LISTENER

D. Marsh

England
  • 39
  • reviews
  • 8
  • helpful votes
  • 42
  • ratings
  • Exit Strategy

  • By: Martha Wells
  • Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
  • Length: 3 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 22
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 20
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 21

Having traveled the width of the galaxy to unearth details of its own murderous transgressions, as well as those of the GrayCris Corporation, Murderbot is heading home to help Dr. Mensah - its former owner (protector? friend?) - submit evidence that could prevent GrayCris from destroying more colonists in its never-ending quest for profit. But who's going to believe a SecUnit gone rogue? And what will become of it when it's caught?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • want more!

  • By Conor on 16-10-18

An ok Ending

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-10-18

A nice story coming to a reasonable ending. it was well and consideratly narrated too.
just the short length of each book being an issue.

  • Astrophysics for People in a Hurry

  • By: Neil deGrasse Tyson
  • Narrated by: Neil deGrasse Tyson
  • Length: 3 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,078
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 971
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 964

What is the nature of space and time? How do we fit within the universe? How does the universe fit within us? There's no better guide through these mind-expanding questions than acclaimed astrophysicist and best-selling author Neil deGrasse Tyson. But today, few of us have time to contemplate the cosmos. So Tyson brings the universe down to Earth succinctly and clearly, with sparkling wit, in digestible chapters consumable anytime and anywhere in your busy day.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Fascinating, if a little short

  • By ian on 23-06-17

A nice listen, liked more unproven theories

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-10-18

Good listen, but didn't cover too much over the standard model of the universe. Would have liked more differing / opposing ideas to dark matter, expansion theory for example and any problems we are encountering with this present almost fixed ideology.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Xeelee: Redemption

  • By: Stephen Baxter
  • Narrated by: Dudley Hinton
  • Length: 17 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 9
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 9

Michael Poole finds himself in a very strange landscape.... This is the centre of the Galaxy. And in a history without war with the humans, the Xeelee have had time to built an immense structure here. The Xeelee Belt has a radius 10,000 times Earth's orbital distance. It is a light-year in circumference. If it was set in the solar system, it would be out in the Oort Cloud, among the comets - but circling the sun. If it was at rest, it would have a surface area equivalent to about 30 billion Earths. But it is not at rest: it rotates at near light speed.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Good hard sci fi story telling

  • By D. Marsh on 26-09-18

Good hard sci fi story telling

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-09-18

Maybe not to everyone's taste as most of the conversation is science based, with not the most in depth of characters. Some ideas from other writers in here but on a bigger scale. Unsure of the journey times in here travelling by truck as thing so large. Will look forward to the next installment.

  • Alan Partridge: Nomad

  • By: Alan Partridge
  • Narrated by: Alan Partridge
  • Length: 6 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,853
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 4,410
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,389

In Alan Partridge: Nomad, Alan dons his boots, windcheater and scarf and embarks on an odyssey through a place he once knew - it's called Britain - intent on completing a journey of immense personal significance. Diarising his ramble in the form of a 'journey journal', Alan details the people and places he encounters, ruminates on matters large and small and, on a final leg fraught with danger, becomes not a man (because he was one to start off with) but a better, more inspiring example of a man.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Every line has a joke.

  • By Dickie Armstrong on 24-10-16

Funny in parts, not as good as previous book

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-08-18

Good narration, but you can have too much of a good thing, as it is too long and it wears the story down, particularly at the end.

  • The Player of Games

  • Culture Series, Book 2
  • By: Iain M. Banks
  • Narrated by: Peter Kenny
  • Length: 11 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,518
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1,211
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,214

The Culture - a human/machine symbiotic society - has thrown up many great Game Players, and one of the greatest is Gurgeh: Jernau Morat Gurgeh, The Player of Games, master of every board, computer, and strategy. Bored with success, Gurgeh travels to the Empire of Azad, cruel and incredibly wealthy, to try their fabulous game... a game so complex, so like life itself, that the winner becomes emperor.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Civilisation and the Culture

  • By Mark on 08-12-10

My favourite Culture novel, well narrated too

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-07-18

Bit of a quick ending, but otherwise perfect.
Just a pity he's Mott here to write more.

  • Artificial Condition

  • By: Martha Wells
  • Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
  • Length: 3 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 60
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 58
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 58

It has a dark past - one in which a number of humans were killed. A past that caused it to christen itself "Murderbot." But it has only vague memories of the massacre that spawned that title, and it wants to know more. Teaming up with a Research Transport vessel named ART (you don't want to know what the "A" stands for), Murderbot heads to the mining facility where it went rogue.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • More of the murderbot saga

  • By paul sparks on 15-05-18

Good and well narrated, very short though

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-07-18

Not worth a whole credit due to short length. Nice story and from a robot perspective.

  • Starship Liberator

  • Galactic Liberation, Book 1
  • By: David VanDyke, B. V. Larson
  • Narrated by: Mark Boyett
  • Length: 16 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 210
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 196
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 196

The Hundred Worlds have withstood invasion by the relentless Hok for decades. The human worlds are strong, but the Hok have the resources of a thousand planets behind them, and their fleets attack in endless waves. The long war has transformed the Hundred Worlds into heavily fortified star systems. Their economies are geared for military output, and they raise specialized soldiers to save our species. Assault Captain Derek Straker is one such man among many.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Flat and poorly performed

  • By Pete on 22-08-17

Ok but missing something to keep up interest

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-07-18

Ok to listen to, good narrator helps.
Seems a bit routine, gradually building up space ships, one then two then three, you can see the way it is going, but not really feeling involved.
The opposition 1000 world's don't seem evil enough and am unsure if the 100 world's are also now bad too?
At this level similar to AI gene and the Lost starship series, but found both keeping my interest going, as an ongoing adventure.

  • The Lost Artifact

  • By: Vaughn Heppner
  • Narrated by: Mark Boyett
  • Length: 16 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 63
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 62
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 61

Star Watch defeated the Swarm Invasion Fleet, but at a terrible cost in destroyed star systems, smashed battleships and billions of dead. In the aftermath of the costly victory, chaos threatens as worlds leave the Commonwealth of Planets, face mass starvation or succumb to increased piracy. The war against the Swarm Imperium has just begun. Humanity needs unity or each planet will fall alone. Brigadier O'Hara of Star Watch Intelligence stumbles onto a secret conspiracy. Someone is trying to destroy the Commonwealth from within, and they have an alien artifact of incredible power. O'Hara summons Captain Maddox. Although she fears to lose him, she knows that Maddox and his crew have the best chance of finding the hidden enemy. If the captain fails, the Commonwealth will be powerless to stop its destruction.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • No Shortage of Action

  • By Poppey on 03-07-18

Non stop interest, not deep but good

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-06-18

More of the same, but with more character development, so getting better still.
The concentration on the core ship and characters worked well. Almost two endings, wanted more of the first, than the more rushed second and final one. All good though looking forward to more.

  • Use of Weapons

  • Culture Series, Book 3
  • By: Iain M. Banks
  • Narrated by: Peter Kenny
  • Length: 13 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 902
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 752
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 756

The man known as Cheradenine Zakalwe was one of Special Circumstances' foremost agents, changing the destiny of planets to suit the Culture through intrigue, dirty tricks or military action. The woman known as Diziet Sma had plucked him from obscurity and pushed him towards his present eminence, but despite all their dealings she did not know him as well as she thought. The drone known as Skaffen-Amtiskaw knew both of these people.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Another great book from Iain M Banks.

  • By Thomas on 16-04-12

Backward & forwards complexity, but stil very good

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-06-18

Would be nice if someone could unravel this novel so both parts flow in the same direction. Like all culture novels though can be read again and again. I only wish there were more.

  • All Systems Red

  • By: Martha Wells
  • Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
  • Length: 3 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 110
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 100
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 100

All Systems Red is the tense first science fiction adventure novella in Martha Wells' series The Murderbot Diaries. For fans of Westworld, Ex Machina, Ann Leckie's Imperial Raadch series, or Iain M. Banks' Culture novels. The main character is a deadly security droid that has bucked its restrictive programming and is balanced between contemplative self-discovery and an idle instinct to kill all humans.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Yay, Murderbot!

  • By L on 02-05-18

Well written & narrated, but short for 1 credit

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-05-18

Nice robot perspective story and it kept me listening, a nice and calm narrator. Will be looking into the next in the series, but at 3 hours long unsure if it justifies one whole credit 😊

1 of 1 people found this review helpful