Narrated by: Jay Snyder
  • Length: 12 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 246
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 224
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 223

Four years ago, assassin Court Gentry was betrayed by his handlers in the CIA. Now, an old comrade returns to haunt him - and to force him on a mission against his will. With his ruthless employers on one side, his former friends on the other, and a doomed mission ahead, Court Gentry would kill to get out of this one alive.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Ridiculous plot

  • By david on 23-04-18

Entertaining

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-03-16

Action packed and entertaining. Great for the daily commute. Characters become more believable as the series progresses

  • Not a Drill

  • A Jack Reacher Short Story
  • By: Lee Child
  • Narrated by: Kerry Shale
  • Length: 1 hr and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 136
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 125
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 123

The brand new Jack Reacher short story, published as a digital exclusive. The tiny town of Naismith has nothing going for it - except the start of a wilderness trail through Maine's ancient forests. But one day the trail is suddenly closed by county police. No reason is given. Rumours start - is there something in the woods that no one must see? That no one must even know about? Then Jack Reacher drifts into town. What does he make of the Do Not Enter tape strung between the trees?

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • I have been ripped off for such a short story

  • By david on 02-06-16

Meh

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-08-15

I've all the Reacher novels and I love them. This was a waste of my time though. Not a fan

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • The Ambassador's Mission

  • Traitor Spy Trilogy, Book 1
  • By: Trudi Canavan
  • Narrated by: Richard Aspel
  • Length: 17 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 452
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 275
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 279

Sonea, former street urchin, now a Black Magician, is horrified when her son, Lorkin, volunteers to assist Dannyl in his new role as Guild Ambassador to Sachaka, a land still ruled by cruel black magicians. When word comes that Lorkin has gone missing Sonea is desperate to find him, but if she leaves the city she will be exiled forever, and besides, her old friend Cery needs her help.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Fabulous book awful narrator

  • By brittany on 25-04-12

Great story wrong narrator

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-04-15

The narrator spoiled it for me. His voice is wrong. I don't want to go on about it. You'll either like him or you won't. Recommend listening to the sample before buying. Good story overall. I'll be reading the next two books though

0 of 1 people found this review helpful