LISTENER

Moriam Bartlett

  • 11
  • reviews
  • 23
  • helpful votes
  • 154
  • ratings
  • Becoming

  • By: Michelle Obama
  • Narrated by: Michelle Obama
  • Length: 19 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 1,476
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1,338
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 1,337

In her memoir, a work of deep reflection and mesmerizing storytelling, Michelle Obama invites listeners into her world, chronicling the experiences that have shaped her - from her childhood on the South Side of Chicago to her years as an executive balancing the demands of motherhood and work to her time spent at the world's most famous address. With unerring honesty and lively wit, she describes her triumphs and her disappointments, both public and private, telling her full story as she has lived it - in her own words and on her own terms. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Epitome of grace, humility, courage, honesty and hope

  • By Mich on 20-11-18

Loved it!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-11-18

I was enthralled by every word. A really intelligent, thoughtful, warm and honest voice. She resonates with me and my girlfriends with our issues and our families and our ‘stuff’! I absolutely loved this book. Probably my favourite of this year.

  • When You Disappeared

  • By: John Marrs
  • Narrated by: Simon Mattacks, Elizabeth Knowelden
  • Length: 9 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 875
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 779
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 773

All she wanted was the truth, but she'll wish she never found out. When Catherine wakes up alone one morning, she thinks her husband has gone for a run before work. But Simon never makes it to the office. His running shoes are by the front door. Nothing is missing - except him.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Disappointing - don't waste your credit

  • By Mav on 21-07-18

Loved it!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-11-18

I absolutely loved this story. I was completely caught up in it and only stopped listening when I had to. He narrators were excellent.

  • Deceit

  • By: Kerry Barnes
  • Narrated by: Annie Aldington
  • Length: 12 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 81
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 74
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 74

A gripping new audiobook from best-selling author Kerry Barnes. Perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers, Martina Cole and Jacqui Rose.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • brilliant

  • By mary on 05-08-18

Kerry Barnes at her best!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-09-18

Wow! What an exciting story with a very clever and unexpected twist. Well written and well read. I listened to every word with baited breath. Excellent!

I am such a fan of the author and I’ve listened to all her audio books on audible. I’m impatiently awaiting the next one!

  • You Don't Know Me

  • By: Imran Mahmood
  • Narrated by: Adam Deacon
  • Length: 7 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 571
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 534
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 533

An unnamed defendant stands accused of murder. Just before the closing speeches, the young man sacks his lawyer and decides to give his own defence speech. He tells us that his barrister told him to leave some things out. Sometimes the truth can be too difficult to explain or believe. But he thinks that if he's going to go down for life, he might as well go down telling the truth.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Stunning

  • By The One Who Reads on 30-06-17

Best book I’ve heard in ages!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-04-18

I absolutely loved this book. I finished it in a day and just couldn’t stop listening. Every chapter made me want to know what happened next. A truly mesmerising story!
Ps. It would make a great film too!

  • Streets of Darkness

  • Detective Harry Virdee, Book 1
  • By: A. A. Dhand
  • Narrated by: Muzz Khan
  • Length: 9 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 133
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 127
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 123

Luther meets The Wire. This is the first Detective Harry Virdee audiobook. The sky over Bradford is heavy with foreboding. It always is. But this morning it has reason to be - this morning a body has been found. And it's not just any body. Detective Harry Virdee should be at home with his wife. Impending fatherhood should be all he can think about, but he's been suspended from work just as the biggest case of the year lands on what would have been his desk.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Complex and fascinating - loved it

  • By Diana Fallowes on 18-06-16

Thrilling

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-07-17

Thrilling from beginning to end! Stayed up well past my bedtime desperate to hear more. A really clever story with twists and turns all over the place!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Betrayer

  • By: Kimberley Chambers
  • Narrated by: Annie Aldington
  • Length: 12 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 141
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 124
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 123

Maureen Hutton's life has never been easy. Married to an alcoholic and stuck on a council estate in East London, she scrimps and saves to bring up her three children alone. Murder, the underworld, drug addiction - over four decades Maureen sticks by her blood through thick and thin. But then the unforgivable happens. Maureen is told a terrible secret which threatens to rip her family apart. She can't say anything. She is too frightened of causing a bloodbath.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great writer!!

  • By Amazon Customer on 24-04-17

Brilliant!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-05-17

The suspense is so real and it felt like I was holding my breath right till the last sentence.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Color Blind

  • A Memoir
  • By: Precious Williams
  • Narrated by: Dale Allen
  • Length: 7 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2
  • Performance
    2.5 out of 5 stars 2
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 2

Born in Africa to a Nigerian princess, Precious Williams was less than one year old when her mother put an ad in Nursery World: "Pretty Nigerian baby girl needs new home." Precious's mother had flown to London in search of a new life - a life in which there was no space for a daughter. The first response came rom a 60-year-old white woman, Nan, who prided herself for being "color blind." Correspondence were exchanged, no questions asked, and Precious left her mother for Nan's home in rural England.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Disappointing performance

  • By Moriam Bartlett on 30-08-16

Disappointing performance

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-08-16

I absolutely loved the story as I had a similar experience as a foster kid in the 60s & 70s and I could really relate to the author. However, this story (and mine) is set in the UK so why is there an American narrator who mispronounced place names like 'South Wark' and gave the word 'innit' a question mark every time she used it. I had to keep reminding
myself that the story was not set in the US. A narrator familiar with the slang and vernacular
of the U.K./Nigeria would have been better. The author is a great story teller but the narration was distracting.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Where Women Are Kings

  • By: Christie Watson
  • Narrated by: Adjoa Andoh
  • Length: 10 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 57
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 53
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 52

Elijah, seven years old, is covered in scars and has a history of disruptive behaviour. His adoptive mother Nikki believes that she and her husband Obi are strong enough to accept his difficulties - and that being white will not affect her ability to raise a black son. Elijah's birth mother Deborah loves her son like the world has never known. Elijah thinks it's his fault they can't be together. Each of them faces more challenges than they could have dreamed, but just as Elijah starts to settle in, a shocking event rocks their fragile peace and the result is devastating.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • BRILLIANT!!!!

  • By bloved on 30-08-18

Beautiful & Poignant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-11-15

One of the most beautiful stories I've listened to in a very long time! Couldn't stop listening.

  • The Tunnel Rats

  • By: Stephen Leather
  • Narrated by: Paul Thornley
  • Length: 15 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 133
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 95
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 94

Two murders, thousands of miles apart: one in London, one in Bangkok. The bodies brutally mutilated: an ace of spades impaled upon their chests. In Washington, a US senator receives photographs of the corpses. And realises that his past has come back to haunt him. Nick Wright is the detective trying to solve the mystery of the double killing.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • another great leather novel

  • By Steven on 25-01-10

Great

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-03-15

Enjoyed the story although I got lost a couple of times. I am a huge fan of Stephen Leather's books.

  • Rise and Fall

  • By: Casey Kelleher
  • Narrated by: Anna Parker-Naples
  • Length: 6 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 30
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 24
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 25

With money in her pocket and a new boyfriend at her side, life on the estate has never been better. Until Louise uncovers a deadly secret; now nothing will ever be the same again. Jerell Morgan was born evil. Even his Bible preaching grandma, who raised him back home in Kingston, Jamaica, couldn't drive away the wickedness that festered inside him as a child. Now busy making a name for himself, Jerell is prepared to do whatever it takes to live the life that he has always dreamt of.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • beyond bloody fantastic

  • By Erin Fairclough on 08-12-14

Appalling Jamaican accent

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-03-15

Really enjoyed the story but I'm so disappointed with the ridiculous Jamaican accent. It reminded me of the offensive comedy mimics of the 1970's/80's.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful