LISTENER

pamela towns

  • 10
  • reviews
  • 4
  • helpful votes
  • 12
  • ratings
  • The Fourth Motive

  • A Farrell and Kearn Thriller
  • By: Sean Lynch
  • Narrated by: Jeff Harding
  • Length: 10 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 91
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 88
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 86

Deputy District Attorney Paige Callen is being stalked, and the man stalking her is motivated, methodical, and relentless. The police aren’t merely one step behind Paige’s stalker; they’re stumped. So Paige’s father, retired Judge ‘Iron Gene’ Callen, instead hires retired San Francisco P.D. Inspector turned private investigator Bob Farrell, to the dismay of the local police. The cops know all too well Farrell’s reputation as a reckless wild card.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great crime writing

  • By michael on 29-04-15

audios answer to a pageturner.<br />

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-03-19

storyline excellent with characterisation handled with consummate ease by the wonderful Jeff Harding. thoroughly enjoyable

  • Jackdaws

  • By: Ken Follett
  • Narrated by: Emilia Fox
  • Length: 17 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 171
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 159
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 159

Two weeks before D-day, the French Resistance attacks a chateau containing a telephone exchange vital to German communications - but the building is heavily guarded, and the attack fails disastrously. Flick Clairet, a young British secret agent, proposes a daring new plan: she will parachute into France with an all-woman team known as the Jackdaws, and they will penetrate the chateau in disguise. But, unknown to Flick, Rommel has assigned a brilliant, ruthless intelligence colonel, Dieter Franck, to crush the Resistance. And Dieter is on Flick's trail....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Gripping listen

  • By Amazon Customer on 12-09-18

oh for a good narrator

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-09-18

I was very disappointed with Emelia Fox's narration. I felt sure that she would be very good but foŕ the first several chapters I was struggling to get a sense of the characters as her intonation was very odd and out of sync with the prose. Her pronunciation of the words Rheims and cinquecento, used frequently, really grated. Perhaps she used the received pronunciation of the world war participants but with multilinguists galore I doubt it. Shame because it was a very good story when I read the book.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • The Outsider

  • By: Stephen King
  • Narrated by: Will Patton
  • Length: 18 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,428
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,247
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,245

When an 11-year-old boy is found murdered, forensic evidence and reliable eyewitnesses undeniably point to the town's popular Little League coach. But the jailed suspect, arrested in a public spectacle, has an alibi, and further research convinces Detective Ralph Anderson that the coach was indeed out of town. So how can he have been in two places at the same time?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The Outsider Stands Tall

  • By Simon on 24-05-18

another superb King

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-07-18

A gripping story made more so by the reader's craft. Stephen King is the master of unreality

  • The Ice Princess

  • Patrick Hedstrom and Erica Falck, Book 1
  • By: Camilla Lackberg
  • Narrated by: Robin Bowerman
  • Length: 12 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 109
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 100
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 99

Returning to her hometown after the funeral of her parents, writer Erica Falck finds a community on the brink of tragedy. The death of her childhood friend, Alex, is just the beginning. Her wrists slashed, her body frozen in an ice-cold bath, it seems, at first, that she has taken her own life. Erica conceives a memoir about the beautiful but remote Alex, one that will help to overcome her writer's block as well as answer questions about their own past.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Totally worthwhile

  • By Red Kitty on 08-02-15

the ice princess.

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-04-18

spoilt a good book by a reader who doesn't believe in full stops or even commas. very disconcerting when lines.run into one another so that one is confused about who is being spoken about. after two.thirds.of the book I could keep up!

The Visitor cover art
  • The Visitor

  • Jack Reacher 4
  • By: Lee Child
  • Narrated by: Hayward Morse
  • Length: 14 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,105
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 1,009
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,016

Sergeant Amy Callan and Lieutenant Caroline Cooke have a lot in common. Both were army high-flyers. Both were acquainted with Jack Reacher. Both were forced to resign from the service. Now they're both dead. Found in their own homes, naked, in a bath full of paint. Apparent victims of an army man. A loner, a smart guy with a score to settle, a ruthless vigilante. A man just like Jack Reacher.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Comic voices spoil a good yarn...

  • By Freiburg on 18-12-13

shame about the narration!

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 31-03-17

the normal voice of the narrator was good but his characterisations laughable , ruining it.

  • The Impossible Dead

  • By: Ian Rankin
  • Narrated by: Peter Forbes
  • Length: 12 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 598
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 231
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 234

Malcolm Fox and his team are back. They've been sent to Fife to investigate whether fellow cops covered up for a corrupt colleague, Detective Paul Carter. Carter has been found guilty of misconduct with his own uncle, also in the force, having proved to be his nemesis. But what should be a simple job is soon complicated by intimations of conspiracy - and a brutal murder committed with a weapon that should not even exist.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Brilliant Successor to Rebus

  • By GC on 15-10-11

I like Fox a lot

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-02-17

Fox is both a clever detective and sober! Very driven and a well drawn character as are is team members. a worthy successor to Rebus. more please.

  • When the Music's Over

  • The 23rd DCI Banks Mystery
  • By: Peter Robinson
  • Narrated by: Simon Slater
  • Length: 16 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 468
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 413
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 416

When the body of a young girl is found in a remote countryside lane, evidence suggests she was drugged, abused and thrown from a moving van - before being beaten to death. While DI Annie Cabbot investigates the circumstances in which a 14-year-old could possibly fall victim to such a crime, newly promoted Detective Superintendent Alan Banks must do the same - but the crime Banks is investigating is the coldest of cases.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Bang up to the minute!

  • By Rachel Redford on 05-08-16

ll good book spoilt by the narrator's heavy breath

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-02-17

Couldn't continue after chapter one on second reading because of the very audible inhalations. most off putting despite the good story

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Every Dark Corner

  • The Cincinnati Series, Book 3
  • By: Karen Rose
  • Narrated by: Susie James
  • Length: 21 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 164
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 148
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 147

Every Dark Corner is the nail-biting new thriller from Sunday Times best seller Karen Rose and book three in the Cincinnati series, following on from Closer than You Think and Alone in the Dark, for fans of James Patterson and Tess Gerritsen. When FBI Special Agent Griffin 'Decker' Davenport wakes from his coma, he is desperate to find the missing children he knows are in danger.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fantastic story from a brilliant storyteller

  • By Mrs. S. A. Lynch on 08-11-16

why oh why.

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-12-16

this could be a fabulous book. the sex ruins it highlighting implausible characterisation amidst a thrilling and gripping storyline. formulaic day old relationships in all her books will prevent me getting any more.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Affair

  • Jack Reacher 16
  • By: Lee Child
  • Narrated by: Jeff Harding
  • Length: 12 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,324
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,056
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,049

March 1997. A woman has her throat cut behind a bar in Carter Crossing, Mississippi. Just down the road is a big army base.Is the murderer a local guy - or is he a soldier?Jack Reacher, still a major in the military police, is sent in undercover. The county sheriff is a former U.S. Marine - and a stunningly beautiful woman. Her investigation is going nowhere. Is the Pentagon stonewalling her? Or doesn't she really want to find the killer? The adrenaline-pumping, high-voltage action in The Affair is set just six months before the opening of Killing Floor....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Reacher is back

  • By Oliver on 21-11-11

the Affair

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-10-16

this is my favourite story for sending me to sleep. Just because I love it so much my brain tricks me by shutting off. takes me weeks to get through with the occasional daytime 'read' to make sure I've got the story right.love it. Narrator my favourite Jack Reacher.

  • He Who Kills the Dragon

  • Bäckström 2
  • By: Leif G W Persson
  • Narrated by: Erik Davies
  • Length: 14 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    2.5 out of 5 stars 5
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars 5
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars 5

In this second installment of Persson's trilogy of police procedurals featuring the 'small, fat and primitive' Evert Bäckström, the grand master's most appallingly repulsive (and funniest) character is finally given his 15 minutes of fame by way of his patented combination of laziness, luck and an unbelievable sense of timing. A seemingly ordinary murder puzzles Bäckström, who is struggling with strict orders from his doctor to lead a healthier life. His gut feeling proves him right: within days his team has another murder linked to the first on their hands.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • what a waste of money!

  • By pamela towns on 07-07-16

what a waste of money!

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-07-16

the lead character is three dimensional, mysogynis, racist and foul mouthed. All the rest are inconsequential and pale. storyline could have been ok but nothing sparked a reason to finish. Nordi noir in need of a reverse publication

1 of 2 people found this review helpful