LISTENER

Sue

  • 11
  • reviews
  • 3
  • helpful votes
  • 13
  • ratings
  • Coming Home to Cuckoo Cottage

  • By: Heidi Swain
  • Narrated by: Karen Cass
  • Length: 11 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 89
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 77
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 78

From the best-selling author of Mince Pies and Mistletoe at the Christmas Market and The Cherry Tree Café  comes a glorious summer treat of glamping, vintage tearooms and love.... When Lottie Foster’s grandmother’s best friend, Gwen, dies, she leaves Lottie her lovely home, Cuckoo Cottage. Lottie loves the cottage, but Matt, a charming local builder, points out that beneath its charm it is falling apart. Luckily he is always on hand to help with the problems that somehow seem to keep cropping up. But is he just a bit too good to be true? 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Brilliant

  • By WENDY BARKER REED on 10-03-19

Cuckoo cottage a delightful story.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 31-12-18

Absolutely loved this book , a love story with villain and hero seeming to swop titles.
fully of intriguing, conspiracy and a times a little danger.
A must read for a Cathy Bramley readers.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Conditional Love

  • By: Cathy Bramley
  • Narrated by: Colleen Prendergast
  • Length: 10 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 134
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 113
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 113

A takeaway, TV and tea with two sugars is about as exciting as it gets for 30-something Sophie Stone. Sophie's life is safe and predictable, which is just the way she likes it, thank you very much. But when a mysterious benefactor leaves her an inheritance, Sophie has to accept that change is afoot. There is one big catch: in order to inherit, Sophie must agree to meet the father she has never seen. Saying yes means the chance to build her own dream home, but she'll also have to face the past and hear some uncomfortable truths....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • such a lovely story

  • By Lady viscount on 31-05-16

Conditional Love . A Cathy Bramley feel good book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-11-18

It's book made me feel all warm and cosy, one of those books you kick off your shoe pore a glass of wine , put another log on the fire and settle down to a night of far away dreams .
Sofie is a girl that never steps out of her comfort zone until she reserves a cottage in her Auntie will .
slowly she emerges from her cucone into a strong women who will stop at nothing until she gets answers and what she want out of life.
A great read and a talented narrator.

  • The Lemon Tree Café

  • By: Cathy Bramley
  • Narrated by: Colleen Prendergast
  • Length: 13 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 59
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 52
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 52

The Lemon Tree Café was originally published as a four-part serial. This is the complete story in one package. A deliciously cosy story of family, friendship and a little dolce vita, perfect for fans of Milly Johnson, Trisha Ashley and Katie Fforde.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Brilliant

  • By Sue on 27-10-18

Brilliant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-10-18

Yet another gorgeous book by Cathy Bramley.
Strong characters, twists and turns that you weren't expecting full of humour and tears a delightful read.
Another one I had a job to put down.
Coleen Prendagast 's narrating adds to the warmth of the book , her clever use of voices gives each character their individuality.
looking forward to my next read Wickham hall.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • White Lies and Wishes

  • By: Cathy Bramley
  • Narrated by: Colleen Prendergast
  • Length: 12 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 109
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 96
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 97

Flirtatious, straight-talking Jo Gold says she's got no time for love; she's determined to save her family's failing footwear business. New mother Sarah Hudson has cut short her maternity leave to return to work. She says she'll do whatever it takes to make partner at the accountancy firm. Bored, overeating housewife Carrie Radley says she just wants to shift the pounds - she'd love to finally wear a bikini in public. The unlikely trio meet by chance one winter's day and, in a moment of carpe diem madness, embark on a mission to make their wishes come true by September.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fun story, perfect for summer beach reading

  • By DBS on 21-06-17

A wonderful book about friendship and love. <br />

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-10-18

A heart warming book about what we can achieve with our friend. Their combined personalities helping each other to achieve their secret wishes, throw sheer sister hood and steely determination. A must read.

  • A Summer Fling

  • By: Milly Johnson
  • Narrated by: Colleen Prendergast
  • Length: 13 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 254
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 180
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 180

When Christie blows in like a warm wind to take over their department, five very different women find themselves thrown together at work…Anna, 39, is left reeling after her fiancé’s departure with a younger woman. Then there’s Grace, trapped in a loveless marriage. Can she prevent 33-year-old Dawn from making the same mistake? At 28, Raychel would seem to be the happiest, with a loving husband and their cosy nest for two. But what dark secrets make Raychel so unwilling to open up?

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • I enjoyed this book

  • By J on 22-08-15

Milly Johnson at her best.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-09-18

Yet another masterpiece by Milly Johnson.
When female friends come together to fight for each other and put their lives back together with the help from a remarkable female Boss.
Full of humour , disappear, justice and joy.
Loveable , hateful , shallow controlling and timid Characters that are interwoven in sorting their unhappy lives.
Loved it.

  • Petit Four

  • By: Milly Johnson
  • Narrated by: Colleen Prendergast, Esther Wane
  • Length: 5 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 40
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 38
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 39

Available for the first time: audio editions of Milly's brilliant short stories 'Here Come the Boys', 'The Wedding Dress', 'Ladies Who Launch' and 'The Barn on Half Moon Hill'. Milly Johnson is the sparkling and irrepressible author of six best-selling novels. She is also a columnist, greetings card copywriter, poet and after-dinner speaker. Her books are about the universal issues of friendship, family, betrayal, babies, rather nice food and a little bit of that magic in life that sometimes visits the unsuspecting.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Good short stories

  • By Catherine on 17-08-17

No wonder it was a best seller.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-09-18

Petition four is a wonderful book of short stories
a good bedtime read.
I've this Authors story telling always with a twist.
Throughly recommend this book.

  • Sunshine over Wildflower Cottage

  • By: Milly Johnson
  • Narrated by: Colleen Prendergast
  • Length: 12 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 254
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 236
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 236

Viv arrives at Wildflower Cottage, a tumbledown animal sanctuary, for the summer. Her job is to help with the admin, but the truth is she is here for something much closer to her heart.... Geraldine runs the Wildflower Cottage sanctuary. She escaped from her past to find happiness here, but now her place of refuge is about to come under threat. Can she keep her history at bay and her future safe? Back home, Viv's mother, Stel, thinks she might have found a man who will treat her right for once.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Loved it

  • By miss ke savory on 30-03-17

Outstanding

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-09-18

Wildflower cottage is one of the best books I have read.
full of magic, love,fun, friendship, intrigue, plots suspense ,and tears
With colourful characters both good and evil.
A book you have a job to put down.
Coleen Prendagast is a brilliant narrator especially with ancient and different voices.
look forward to hearing her again .

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Two's Company

  • By: Jill Mansell
  • Narrated by: Hilary Neville
  • Length: 12 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 25
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 25
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 24

Two's company, but three's a calamity.... Two's Company is a funny, romantic novel from best-selling Jill Mansell, author of The One You Really Want and Three Amazing Things About You. Jack and Cass Mandeville are a dream couple, ridiculously happy together and successful to boot - Jack as a journalist and Cass with her own hugely popular radio show.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Twos Company

  • By Sue on 18-08-18

Twos Company

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-08-18

My favourite book so far.
Brilliant story
Exceptional narrator
Great characters.
couldn't put it down.

  • Take a Chance on Me

  • By: Jill Mansell
  • Narrated by: Annie Aldington
  • Length: 12 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 22
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 21
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 21

Jill Mansell's best seller Take a Chance on Me takes listeners on an entirely unpredictable romantic journey.... For fans of Carole Matthews and Lucy Diamond. Cleo Quinn doesn't have a great track record when it comes to men, but now Will's come along she's optimistic. Handsome, attentive and an absolute gentleman when it comes to her questionable cooking skills, he could be her Mr. Right. Things are definitely looking up for Cleo...apart from one small problem with a rather large ego.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Rubbish reader! Great story

  • By Joanna on 06-09-16

Yet another brilliant comedy romance by Jill.<br />

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-08-18

loved the story and characters, although I did find the narrator voice not apt for this type of book.

  • Millie's Fling

  • By: Jill Mansell
  • Narrated by: Sarah Barron
  • Length: 14 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 72
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 65
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 65

He's the best thing that ever happened to her. He's also the worst. He's Millie's fling.... When Millie Brady saves Orla Hart's life, she doesn't realise how drastically it will change her own - not least because the boyfriend who was asking her to move in with him at the time stormed off in a huff. Actually, Millie's relieved. She's happy to enjoy a man-free summer in Cornwall.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Brilliant!!

  • By Mrs B on 30-12-16

Loved it!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-08-18

Yet another quality book from Jill.
Excellent story with humorous dialogue
set in idealic Cornwall.
Strong characters with the odd one you could easily strangle!
Throughly enjoyed it.