LISTENER

Miss Claire E Hanson

  • 8
  • reviews
  • 5
  • helpful votes
  • 39
  • ratings
  • The Silent Companions

  • By: Laura Purcell
  • Narrated by: Katie Scarfe
  • Length: 10 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 485
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 451
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 452

Inspired by the work of Shirley Jackson and Susan Hill and set in a crumbling country mansion, The Silent Companions is an unsettling Victorian gothic ghost story that will send a shiver down the spine.... Newly married, newly widowed Elsie is sent to see out her pregnancy at her late husband's crumbling country estate, The Bridge. With her new servants resentful and the local villagers actively hostile, Elsie only has her husband's awkward cousin for company. Or so she thinks.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Eerie and fabulous

  • By Caz on 24-03-18

Excellent performance and a gripping, tense tale!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-02-19

The slow build of tension in this gothic ghost story really gripped me! The narration, particularly in the most "haunted" passages, left me a little unsettled at bedtime - a long time since a book has done that.

  • Fellside

  • By: M. R. Carey
  • Narrated by: Finty Williams
  • Length: 15 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 833
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 783
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 781

Jess Moulson is convicted of murder. But it's a murder she can't remember committing. Nothing is quite clear from the drug-fuelled night when a blaze set in Jess' apartment killed the little boy upstairs. But when the media brands her a child killer, she starts to believe it herself. Now she's on her way to Fellside, the biggest, most formidable women's prison in Europe, standing in the bleak Yorkshire moors. But Jess won't be alone in her prison cell.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Genre-Hopping Mystery Drama

  • By Simon on 13-04-16

Gripping semi-supernatural thriller

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-03-17

Excellent narration as always from this reader. A gripping, imaginative story set in a prison, with ghostly interventions! Highly recommended.

  • Insomnia

  • By: Stephen King
  • Narrated by: Eli Wallach
  • Length: 25 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 402
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 369
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 371

You'll lose a lot of sleep.... Ralph does. At first he starts waking up earlier. And earlier. Then the hallucinations start - the colours, shapes and strange auras. Not to mention the bald doctors who always turn up at the scene of a death. That's when Ralph begins to lose a lot more than sleep. When he begins to understand why his hitherto mild-mannered friend, Ed, is getting out of control - dangerously so. And why his hometown is about to become the new Armageddon....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Annoying music!

  • By Puddytat purr on 11-10-16

Not King's best. Music drove me nuts.

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-03-17

I was disappointed by this book. I usually love King's stories but felt this one rambled on and could have been finished in a third fewer pages. All the usual imagination and human insight is there though, and is was interesting to see the seeds of future King stories being sewn as part of the plot. The narration in this was excellent but the musical interludes drove me mad. They partially or completely obscured the narration and went on for ages. Almost made me stop listening at one point.

  • End of Watch

  • By: Stephen King
  • Narrated by: Will Patton
  • Length: 12 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,036
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1,896
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,892

End of Watch is a compelling and chilling suspense novel which sees retired detective Bill Hodges back on the trail of his nemesis, Brady Hartsfield, the criminal the press called The Mercedes Killer. Foiled in his attempt to commit a second mass murder, Hartsfield is confined to a hospital brain-injury unit in a seemingly unresponsive state. But all is not what it seems: Brady is able to influence both his physician and the hospital librarian to commit crimes in the outside world.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Interesting

  • By shirley dempsey on 19-11-16

Wraps up loose ends

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-02-17

This follows on well from the previous novel in the series and gets to the bottom of the Brady mystery, weaving in some supernatural elements to the previously straight cop storyline. Plot is interesting and well-written enough to keep you listening, and the narrator differentiates between characters well without pantomime voices. I did spot a few holes in the story and was irritated by the ridiculous deductions characters were able to make from scant evidence, but not enough to make me switch off :)

  • The Girl with All the Gifts

  • By: M. R. Carey
  • Narrated by: Finty Williams
  • Length: 13 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,464
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,029
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,011

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr Caldwell calls her 'our little genius'. Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don't like her. She jokes that she won't bite, but they don't laugh. Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children's cells.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A stunning read

  • By Simon on 19-01-14

Am original, well-written zombie story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-02-17

A post-apocalypse zombie tale with excellent narration. You won't regret this listen. I stayed awake to hear the end!

  • The Dark Tower I: The Gunslinger

  • By: Stephen King
  • Narrated by: George Guidall
  • Length: 7 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,545
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,241
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,241

Stephen King's epic fantasy series, The Dark Tower, is being made into a major movie starring Idris Elba and Matthew McConaughey. Due in cinemas February 17, 2017 USA. In this first novel in his epic fantasy masterpiece, Stephen King introduces listeners to one of his most enigmatic heroes, Roland of Gilead, the Last Gunslinger. He is a haunting figure, a loner, on a spellbinding journey into good and evil, in a desolate world which frighteningly echoes our own.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Tough going... But persevere through to book 2...

  • By Andrew on 28-10-16

Great performance but not King's finest story

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-01-17

I loved the narration of this story - reader managed to differentiate characters with no pantomime. I did find the story itself to be less compelling than other Stephen King novels. The point didn't become clear for quite a while. Lots of travel descriptions and wilderness without much action. That said, I do want to know what happens next!

  • The Sleeper

  • By: Emily Barr
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 12 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,099
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,000
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 994

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Sophie Hannah and Rosamund Lupton. Lara Finch is living a lie. Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. But then Lara vanishes from the night train without a trace.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent.

  • By Vanessa on 22-02-14

Great story. Good narration except male voices.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-12-16

Story was great. A few unexpected twists. Narration was pretty good though some of the male voices sounded almost pantomime which detracted from them a little! Didn't ruin the story though.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Finders Keepers

  • By: Stephen King
  • Narrated by: Will Patton
  • Length: 13 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,104
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,974
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,970

1978: Meet Morris Bellamy ,the man who robs the safe of America's most famous reclusive writer, John Rothstein. But it isn't just the money he is interested in. Morrie is obsessed by the author's notebooks and is prepared to kill the author for them. 2009: Meet young Pete Saubers, whose father was knocked down by an out-of-control Mercedes in a job line-up. When he discovers a buried trunk of money and notebooks of a famous writer, he has the means to rescue his family from poverty.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Mr Mercedes

  • By Mel on 03-12-15

Solid King Crime

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-11-16

A pretty good King novel with all the key ingredients of repulsive villain, flawed hero and good vanquishing evil. But a few plot holes and guessable twists. But I listened straight after Bag of Bones which was amazing, so maybe I'm just on a comedown!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful