LISTENER

Mrs

  • 9
  • reviews
  • 14
  • helpful votes
  • 397
  • ratings
  • The Summer of Impossible Things

  • By: Rowan Coleman
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 12 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 770
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 718
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 720

Thirty years ago something terrible happened to Luna's mother. Something she's prepared to reveal only after her death. In settling her mother's affairs, Luna finds more questions than answers until something impossible and magical happens.... Luna meets her mother as a young woman back in the summer of 1977. If she can truly travel back in time, she can change things. But in order to save her mother's life, will she have to sacrifice her own?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • So lovely

  • By Emma on 02-09-17

awful book.

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 23-12-18

just complete nonsense. i resent even paying 99p for it. The American accents were awful as were the male voices.

  • Truth and Lies

  • A DI Amy Winter Thriller, Book 1
  • By: Caroline Mitchell
  • Narrated by: Elizabeth Knowelden
  • Length: 10 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 227
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 207
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 208

DI Amy Winter is hoping to follow in the footsteps of her highly respected police officer father. But when a letter arrives from the prison cell of Lillian Grimes, one half of a notorious husband-and-wife serial-killer team, it contains a revelation that will tear her life apart. Responsible for a string of heinous killings decades ago, Lillian is pure evil. A psychopathic murderer. And Amy’s biological mother. Now, she is ready to reveal the location of three of her victims - but only if Amy plays along with her twisted game.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent book

  • By Amazon Customer on 04-09-18

I liked the concept

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 23-11-18

but didn't warm to the main character who came across as holier than thou whilst having plenty of flaws of her own

  • Going Underground

  • Jonathan Roper Investigates Series, Book 1
  • By: Michael Leese
  • Narrated by: Michael Healy
  • Length: 7 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 11
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 10
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10

Chief Inspector Brian Hooley has a plan, and it won't make him popular. He wants to bring back autistic detective Jonathan Roper. Currently suspended on misconduct charges, his condition, coupled with a relentless work ethic, makes Roper a unique investigator with observational skills that allow him to see what others miss. But he is also a complex man who doesn't get social boundaries, and plenty of his colleagues just don't like him. Hooley doesn't care about that. He knows Roper is the one to make a difference.  

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Brilliant

  • By Deborah A. on 07-05-19

massacred by the narrator

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 23-10-18

I suspect that this was a great book ruined. I may just read the rest

  • The Blood Road

  • Logan McRae, Book 11
  • By: Stuart MacBride
  • Narrated by: Steve Worsley
  • Length: 16 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 582
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 518
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 515

What drives someone to murder? Logan McRae's personal history is hardly squeaky clean, but now that he works for Professional Standards he's policing his fellow officers. When Detective Inspector Bell turns up dead in the drivers seat of a crashed car, it's a shock to everyone. Because Bell died two years ago. They buried him. Or they thought they did. As an investigation is launched into Bell's stabbing, Logan digs into his past. Where has he been all this time? Why did he disappear? And what's so important that he felt the need to come back from the dead?

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Blood Road is end of the road for me

  • By Mrs Mac on 26-07-18

brilliant once again

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-08-18

I would give the Stuart McBride books 6stars if I could brilliant writing and well narrated. I almost dread listening because they're over tio quickly and then i have to wait ages until the next book.

  • The Heart's Invisible Furies

  • By: John Boyne
  • Narrated by: Stephen Hogan
  • Length: 21 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 2,761
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 2,578
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 2,580

Cyril Avery is not a real Avery, or at least that's what his adoptive parents tell him. And he never will be. But if he isn't a real Avery, then who is he? Born out of wedlock to a teenage girl cast out from her rural Irish community and adopted by a well-to-do if eccentric Dublin couple via the intervention of a hunchbacked Redemptorist nun, Cyril is adrift in the world, anchored only tenuously by his heartfelt friendship with the infinitely more glamourous and dangerous Julian Woodbead.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Phenomenal

  • By Kerri on 19-02-17

wonderful...

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-05-18

this was possibly the best audio book ive listened to. I laughed. I cried. I empathise. It was just brilliant

  • You Were Gone

  • David Raker, Book 9
  • By: Tim Weaver
  • Narrated by: Joe Coen, Rachel Bavidge, Tom Burke
  • Length: 14 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 477
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 433
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 434

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of You Were Gone by Tim Weaver. Three days after Christmas, a woman walks into a police station. She has no phone and no ID, just a piece of paper with the name of investigator David Raker on it. She tells officers that Raker is her husband. When he turns up at the station, Raker is stunned. The woman looks exactly like his wife. She knows all about their marriage, their history, even private conversations the two of them had. There's just one problem: Raker's wife has been dead for eight years....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Absolutely loved it

  • By Debs on 02-06-18

in believable

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 23-05-18

I normally relish the David Raker books but this had me gritting my teeth within half an hour. The plot is so full of holes you can drive a bus through it. unusual I send one back ... but this is going back.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • The Keeper

  • DI Sean Corrigan, Book 2 (Unabridged)
  • By: Luke Delaney
  • Narrated by: Robin Bowerman
  • Length: 14 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 58
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 55
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 55

The second novel in the DI Sean Corrigan series – authentic and terrifying crime fiction with a psychological edge, by an ex-Met detective. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Stuart MacBride. Thomas Keller knows exactly who he’s looking for.... They tried to keep them apart, but when he finds her, he’s going to keep her. Just like he knows she wants him to. DI Sean Corrigan is not like other detectives. His dark past has given him the ability to step into a crime scene and see it through the offender's eyes.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Had to stop listening

  • By Mrs on 17-08-15

Had to stop listening

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-08-15

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

No - it made me uncomfortable

What will your next listen be?

Just downloaded the latest Stuart MacBride.

Could you see The Keeper being made into a movie or a TV series? Who would the stars be?

They would need to cut a lot of the scenes. But I quite like the nuance of the main character.

Any additional comments?

I did read the previous reviews before I downloaded this and I wished I'd taken notice - there were so many graphic sex scenes I couldn't carry on - One reviewer referred to them as gratuitous and I wouldn't disagree. It's a shame as I really enjoyed the first one and am nervous of trying the next.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Six Degrees of Assassination: An Audible Drama cover art
  • Six Degrees of Assassination: An Audible Drama

  • By: M J Arlidge
  • Narrated by: Andrew Scott, Freema Agyeman, Hermione Norris, and others
  • Length: 4 hrs and 48 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,742
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,612
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,608

On a sullen, cloudy July day ten years since 7/7, the happy, confident and optimistic British Prime Minister is visiting a charity in East London. It’s just two months after the general election which saw John Campbell's government returned to power with a clear majority, the economy is on the mend and the coalition is fast becoming a bad memory. Suddenly, a man appears out of the crowd and shoots him three times in the chest.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Shame - could have been so much better

  • By Chris on 24-12-15

Wow only a quarter in and I'm hooked

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-02-15

If you could sum up Six Degrees of Assassination: An Audible Drama in three words, what would they be?

enthralling, unputtdownable, fascinating

What other book might you compare Six Degrees of Assassination: An Audible Drama to, and why?

I've never listened/read this genre before - may I should

Which scene did you most enjoy?

It's all brilliant

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Not finished yet so wouldn't want to commit

  • The Silkworm

  • Cormoran Strike, Book 2
  • By: Robert Galbraith
  • Narrated by: Robert Glenister
  • Length: 17 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,793
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,215
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,192

When novelist Owen Quine goes missing, his wife calls in private detective Cormoran Strike. At first, she just thinks he has gone off by himself for a few days - as he has done before - and she wants Strike to find him and bring him home. But as Strike investigates, it becomes clear that there is more to Quine's disappearance than his wife realises. The novelist has just completed a manuscript featuring poisonous pen-portraits of almost everyone he knows. If the novel were published it would ruin lives - so there are a lot of people who might want to silence him.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 star rating based on quality not name

  • By Linda on 06-08-14

I loved it

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-09-14

Where does The Silkworm rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

One of the best

What did you like best about this story?

The characters are great and brought to life by Robert Glenister

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

It made me angry in the right places, smile in gone right places. Really didn't want it to finish

Any additional comments?

It was a great book Think I'm a bit in love with the main character.