LISTENER

D. Marsh

England
  • 36
  • reviews
  • 6
  • helpful votes
  • 39
  • ratings
  • Alan Partridge: Nomad

  • By: Alan Partridge
  • Narrated by: Alan Partridge
  • Length: 6 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,647
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 4,223
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,203

In Alan Partridge: Nomad, Alan dons his boots, windcheater and scarf and embarks on an odyssey through a place he once knew - it's called Britain - intent on completing a journey of immense personal significance. Diarising his ramble in the form of a 'journey journal', Alan details the people and places he encounters, ruminates on matters large and small and, on a final leg fraught with danger, becomes not a man (because he was one to start off with) but a better, more inspiring example of a man.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Every line has a joke.

  • By Dickie Armstrong on 24-10-16

Funny in parts, not as good as previous book

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-08-18

Good narration, but you can have too much of a good thing, as it is too long and it wears the story down, particularly at the end.

  • The Player of Games

  • Culture Series, Book 2
  • By: Iain M. Banks
  • Narrated by: Peter Kenny
  • Length: 11 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,445
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1,145
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,148

The Culture - a human/machine symbiotic society - has thrown up many great Game Players, and one of the greatest is Gurgeh: Jernau Morat Gurgeh, The Player of Games, master of every board, computer, and strategy. Bored with success, Gurgeh travels to the Empire of Azad, cruel and incredibly wealthy, to try their fabulous game... a game so complex, so like life itself, that the winner becomes emperor.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Civilisation and the Culture

  • By Mark on 08-12-10

My favourite Culture novel, well narrated too

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-07-18

Bit of a quick ending, but otherwise perfect.
Just a pity he's Mott here to write more.

  • Artificial Condition

  • By: Martha Wells
  • Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
  • Length: 3 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 39
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 38
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 38

It has a dark past - one in which a number of humans were killed. A past that caused it to christen itself "Murderbot." But it has only vague memories of the massacre that spawned that title, and it wants to know more. Teaming up with a Research Transport vessel named ART (you don't want to know what the "A" stands for), Murderbot heads to the mining facility where it went rogue.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • More of the murderbot saga

  • By paul sparks on 15-05-18

Good and well narrated, very short though

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-07-18

Not worth a whole credit due to short length. Nice story and from a robot perspective.

  • Starship Liberator

  • Galactic Liberation, Book 1
  • By: David VanDyke, B. V. Larson
  • Narrated by: Mark Boyett
  • Length: 16 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 204
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 190
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 190

The Hundred Worlds have withstood invasion by the relentless Hok for decades. The human worlds are strong, but the Hok have the resources of a thousand planets behind them, and their fleets attack in endless waves. The long war has transformed the Hundred Worlds into heavily fortified star systems. Their economies are geared for military output, and they raise specialized soldiers to save our species. Assault Captain Derek Straker is one such man among many.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Flat and poorly performed

  • By Pete on 22-08-17

Ok but missing something to keep up interest

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-07-18

Ok to listen to, good narrator helps.
Seems a bit routine, gradually building up space ships, one then two then three, you can see the way it is going, but not really feeling involved.
The opposition 1000 world's don't seem evil enough and am unsure if the 100 world's are also now bad too?
At this level similar to AI gene and the Lost starship series, but found both keeping my interest going, as an ongoing adventure.

  • The Lost Artifact

  • By: Vaughn Heppner
  • Narrated by: Mark Boyett
  • Length: 16 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 40
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 40
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 40

Star Watch defeated the Swarm Invasion Fleet, but at a terrible cost in destroyed star systems, smashed battleships and billions of dead. In the aftermath of the costly victory, chaos threatens as worlds leave the Commonwealth of Planets, face mass starvation or succumb to increased piracy. The war against the Swarm Imperium has just begun. Humanity needs unity or each planet will fall alone. Brigadier O'Hara of Star Watch Intelligence stumbles onto a secret conspiracy. Someone is trying to destroy the Commonwealth from within, and they have an alien artifact of incredible power. O'Hara summons Captain Maddox. Although she fears to lose him, she knows that Maddox and his crew have the best chance of finding the hidden enemy. If the captain fails, the Commonwealth will be powerless to stop its destruction.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • No Shortage of Action

  • By Poppey on 03-07-18

Non stop interest, not deep but good

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-06-18

More of the same, but with more character development, so getting better still.
The concentration on the core ship and characters worked well. Almost two endings, wanted more of the first, than the more rushed second and final one. All good though looking forward to more.

  • Use of Weapons

  • Culture Series, Book 3
  • By: Iain M. Banks
  • Narrated by: Peter Kenny
  • Length: 13 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 862
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 716
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 720

The man known as Cheradenine Zakalwe was one of Special Circumstances' foremost agents, changing the destiny of planets to suit the Culture through intrigue, dirty tricks or military action. The woman known as Diziet Sma had plucked him from obscurity and pushed him towards his present eminence, but despite all their dealings she did not know him as well as she thought. The drone known as Skaffen-Amtiskaw knew both of these people.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Another great book from Iain M Banks.

  • By Thomas on 16-04-12

Backward & forwards complexity, but stil very good

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-06-18

Would be nice if someone could unravel this novel so both parts flow in the same direction. Like all culture novels though can be read again and again. I only wish there were more.

  • All Systems Red

  • By: Martha Wells
  • Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
  • Length: 3 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 72
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 67
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 67

All Systems Red is the tense first science fiction adventure novella in Martha Wells' series The Murderbot Diaries. For fans of Westworld, Ex Machina, Ann Leckie's Imperial Raadch series, or Iain M. Banks' Culture novels. The main character is a deadly security droid that has bucked its restrictive programming and is balanced between contemplative self-discovery and an idle instinct to kill all humans.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Yay, Murderbot!

  • By L on 02-05-18

Well written & narrated, but short for 1 credit

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-05-18

Nice robot perspective story and it kept me listening, a nice and calm narrator. Will be looking into the next in the series, but at 3 hours long unsure if it justifies one whole credit 😊

  • Colossus and the Crab

  • Colossus Trilogy Series, Book 3
  • By: D. F. Jones
  • Narrated by: P. J. Ochlan
  • Length: 9 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    2.5 out of 5 stars 2
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 2
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars 2

The 22nd Century. Dr. Charles Forbin is Earth's most powerful man. As mediator between Colossus, the Super Computer, and the rest of humanity, Forbin holds the key to Earth's fate. When Colossus, an awe-inspiring technological creation, suddenly became self-aware and took upon itself the task of righting humanity's wrongs with no regard for humans themselves, Forbin intervened. He took the decision to turn off his great machine - but could not do it alone. Forbin called upon invaders from Mars.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Good if iffy ending

  • By D. Marsh on 13-05-18

Good if iffy ending

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-05-18

A little dated and simplistic at times. The ending is a bit of a let down and humans don't really come out of it as winners. Colossus to some degree sides with the Martians. Odd timescales in use, alot of worry about the sun growing in size a billion years in the future. Forbin seems to be drunk most of the story.

  • Pandora's Star

  • By: Peter F. Hamilton
  • Narrated by: John Lee
  • Length: 37 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,527
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,135
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,132

Britain's bestselling SF writer returns to outer space.In AD 2329, humanity has colonised over four hundred planets, all of them interlinked by wormholes. With Earth at its centre, the Intersolar Commonwealth now occupies a sphere of space approximately four hundred light years across. When an astronomer on the outermost world of Gralmond, observes a star 2000 light years distant - and then a neighbouring one - vanish, it is time for the Commonwealth to discover what happened to them.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Very solid and enjoyable space opera

  • By Stephen on 21-09-13

Well narrated, but slow in pace, unessesary bits

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-05-18

Good overall story, maturely written with quality characters.
But it is rather slow and plodding, could have been halfved in length and made better and more exciting.

  • Colossus

  • Colossus Trilogy Series, Book 1
  • By: D. F. Jones
  • Narrated by: P.J. Ochlan
  • Length: 9 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 5
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 4
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4

Charles Forbin has dedicated the last 10 years of his life to the construction of his own supercomputer, Colossus, rejecting romantic and social endeavors in order to create the United States' very first Artificially Intelligent defense system. Colossus is a supercomputer capable of taking in and analyzing data rapidly, allowing it to make real time decisions about the nation's defense.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Felt better in reading, narrator value bit flat.

  • By D. Marsh on 03-05-18

Felt better in reading, narrator value bit flat.

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-05-18

Probably best to stick with the movie for this first episode. Narrator a bit robotic, but it's ok though.