LISTENER

steph

  • 21
  • reviews
  • 8
  • helpful votes
  • 22
  • ratings
  • Becky: The Heartbreaking Story of Becky Watts by Her Father Darren Galsworthy

  • By: Darren Galsworthy
  • Narrated by: Ben Fox
  • Length: 8 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 127
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 113
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 111

This is the heartbreaking story of the murder of 16-year-old Bristol schoolgirl Becky Watts, a personal and heartfelt account of a crime that shocked the nation in a unique way and tore a family in two. A vulnerable and shy girl, Becky Watts was brutally murdered and dismembered by her own stepbrother on 19 February 2015. As her father, Darren, discovered the horrific details of what happened to his darling girl, his world fell apart.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • How sad

  • By sarah crowther on 05-07-16

becky

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-05-17

a very sad but true story. you could really see how her father felt .
he has put his feeling down well in this book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Runaway Girl

  • A Beautiful Girl. Trafficked for Sex. Is There Nowhere to Hide?
  • By: Casey Watson
  • Narrated by: Kate Lock
  • Length: 10 hrs and 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 31
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 29
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 29

Brought to Casey as a short-term emergency placement, 14-year-old Adrianna arrives with nothing but her gratitude. Having turned herself in to a social services office some 100 miles away, she has no possessions, no English and, apparently, no history - not that she's willing to share, anyway. She is a beautiful young Polish girl, with the bearing of a ballerina, but is terrified, malnourished and unwell.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Please change the narrator

  • By Karen on 24-10-16

runaway girl

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-01-17

another good story about the life of another child that Casey looks after. a good in sight to a different way things work for a child in care.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Snowflakes in the Wind

  • By: Rita Bradshaw
  • Narrated by: Janine Birkett
  • Length: 12 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 90
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 70
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 71

Snowflakes in the Wind is a heartwarming story of triumph over adversity by Rita Bradshaw, author of the number one best-selling Dancing in the Moonlight. It's Christmas Eve 1920 when nine-year-old Abby Kirby's family is ripped apart by a terrible tragedy. Leaving everything she's ever known, Abby takes her younger brother and runs away to the tough existence of the border farming community.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Brilliant.

  • By remags on 16-05-17

snowflakes in the wind

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-01-17

I really enjoyed listening to this story. it was a really good story leaving you wanting to hear more of the story to see what happens next.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Christmas for the Halfpenny Orphans

  • Halfpenny Orphans, Book 3
  • By: Cathy Sharp
  • Narrated by: Antonia Beamish
  • Length: 12 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 27
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 24
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 24

A gritty and compelling drama from the best-selling author of The Orphans of Halfpenny Street. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Sheila Jeffries. Little twin sisters Sarah and Samantha are all alone in the world. When their mother died giving birth to Sarah, she was blamed for the death by her father, and her learning difficulties serve only to make him more angry and violent towards her.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Well read albeit a slow book

  • By Liz on 22-10-16

Christmas at halfpenny

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-01-17

I really enjoyed this story it had lots of twist and turns in it , leaving you wanting to know more.

  • Bought and Sold

  • By: Megan Stephens
  • Narrated by: Josie Dunn
  • Length: 6 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 123
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 109
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 110

A heart-stopping story of lies, brutality, and fear. British girl Megan Stephens tells the true story of how an idyllic Mediterranean holiday turned into an unimaginable nightmare when she was tricked into becoming a victim of human trafficking and held captive for six years through deception, threats, and violence.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Brilliant

  • By Rosa-Lynn Bruce on 23-08-15

brought and sold

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-11-16

I found it hard to get into this book, although it was sad as it. was true but the contents of the story was slow .

  • A Loving Family

  • By: Dilly Court
  • Narrated by: Penelope Freeman
  • Length: 11 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 56
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 49
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 48

She longed to be reunited with her family. The compelling new novel from the Sunday Times top ten bestselling author of The Workhouse Girl. Eleven-year-old Stella Barry is forced into service when her family find themselves living hand-to-mouth.Leaving her mother and younger brother and sister behind, Stella goes to a big country house outside London. When she returns home one Sunday, she discovers they have disappeared.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Delightful listen!

  • By Linmary on 17-02-15

a loving family<br />

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 20-11-16

this was a good story and read very well. it had lots of twist and turns in it so it kept you wanting to get to the next bit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Scarlet Sisters

  • My nanna's story of secrets and heartache on the banks of the River Thames
  • By: Helen Batten
  • Narrated by: Annie Aldington
  • Length: 11 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 64
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 54
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 53

‘Oh my goodness - another girl, Mrs Swain!' Clara's normal iron composure broke, and she screamed, ‘No! That's not the bloody deal!' And that was how my nanna, Bertha Swain, entered the world. When Helen Batten's marriage breaks down, she starts on a journey of discovery into her family's past and the mysteries surrounding her enigmatic nanna's early life. What she unearths is a tale of five feisty redheads struggling to climb out of poverty and find love through two world wars.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • best regards

  • By Susan on 02-04-17

the scarlet sisters

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-11-16

I found this book .boring in .bits it would seem to jump from one person to another too many time.

  • The Nurses of Steeple Street

  • By: Donna Douglas
  • Narrated by: Penelope Freeman
  • Length: 12 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 93
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 79
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 80

Welcome to the district nurses' home on Steeple Street, where everyone has a secret.... Ambitious young nurse Agnes Sheridan had a promising future ahead of her until a tragic mistake cost her the love and respect of everyone around her. Now she has come to Leeds for a fresh start as a trainee district nurse. But Agnes finds herself facing unexpected challenges as she is assigned to Quarry Hill, one of the city's most notorious slums.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • District nursing between 2 World Wars

  • By SUEDENIE on 24-09-16

the nurses of steeple street

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-11-16

this was a very good book .it had lots of different story to tell and it kept you wanting more.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Can I Let You Go?

  • A Heartbreaking True Story of Love, Loss and Moving On
  • By: Cathy Glass
  • Narrated by: Denica Fairman
  • Length: 9 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 106
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 91
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 91

Can I Let You Go? is the true story of Faye, a wonderful young woman who may never be able to parent her unborn child. Faye is 24 and pregnant and has learning difficulties as a result of her mother's alcoholism. Faye is gentle, childlike and vulnerable and normally lives with her grandparents, both of whom have mobility problems. Cathy and her children welcome Faye into their home and hearts.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Cathy Glass FAKE!

  • By Anonymous User on 12-05-19

can I let you go

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-10-16

again another good book, although very sad towards the ending of the story.Cathy must have a lot of patience.

  • The Swan Maid

  • By: Dilly Court
  • Narrated by: Annie Aldington
  • Length: 10 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 122
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 105
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 105

Lottie Lane is all alone in the world. As a chambermaid at one of London's busiest inns, condemned to a life of drudgery and at the mercy of a vicious landlady, Lottie is too worn out to even dream of a better life. Until one night an injured soldier is brought to The Swan. Lottie nurses him back from the dead, and suddenly everything changes.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Superb.My best purchase ever

  • By Amazon Customer on 12-01-17

swan maiden

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-10-16

a good love story got you to think how bad things were in London all them years ago.