LISTENER

Sharon Binns

  • 8
  • reviews
  • 7
  • helpful votes
  • 22
  • ratings
  • Oh My God, What a Complete Aisling

  • By: Emer McLysaght
  • Narrated by: Amy McAllister
  • Length: 7 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 641
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 574
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 576

Aisling is 28 and she’s a complete...Aisling. She lives at home in Ballygobbard (or Ballygobackwards, as some gas tickets call it) with her parents and commutes to her good job at PensionsPlus in Dublin. Aisling goes out every Saturday night with her best friend, Majella, who is a bit of a hames (she’s lost two phones already this year - Aisling has never lost a phone). They love hoofing into the Coors Light if they’re 'Out' or the vodka and Diet Cokes if they’re 'Out Out'.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 10/10 chill and relaxation time

  • By Anonymous User on 28-10-18

Loved every minute of this book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-01-19

One of the best I have listened to. Laughed out loud &. Really didn’t want it to end. Brilliant story & the narrator was excellent. Definitely recommend this book

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • You Don't Know Me

  • By: Imran Mahmood
  • Narrated by: Adam Deacon
  • Length: 7 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 585
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 546
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 545

An unnamed defendant stands accused of murder. Just before the closing speeches, the young man sacks his lawyer and decides to give his own defence speech. He tells us that his barrister told him to leave some things out. Sometimes the truth can be too difficult to explain or believe. But he thinks that if he's going to go down for life, he might as well go down telling the truth.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Stunning

  • By The One Who Reads on 30-06-17

Outstanding!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-06-18

I’m not going to spoil any part of the book. I started listening with the intention of listening to one chapter...then saying well I have tried it...
I loved every minute of the book & couldn’t stop listening outstanding story brilliantly written I’m sorry it’s finished...

  • Little Girl Lost

  • Detective Robyn Carter Crime Thriller Series, Book 1
  • By: Carol Wyer
  • Narrated by: Emma Newman
  • Length: 14 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 183
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 157
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 157

A teacher goes missing under suspicious circumstances and a man is murdered at a local reservoir. For Detective Robyn Carter, there's no obvious link between the cases. But as she starts to delve into them, her investigations lead her to Abigail, perfect wife and mother to beautiful little Izzy. What was Abigail's connection to the victims? And why is she receiving threatening messages from an anonymous number?

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Painfully narrated

  • By Sharon Binns on 14-04-18

Painfully narrated

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-04-18

Liked the story & was looking forward to to finding a new series to listen to, however I found the narrator painful to listen to & it spoilt my enjoyment of the book

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • The Son

  • By: Jo Nesbo
  • Narrated by: Sean Barrett
  • Length: 14 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 902
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 833
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 833

Sonny's on the run. Sonny is a model prisoner. He listens to the confessions of other inmates, and absolves them of their sins. He's been lied to his whole life. But then one prisoner’s confession changes everything. He knows something about Sonny’s disgraced father. Sonny wants revenge. He needs to break out of prison and make those responsible pay for their crimes. Whatever the cost.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Wow!

  • By David on 26-04-14

Brilliant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-10-17

Didn’t think I would enjoy it without Harry Hole & I kept expecting him to turn up! Loved it

  • The Owl Always Hunts At Night

  • Holger Munch & Mia Kruger, Book 2
  • By: Samuel Bjork
  • Narrated by: Laura Paton
  • Length: 11 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 136
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 125
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 125

When a young woman is found dead, the police are quick to respond. But what they find at the scene is unexpected. The body is posed, the scene laboriously set. And there is almost no forensic evidence to be found. Detective Mia Krüger has been signed off work pending psychological assessment. But her boss has less regard for the rules than he should. Desperate to get Mia back in the office, Holger Munch offers her an unofficial deal.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • You don't has to read the first book to follow

  • By Ingrid on 26-04-17

Couldn't stop listening!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-05-17

Pre-ordered this one & couldn't wait for its release after listening to Travelling alone. Brilliant, didn't want it to end! Can't wait for the next one!

  • I'm Travelling Alone

  • Holger Munch & Mia Kruger, Book 1
  • By: Samuel Bjork
  • Narrated by: Laura Paton
  • Length: 14 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 623
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 578
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 578

When a six-year-old girl is found dead, hanging from a tree, the only clue the Oslo Police have to work with is an airline tag around her neck. It reads, 'I'm travelling alone'. Holger Munch, veteran police investigator, is immediately charged with reassembling his homicide unit. But to complete the team, he must convince his erstwhile partner, Mia Krüger - a brilliant but troubled investigator - to return from the solitary island where she has retreated with plans to take her own life.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Loved it. Narration realistic. Gripping to the end

  • By M.A. on 15-02-16

Didn't want it to end

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-03-17

Loved this book from the start, didn't want it to end. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Try Not to Breathe

  • By: Holly Seddon
  • Narrated by: Jot Davies, Lucy Middleweek, Katy Sobey
  • Length: 10 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,305
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,992
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,985

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Laura Lippman, and Paula Hawkins comes Holly Seddon's arresting fiction debut: an engrossing thriller full of page-turning twists and turns, richly imagined characters, and gripping psychological suspense. Some secrets never die. They're just locked away. Alex Dale is lost. Destructive habits have cost her a marriage and a journalism career. All she has left is her routine: a morning run until her body aches, then a few hours of forgettable work before the past grabs hold and drags her down.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • If you can get over annoying irritating inflections in speech of two readers it's worth listening to.

  • By Pete on 02-12-16

A must read!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-01-17

Couldn't wait to listen to this on my journey to work! Sorry I have finished it. Loved it hope I can find another one as good...
I read this one straight after girl on a train which was excellent but I enjoyed this more

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • I See You

  • By: Clare Mackintosh
  • Narrated by: Rachel Atkins
  • Length: 10 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,874
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,545
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,543

When Zoe Walker sees her photo in the classifieds section of a London newspaper, she is determined to find out why it's there. There's no explanation, no website - just a grainy image and a phone number. She takes it home to her family, who are convinced it's just someone who looks like Zoe. But the next day the advert shows a photo of a different woman, and another the day after that.Is it a mistake? A coincidence? Or is someone keeping track of every move they make?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I See Something Very, Very Impressive Here!

  • By Simon on 28-07-16

Addictive

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-12-16

Couldn't wait to listen to this on my commute to work.

One of the best I've listened to, didn't want it to end