LISTENER

Lucy

  • 7
  • reviews
  • 5
  • helpful votes
  • 18
  • ratings
  • False Lights

  • By: Gillian E. Hamer
  • Narrated by: Tim Dalgleish
  • Length: 10 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 4
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 4
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 4

An elderly woman is burnt to death in the remote hamlet of Silver Bay. A young woman dies of an overdose on a notorious Holyhead estate. A drugs war is about to explode. Somebody knows but no one is talking. Kelly Morgan has a social conscience and a pile of regrets. She wants to help but knows she'll never manage it alone. Her boss, Amanda Gold, cannot allow anything - not her divorce nor her daughter nor her affair with the boss - to cloud her thinking.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great story, kept me guessing, interesting characters

  • By Lucy on 20-03-19

Great story, kept me guessing, interesting characters

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 20-03-19

This is the second book in the series though you don’t need to know the the first one to enjoy this. There is intrigue all the way through - lots of twists and turns as the story progresses- and the characters are all believable. A really good listen.
Narration is really good too- makes it easy to listen. there are so many different accents in the book and all are narrated smoothly.

  • The Woman Who Met Her Match

  • A funny romantic comedy that will make you laugh out loud!
  • By: Fiona Gibson
  • Narrated by: Emma Gregory
  • Length: 11 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 309
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 273
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 273

What if your first love came back on the scene...30 years later? After yet another disaster, Lorrie is calling time on online dating. She might be single in her 40s, but she's got a good job and wonderful children, and she's happy. This, Lorrie decides, is going to have to be enough. That is until she receives a very unexpected request from France. Antoine Rousseau, who had once turned a lonely French exchange trip into a summer of romance, wants to see her - after 30 years.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Dreadful

  • By Claire Boynton on 20-07-18

Great listen

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-10-18

Light and easy to listen to. Kept me interested all the way through, great characters and good sense of humour.

  • Beautiful Messy Love

  • By: Tess Woods
  • Narrated by: Bart Welch, Nick Farnell, Tamela Shelton, and others
  • Length: 11 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8

When football star Nick Harding hobbles into the Black Salt Cafe the morning after the night before, he is served by Anna, a waitress with haunted-looking eyes and no interest in footballers, famous or otherwise. Nick is instantly drawn to this exotic, intelligent girl. But a relationship between them risks shame for her conservative refugee family and backlash for Nick that could ruin his career. Meanwhile, when Nick's sister, Lily meets Toby, it seems that for the first time she is following her heart, not the expectations of others.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Lovely story, real characters

  • By Lucy on 04-06-18

Lovely story, real characters

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-06-18

Beautifully written and performed. The characters will stay with me. A love story, commentary on the merging of cultures, and family saga all rolled into one.

  • War Brides

  • By: Helen Bryan
  • Narrated by: Tavia Gilbert
  • Length: 13 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 113
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 90
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 88

As war moves ever closer, the sleepy English village of Crowmarsh Priors settles into a new sort of normal: Evacuees from London are billeted in local homes. The nightly German air raids become grimly mundane. Rationing curtails every comfort. Men leave to fight and die. And five women forge a bond of friendship that will change their lives forever in this engrossing novel of loyalty, loss, and love in the shadow of World War II.With the hardships of war intensifying every day, the women band together to defeat formidable enemies and find remarkable strength within themselves to help one another. It is a war-forged loyalty certain to endure years and distance. When four of the women return for a celebration fifty years later, their mission is not simply to commemorate or remember. They’ve returned to confront a traitor whose actions cost countless lives — and to avenge one of their own at last.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Really enjoyable story

  • By WmL on 19-11-12

Great Story, just ignore the bizarre accents

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-03-18

I had to persevere a little at the beginning but turned out to be a great story.

Really not sure why the narrator is American when most of the book is full of different British accents. There are some truly bizarre interpretations of certain accents peppered with American pronunciations. However, the narration is smooth and at a good pace.

  • A Good Catch

  • By: Fern Britton
  • Narrated by: Fern Britton
  • Length: 9 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 81
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 73
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 71

The new witty and warm novel from the best-selling author and TV presenter, Fern Britton. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Jill Mansell, and Trisha Ashley. Even happy families have their secrets... Greer Clovelly seems to have it all; beautiful, chic and slender, she's used to getting her own way. Greer has been in love with Jesse Behenna since her first day at school and she's determined that one day, they'll be married. After all, a marriage between them would join together two dynasties of Cornish fishing families to make one prosperous one.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • depressing read

  • By Tash on 21-11-17

Really good listen

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-01-18

I enjoyed this book, it moved at a good pace but at the same time you could relax into it. The characters really stayed with me and were well rounded. Maybe a sequel Fern???

  • When I Was Invisible

  • By: Dorothy Koomson
  • Narrated by: Susy Kane, Sara Powell
  • Length: 14 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 178
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 161
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 161

In 1988 two girls with identical names and the same love of ballet meet for the first time. They seem destined to be best friends forever and to become professional dancers. Years later, however, they have both been dealt so many cruel and unexpected blows that they walk away from each other into very different futures - one enters a convent, the other becomes a minor celebrity. Will these new 'invisible' lives be the ones they were meant to live, or will they find that kind of salvation only when they are reunited 20 years later?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Dorothy Koomson is back on form!

  • By Emily on 06-08-16

Excellent story, well read.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 31-08-17

What made the experience of listening to When I Was Invisible the most enjoyable?

I've listened to Dorothy Kroomson books before, and I love her style and the way her characters are so believable and have depth. She deals with issues without you feeling like the whole story is about those issues, it is very much about the characters.

What did you like best about this story?

The way the story and characters are still with me. I had to keep listening to find out what was going to happen next.

Which character – as performed by Susy Kane and Sara Powell – was your favourite?

All the characters were performed brilliantly and were very real.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

I don't want to give the story away! Very real depictions of how people can end up in situations they didn't imagine.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Crimson Shore

  • The Gold Detectives, Book 1
  • By: Gillian Hamer
  • Narrated by: Tim Dalgleish
  • Length: 11 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 10
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10

A half-naked woman dead in a ditch. A disappearing pathologist. A teenager run off the road. For a peaceful island, Anglesey is experiencing abnormal levels of crime. What's the connection? DS Dara Brennan has women problems. His boss, Amanda Gold, is embroiled in office politics, and his wife thinks he's a disappointment. And then there's DS Kelly Morgan. As missing-person cases become murder enquiries, Dara must put aside his personal life and focus on the killer's trail.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • great detective story

  • By Sam on 04-10-16

A great easy listen that keeps you interested

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-08-16

What made the experience of listening to Crimson Shore the most enjoyable?

The narration was excellent, great accents, easy to listen to.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Crimson Shore?

The story line twists and turns and is quite fast moving. Good background to the characters.

Have you listened to any of Tim Dalgleish’s other performances? How does this one compare?

Yes. Have enjoyed Tim Dalgleish's narration, especially his Playing Macbeth - An Actors Journey, which he also wrote.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

It had me on the edge of my seat a few times. It was very topical and you really understood the motivations behind the murders.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful