LISTENER

Cat

  • 5
  • reviews
  • 6
  • helpful votes
  • 11
  • ratings
  • The Sleeper

  • By: Emily Barr
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 12 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 940
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 851
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 845

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Sophie Hannah and Rosamund Lupton. Lara Finch is living a lie. Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. But then Lara vanishes from the night train without a trace.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent.

  • By Vanessa on 22-02-14

Waste of time

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-04-18

Book feels like it was written as a school project.
Too predictable and the performance did not help.

  • The Therapeutic Relationship

  • Transference, Countertransference, and the Making of Meaning (Carolyn and Ernest Fay Series in Analytical Psychology)
  • By: Ms. Jan Wiener
  • Narrated by: Wendy Tremont King
  • Length: 4 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 13
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 11
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 12

While C. G. Jung had a natural intuitive understanding of the transference and countertransference, his lack of a "coherent method and clinical technique for working with transference and his ambivalence and mercurial attitude to matters of method," have, in the words of therapist and Jungian scholar Jan Wiener, sometimes left Jungians who are eager to hone their knowledge and skills in this area "floundering and confused."

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • excellent

  • By Nicola on 01-11-17

Nothing original and very badly narrated

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-12-16

The narrator is very monotonous and don't use full stops, so you can find yourself 3 minutes on a complete different topic before you realise it.
Such a rich subject to be explored and what the author does is copy fragments of letters between Jung and Freud.
No new material
If I could I would return it.

  • When Nietzsche Wept

  • By: Irvin D. Yalom
  • Narrated by: Paul Michael Garcia
  • Length: 15 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 93
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 81
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 81

Josef Breuer, one of the founding fathers of psychoanalysis, is at the height of his career. Friedrich Nietzsche, Europe's greatest philosopher, is on the brink of suicidal despair, unable to find a cure for the headaches and other ailments that plague him. When he agrees to treat Nietzsche with his experimental "talking cure", Breuer never expects that he, too, will find solace in their sessions. Only through facing his own inner demons can the gifted healer begin to help his patient.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Wow

  • By Mateusz Sobiesiak on 19-12-17

The best fiction book I read in a long time

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-12-16

The story is so compelling and so touching. It is about several aspects oh human behaviour, friendship,love betrail, loss and search for the understanding of the shelf.
Beautifully written and narrated.
Part of my top ten of all times

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • A Brief History of Britain 1485-1660

  • Brief Histories
  • By: Ronald Hutton
  • Narrated by: Roger Davis
  • Length: 10 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 69
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 56
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 53

From the death of Richard III on Bosworth Field in 1485 to the execution of Charles I, after the Civil Wars of 1642-48, England was transformed by two Dynasties. Firstly the Tudors, who won the crown on the battlefield and changed both the nature of kingship but also the nation itself. England became a Protestant nation and began to establishment itself as a trading power; facing down impossible odds it defeated its enemies on land and sea.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • A bit too brief

  • By Matthew on 14-01-14

Brilliant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-04-15

Academic and accessible at the same time!
All the books on this series are highly enjoyable and a very pleasant narrator

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Silver Linings Playbook

  • By: Matthew Quick
  • Narrated by: Ray Porter
  • Length: 7 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 309
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 278
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 280

Now a major film starring Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence and Robert De Niro.Pat Peoples knows that life doesn’t always go according to plan, but he’s determined to get his back on track. After a stint in a psychiatric hospital, Pat is staying with his parents and trying to live according to his new philosophy: get fit, be nice and always look for the silver lining. Most importantly, Pat is determined to be reconciled with his wife Nikki. Pat’s parents just want to protect him

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Beautifully disturbing

  • By Sam on 07-04-14

Sad and beautiful

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-02-15

Great picture of mental health road to recovery...
Touching and vivid narrative.
Performing artist is a bit weird when doing all the different voices

4 of 5 people found this review helpful