LISTENER

"ballbearing"

  • 6
  • reviews
  • 14
  • helpful votes
  • 39
  • ratings
  • The Consuming Fire

  • The Interdependency, Book 2
  • By: John Scalzi
  • Narrated by: Wil Wheaton
  • Length: 8 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 286
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 264
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 265

The Interdependency, humanity’s interstellar empire, is on the verge of collapse. The Flow, the extra-dimensional conduit that makes travel between the stars possible, is disappearing, leaving entire star systems stranded. When it goes, human civilization may go with it - unless desperate measures can be taken. Emperox Grayland II, the leader of the Interdependency, is ready to take those measures to help ensure the survival of billions. But nothing is ever that easy.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great Stuff

  • By Haviland on 24-10-18

good sequel

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 23-04-19

This sequel is good however it suffers from the typical sequel issues such as the plot becomes very complex, there is little or no extra character development and one starts to feel very little for the characters. The first 1/3 of the book is pretty boring and then gets quite interesting.

  • Thinking in Systems

  • A Primer
  • By: Donella H. Meadows
  • Narrated by: Tia Rider Sorensen
  • Length: 6 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 62
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 53
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 51

In the years following her role as the lead author of the international best seller, Limits to Growth - the first book to show the consequences of unchecked growth on a finite planet - Donella Meadows remained a pioneer of environmental and social analysis until her untimely death in 2001. Thinking in Systems is a concise and crucial book offering insight for problem-solving on scales ranging from the personal to the global. Edited by the Sustainability Institute's Diana Wright, this essential primer brings systems thinking out of the realm of computers and equations and into the tangible world....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Brilliant introduction/reintroduction

  • By Dr Dave on 23-08-18

even better the second time

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-01-19

fasinating and rich topic that is well read. I got more from it the second and third time I listenned to it.

  • All Systems Red

  • By: Martha Wells
  • Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
  • Length: 3 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 182
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 165
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 165

All Systems Red is the tense first science fiction adventure novella in Martha Wells' series The Murderbot Diaries. For fans of Westworld, Ex Machina, Ann Leckie's Imperial Raadch series, or Iain M. Banks' Culture novels. The main character is a deadly security droid that has bucked its restrictive programming and is balanced between contemplative self-discovery and an idle instinct to kill all humans.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Yay, Murderbot!

  • By L on 02-05-18

Fun and short

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-08-18

Was fun and shorter than I usually listen to. I will listen to it again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1Q84

  • By: Haruki Murakami, Jay Rubin (translator), Philip Gabriel (translator)
  • Narrated by: Allison Hiroto, Marc Vietor, Mark Boyett
  • Length: 46 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,464
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,022
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,019

The year is 1984 and the city is Tokyo.

A young woman named Aomame follows a taxi driver's enigmatic suggestion and begins to notice puzzling discrepancies in the world around her. She has entered, she realizes, a parallel existence, which she calls 1Q84 - "Q" is for "question mark". A world that bears a question....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Murakami sparkles as ever

  • By Nick on 22-01-12

disappointed

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-05-17

Not the authors best work. The book could have been great but the editors let the author become self indulgent.

  • The Best of Connie Willis

  • Award-Winning Stories
  • By: Connie Willis
  • Narrated by: Eliza Foss, Jessica Almasy, Mia Barron, and others
  • Length: 16 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10

Here are the greatest stories of one of the greatest writers working in any genre today. All ten of the stories gathered here are Hugo or Nebula award winners - some even have the distinction of winning both. With a new Introduction by the author and personal afterwords to each story, plus a special look at three of Willis' unique public speeches - this is unquestionably the collection of the season, an audiobook that every Connie Willis fan will treasure.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • the brilliant and the good

  • By "ballbearing" on 21-02-17

the brilliant and the good

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-02-17

some brilliant story's with some good story's. A nice variety from a talented author.

  • Dark Matter

  • By: Blake Crouch
  • Narrated by: Jon Lindstrom
  • Length: 10 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,931
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,751
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,749

'Are you happy in your life?' Those are the last words Jason Dessen hears before the masked abductor knocks him unconscious. Before he wakes to find himself strapped to a gurney, surrounded by strangers in hazmat suits. Before the man he's never met smiles down at him and says, 'Welcome back, my friend.' In this world he's woken up to, Jason's life is not the one he knows. His wife is not his wife. His son was never born. And Jason is not an ordinary college physics professor but a celebrated genius who has achieved something remarkable. Something impossible.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • WOW - This was a weird one

  • By Jules on 26-10-16

second half of book is good

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-10-16

the first half of the book is predictable and a bit boring but the second half is exciting and interesting.

13 of 17 people found this review helpful