LISTENER

joanjava

Copenhagen, Denmark
  • 26
  • reviews
  • 43
  • helpful votes
  • 68
  • ratings
  • Jane Eyre

  • By: Charlotte Bronte
  • Narrated by: Thandie Newton
  • Length: 19 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 1,004
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 930
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 928

Following Jane from her childhood as an orphan in Northern England through her experience as a governess at Thornfield Hall, Charlotte Brontë's Gothic classic is an early exploration of women's independence in the mid-19th century and the pervasive societal challenges women had to endure. At Thornfield, Jane meets the complex and mysterious Mr. Rochester, with whom she shares a complicated relationship that ultimately forces her to reconcile the conflicting passions of romantic love and religious piety.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A beautiful audiobook!!

  • By Philip on 13-02-17

Audio Classic

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-11-17

The narrator did great justice to this fine novel. Every minute was alive with the passion, misery, foreboding, and joy that the author intended. Highly recommended!

  • The Day She Disappeared

  • By: Christobel Kent
  • Narrated by: Alison Campbell
  • Length: 14 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    2.5 out of 5 stars 14
  • Performance
    2.5 out of 5 stars 14
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars 14

Have you ever had that sense that you're being watched? And you turn suddenly, but it's just a curtain blowing in the wind? Or the dress hanging in the doorway? Nat knows something's wrong. Her best friend, Beth, would never have upped and left without saying good-bye to her. But no one believes that Beth was taken - she is a fly-by-night, a party girl who can't be trusted. No one's listening to Nat. But someone is definitely watching her.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • could not complete due to irritating narration

  • By joanjava on 27-05-17

could not complete due to irritating narration

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-05-17

voice, cadence...everything wrong...the ever present smugness was unnecessary and wrong from the start . not recommended.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Version Control

  • A Novel
  • By: Dexter Palmer
  • Narrated by: January LaVoy
  • Length: 18 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 149
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 143
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 143

Rebecca Wright has reclaimed her life, finding her way out of her grief and depression following a personal tragedy years ago. She spends her days working in customer support for the Internet dating site where she first met her husband. But she has a strange, persistent sense that everything around her is somewhat off-kilter: She constantly feels as if she has walked into a room and forgotten what she intended to do there; on TV, the president seems to be the wrong person in the wrong place; her dreams are full of disquiet.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Will I read a better book in 2016?!

  • By Jenny on 07-03-16

If you liked cloud atlas

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-04-17

Original plot line, well developed characters and impressive talented narration. One of my best listens. Highly recommend.

  • Sometimes I Lie

  • By: Alice Feeney
  • Narrated by: Stephanie Racine
  • Length: 9 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,382
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,198
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,200

"My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me. I'm in a coma. My husband doesn't love me anymore. Sometimes I lie." Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won't be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it's perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A must read/listen

  • By Annie Tompkins on 30-03-17

Annoying characters, wrong voice

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-03-17

I love a good psycho thriller. So this isn't one of them. Contrived at every level...characters not believable, plot twists painfully forced. The reading was gaspy and over acted.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Ill Will

  • A Novel
  • By: Dan Chaon
  • Narrated by: Ari Fliakos, Edoardo Ballerini, Michael Crouch, and others
  • Length: 14 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars 13
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 12
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 11

"We are always telling a story to ourselves, about ourselves." This is one of the little mantras Dustin Tillman likes to share with his patients, and it's meant to be reassuring. But what if that story is a lie? A psychologist in suburban Cleveland, Dustin is drifting through his 40s when he hears the news: His adopted brother, Rusty, is being released from prison. Thirty years ago Rusty received a life sentence for the massacre of Dustin's parents, aunt, and uncle.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Dark and deliberate.

  • By joanjava on 26-03-17

Dark and deliberate.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-03-17

Interesting twists in p.o.v. Growly voiced narration pitch perfect. Prose self conscious at times. Good listen. Recommended.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • All That Man Is

  • By: David Szalay
  • Narrated by: Huw Parmenter, Mark Meadows, Sean Barrett
  • Length: 13 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 83
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 79
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 79

Nine men: each of them at a different stage of life, away from home, and striving - in the suburbs of Prague, in a cheap Cypriot hotel - to understand just what it means to be alive here and now. Tracing an arc from the spring of youth to the winter of old age, All That Man Is brings these separate lives together to show us men as they are - ludicrous and inarticulate, shocking and despicable; vital, pitiable, hilarious, and full of heartfelt longing.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Full of empathy

  • By A Person on 29-03-17

Woeful men on the edge of a nervous breakdown

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-11-16

Makes you realise how few books you know where guys are relentlessly flawed and frail. Each story is like stepping into a nightmare in motion. With each main character imprisoned.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • A Life in Parts

  • By: Bryan Cranston
  • Narrated by: Bryan Cranston
  • Length: 8 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,254
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1,181
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,175

Bryan Cranston landed his first role at seven, when his father, a struggling actor and director, cast him in a commercial. Soon Bryan was haunting the local movie theater, reenacting scenes with his older brother. Acting was clearly his destiny - until one day his father disappeared. As a young man on a classic cross-country motorcycle trip, he found himself stranded at a rest area in the Blue Ridge Mountains. To pass the time, he read a tattered copy of Hedda Gabler, and in a flash he found himself face-to-face with his original calling.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent!

  • By Amazon Customer on 23-10-16

Surprising, riveting and wise.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-11-16

Is there anything Bryan Cranston can't do? After this book you can start believing that you have it in yourself too, to work hard, overcome adversity and build something good that is yours.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Behind Closed Doors

  • By: B A Paris
  • Narrated by: Georgia Maguire
  • Length: 8 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,567
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,353
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,347

The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie? Jack has looks and wealth; Grace has charm and elegance. You might not want to like them, but you do. You'd like to get to know Grace better. But it's difficult, because Jack and Grace are never apart. Some might call this true love. Others might ask why Grace never answers the phone. And why there are bars on one of the bedroom windows. Sometimes the perfect marriage is the perfect lie.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • WOW !!!!

  • By M F Herbert on 23-04-16

Shivers...stick with narrator a few pages...she

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-07-16

pulls you into the story and wham! Traps you into the story much like some of the characters do. No subtlety in plot development. An effortless scary read.

  • The Wicked Boy

  • By: Kate Summerscale
  • Narrated by: Jot Davies
  • Length: 10 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 323
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 300
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 299

Early in the morning of Monday, 8 July 1895, 13-year-old Robert Coombes and his 12-year-old brother, Nattie, set out from their small, yellow-brick terraced house in East London to watch a cricket match at Lord's. Their father had gone to sea the previous Friday, the boys told their neighbours, and their mother was visiting her family in Liverpool. Over the next 10 days, Robert and Nattie spent extravagantly, pawning their parents' valuables to fund trips to the theatre and the seaside.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Not what I expected from the title

  • By Kirstine on 10-07-16

an uneven listen

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-07-16

Captivating story. Writing surprisingly cliched at critical moments. Shoppinglist narration relieved by occasionally authentic accents.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Have a New Teenager by Friday

  • From Mouthy and Moody to Respectful and Responsible in 5 Days
  • By: Kevin Leman
  • Narrated by: Kirby Heybourne
  • Length: 9 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 9
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 5
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars 4

Congratulations! You have a teenager in your home. Life will never quite be the same again (of course, you already know that). But it can be better than you’ve ever dreamed. In fact, you’re just five days away from your teenager asking, “What can I do to help?” Guaranteed! With his signature wit and commonsense psychology, internationally recognized family expert and New York Times best-selling author Dr. Kevin Leman will help you. your teenager’s life. With Dr. Leman’s instinct and insight, plus an index with gutsy advice on 75 hot-button issues that keep parents up at night.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Have a new teenager by Friday ....I. Wish!

  • By S on 07-12-12

Just. No.

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-07-16

Love your kid; use your common sense. Realistic scenarios with unrealistic outcomes. This book is not to be confused with James Lehman's views on more effective parenting for parents of difficult teenagers.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful