LISTENER

Moriam Bartlett

  • 13
  • reviews
  • 24
  • helpful votes
  • 191
  • ratings
  • Yellow Crocus

  • By: Laila Ibrahim
  • Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
  • Length: 8 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 764
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 684
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 681

Moments after Lisbeth is born, she’s taken from her mother and handed over to an enslaved wet nurse, Mattie, a young mother separated from her own infant son in order to care for her tiny charge. Thus begins an intense relationship that will shape both of their lives for decades to come. Though Lisbeth leads a life of privilege, she finds nothing but loneliness in the company of her overwhelmed mother and her distant, slave-owning father.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fantastic, loved it!

  • By Ann D on 07-02-15

Loved this book!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-02-19

I absolutely loved every word and every second of this story. The narrator was excellent and brought the story to life. Thanks to the author for weaving such beautiful story.

  • The Stars Shine Down

  • By: Sidney Sheldon
  • Narrated by: Roddy McDowall
  • Length: 10 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 4
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 3

The young, beautiful, and relentless Lara Cameron has amassed international wealth and power, with equal success in affairs of the heart. But an angry ex-lover has vengeance in mind - a motive that could cost Lara the empire she struggled a lifetime to build. Setting the stage in Scotland and Nova Scotia, maestro of mystery Sydney Sheldon lures his readers down a chain of intrigue through Chicago, New York, London, Rome, and Reno.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Good story but terrible audio quality

  • By Moriam Bartlett on 24-01-19

Good story but terrible audio quality

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-01-19

Really enjoyed the story but the quality of the audio was awful. Audiobooks let down!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Becoming

  • By: Michelle Obama
  • Narrated by: Michelle Obama
  • Length: 19 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 16,349
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 14,513
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 14,464

In her memoir, a work of deep reflection and mesmerizing storytelling, Michelle Obama invites listeners into her world, chronicling the experiences that have shaped her - from her childhood on the South Side of Chicago to her years as an executive balancing the demands of motherhood and work to her time spent at the world's most famous address. With unerring honesty and lively wit, she describes her triumphs and her disappointments, both public and private, telling her full story as she has lived it - in her own words and on her own terms. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Audio better than print

  • By Fersh on 03-12-18

Loved it!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-11-18

I was enthralled by every word. A really intelligent, thoughtful, warm and honest voice. She resonates with me and my girlfriends with our issues and our families and our ‘stuff’! I absolutely loved this book. Probably my favourite of this year.

  • When You Disappeared

  • By: John Marrs
  • Narrated by: Simon Mattacks, Elizabeth Knowelden
  • Length: 9 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,076
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 955
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 950

All she wanted was the truth, but she'll wish she never found out. When Catherine wakes up alone one morning, she thinks her husband has gone for a run before work. But Simon never makes it to the office. His running shoes are by the front door. Nothing is missing - except him.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Disappointing - don't waste your credit

  • By Liz Rev on 21-07-18

Loved it!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-11-18

I absolutely loved this story. I was completely caught up in it and only stopped listening when I had to. He narrators were excellent.

  • Deceit

  • By: Kerry Barnes
  • Narrated by: Annie Aldington
  • Length: 12 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 126
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 113
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 112

A gripping new audiobook from best-selling author Kerry Barnes. Perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers, Martina Cole and Jacqui Rose.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • But of course it's brilliant because the author is

  • By Amazon Customer on 05-11-18

Kerry Barnes at her best!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-09-18

Wow! What an exciting story with a very clever and unexpected twist. Well written and well read. I listened to every word with baited breath. Excellent!

I am such a fan of the author and I’ve listened to all her audio books on audible. I’m impatiently awaiting the next one!

  • You Don't Know Me

  • By: Imran Mahmood
  • Narrated by: Adam Deacon
  • Length: 7 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 595
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 556
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 555

An unnamed defendant stands accused of murder. Just before the closing speeches, the young man sacks his lawyer and decides to give his own defence speech. He tells us that his barrister told him to leave some things out. Sometimes the truth can be too difficult to explain or believe. But he thinks that if he's going to go down for life, he might as well go down telling the truth.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Stunning

  • By The One Who Reads on 30-06-17

Best book I’ve heard in ages!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-04-18

I absolutely loved this book. I finished it in a day and just couldn’t stop listening. Every chapter made me want to know what happened next. A truly mesmerising story!
Ps. It would make a great film too!

  • Streets of Darkness

  • Detective Harry Virdee, Book 1
  • By: A. A. Dhand
  • Narrated by: Muzz Khan
  • Length: 9 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 146
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 140
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 136

Luther meets The Wire. This is the first Detective Harry Virdee audiobook. The sky over Bradford is heavy with foreboding. It always is. But this morning it has reason to be - this morning a body has been found. And it's not just any body. Detective Harry Virdee should be at home with his wife. Impending fatherhood should be all he can think about, but he's been suspended from work just as the biggest case of the year lands on what would have been his desk.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Igniting a Flame in a Dark Place

  • By Simon on 21-06-16

Thrilling

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-07-17

Thrilling from beginning to end! Stayed up well past my bedtime desperate to hear more. A really clever story with twists and turns all over the place!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Betrayer

  • By: Kimberley Chambers
  • Narrated by: Annie Aldington
  • Length: 12 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 166
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 145
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 144

Maureen Hutton's life has never been easy. Married to an alcoholic and stuck on a council estate in East London, she scrimps and saves to bring up her three children alone. Murder, the underworld, drug addiction - over four decades Maureen sticks by her blood through thick and thin. But then the unforgivable happens. Maureen is told a terrible secret which threatens to rip her family apart. She can't say anything. She is too frightened of causing a bloodbath.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great writer!!

  • By Amazon Customer on 24-04-17

Brilliant!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-05-17

The suspense is so real and it felt like I was holding my breath right till the last sentence.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Color Blind

  • A Memoir
  • By: Precious Williams
  • Narrated by: Dale Allen
  • Length: 7 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 3
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 3

Born in Africa to a Nigerian princess, Precious Williams was less than one year old when her mother put an ad in Nursery World: "Pretty Nigerian baby girl needs new home." Precious's mother had flown to London in search of a new life - a life in which there was no space for a daughter. The first response came rom a 60-year-old white woman, Nan, who prided herself for being "color blind." Correspondence were exchanged, no questions asked, and Precious left her mother for Nan's home in rural England.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Disappointing performance

  • By Moriam Bartlett on 30-08-16

Disappointing performance

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-08-16

I absolutely loved the story as I had a similar experience as a foster kid in the 60s & 70s and I could really relate to the author. However, this story (and mine) is set in the UK so why is there an American narrator who mispronounced place names like 'South Wark' and gave the word 'innit' a question mark every time she used it. I had to keep reminding
myself that the story was not set in the US. A narrator familiar with the slang and vernacular
of the U.K./Nigeria would have been better. The author is a great story teller but the narration was distracting.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Where Women Are Kings

  • By: Christie Watson
  • Narrated by: Adjoa Andoh
  • Length: 10 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 61
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 57
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 56

Elijah, seven years old, is covered in scars and has a history of disruptive behaviour. His adoptive mother Nikki believes that she and her husband Obi are strong enough to accept his difficulties - and that being white will not affect her ability to raise a black son. Elijah's birth mother Deborah loves her son like the world has never known. Elijah thinks it's his fault they can't be together. Each of them faces more challenges than they could have dreamed, but just as Elijah starts to settle in, a shocking event rocks their fragile peace and the result is devastating.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Sad and heart breaking ly good

  • By chickenmugger on 25-05-19

Beautiful & Poignant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-11-15

One of the most beautiful stories I've listened to in a very long time! Couldn't stop listening.