LISTENER

"unknown"

Northolt, United Kingdom
  • 32
  • reviews
  • 16
  • helpful votes
  • 180
  • ratings
  • Sticks and Stones

  • By: Jo Jakeman
  • Narrated by: Erin Shanagher
  • Length: 9 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 11
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 10

Imogen’s husband is a bad man. His ex-wife and his new mistress might have different perspectives, but Imogen thinks she knows the truth. And now he’s given her an ultimatum: get out of the family home in the next fortnight or I’ll fight you for custody of our son. In a moment of madness, Imogen does something unthinkable: she locks her husband in the cellar. Now she’s in control. But how far will she go to protect her son and punish her husband? And what will happen when his ex and his girlfriend get tangled up in her plans?

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Far too long

  • By Amazon Customer on 04-08-18

Excellent

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-08-18

Kept me on the edge of my seat till the end.
Very well narrated too.

  • Don't Wake Up

  • By: Liz Lawler
  • Narrated by: Zara Ramm
  • Length: 8 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 899
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 793
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 797

A dark and gripping debut psychological thriller with a horrifying premise and a stinging twist. Alex Taylor wakes up tied to an operating table. The man who stands over her isn't a doctor. The choice he forces her to make is utterly unspeakable. But when Alex re-awakens, she's unharmed - and no one believes her horrifying story. Ostracised by her colleagues, her family and her partner, she begins to wonder if she really is losing her mind. And then she meets the next victim.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Best book I"ve read for ages

  • By Mary Thompson on 21-10-17

Brilliant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-07-18

Great debut book. Great narration. Will definitely be looking out for more from this author

  • The Sleeper

  • By: Emily Barr
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 12 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 973
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 883
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 876

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Sophie Hannah and Rosamund Lupton. Lara Finch is living a lie. Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. But then Lara vanishes from the night train without a trace.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent.

  • By Vanessa on 22-02-14

Thank goodness that’s over

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-05-18

No empathy for main character. Self centred and self absorbed she goes through life get away with awful things, because she acts the right way and carries herself well. Were we supposed to feel sorry for her when it all backfires leaving lives lost. How the sweet Lara gets drawn in is beyond me. Struggled, only half listening, time the end mainly to hear the outcome. Wish I had bothered

  • Fat Chance

  • By: Nick Spalding
  • Narrated by: Heather Wilds, Napoleon Ryan
  • Length: 8 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 568
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 504
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 500

Meet Zoe and Greg Milton, a married couple who have let themselves go a bit. Zoe was a stunner in her college days, but the intervening decades have added five stone, and removed most of her self-esteem. Greg's rugby-playing days are well and truly behind him, thanks to countless pints of beer and chicken curry. When Elise, a radio DJ and Zoe's best friend, tells them about a new competition, it seems like the perfect opportunity to turn their lives around.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Unbearable

  • By Loopygoose on 28-08-15

Nick does it again

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-12-17

I love Nick Spalding books. Always a treat of laughter and fun with good stories and well narrated.

  • Dead Gone

  • By: Luca Veste
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 11 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 91
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 85
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 84

The young girl you have found isn't the first experiment I've carried out. She won't be the last. A tense, unpredictable crime debut that will not only have you gripped, but will chill you to the bone. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride and Mark Billingham. A serial killer is stalking the streets of Liverpool, gruesomely murdering victims as part of a series of infamous, unethical and deadly psychological experiments.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent, but gruesome!

  • By Ann D on 23-01-17

Brilliant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-12-17

Really enjoyed this book. Can’t wait to download the rest of the series. Narration is brilliant.

  • The Child

  • By: Fiona Barton
  • Narrated by: Clare Corbett, Adjoa Andoh, Finty Williams, and others
  • Length: 10 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,344
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,085
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,067

When a paragraph in an evening newspaper reveals a decades-old tragedy, most readers barely give it a glance. But for three strangers, it's impossible to ignore. For one woman it's a reminder of the worst thing that ever happened to her. For another it's the dangerous possibility that her darkest secret is about to be discovered. And for a third, a journalist, it's the first clue in a hunt to uncover the truth. The Child's story will be told.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great story!

  • By joanna Prendergast on 30-06-17

Excellent

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-07-17

Enjoyed the widow and eagerly awaited Fiona Barton's 2nd book. This books excellent narration brings to life the story and the main characters. Was gripped.

  • Love Like Blood

  • By: Mark Billingham
  • Narrated by: Avita Jay, Mark Billingham, Sagar Arya
  • Length: 10 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 309
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 280
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 274

As DI Nicola Tanner investigates what appears to be a series of organised killings, her partner, Susan, is brutally murdered, leaving the detective bereft - and vengeful. Taken off the case, Tanner enlists the help of DI Tom Thorne to pursue a pair of ruthless killers and the broker handing out the deadly contracts. As the killers target their latest victim, Thorne takes the biggest risk of his career and is drawn into a horrifying and disturbing world in which families will do anything to protect their honour.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Brilliant

  • By S on 08-06-17

Love this detective

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-06-17

Love Billingham's books. Made even more enjoyable with his narration. Can't wait for the next.

  • Love Me Not

  • DI Helen Grace, Book 7
  • By: M. J. Arlidge
  • Narrated by: Elizabeth Bower
  • Length: 8 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 235
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 213
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 213

A woman's body lies in the road. At first it looks like a tragic accident. But when Helen Grace arrives on the scene it's clear she's looking at a coldblooded killing. But why would anyone target a much-loved wife and mother?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Really Gripping!

  • By Sasso on 07-06-17

Bower's narration very annoying

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-06-17

Continued to the end as I wanted to know what happened but increasing found myself getting more and more annoyed with the narrator. More suited to a Victorian melodrama. Think she makes the main character weak instead of a strong detective. Tried all M J Arlidge's books but if Bower continues to be narrator I won't bother again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Brotherhood in Death

  • In Death Series, Book 42
  • By: J. D. Robb
  • Narrated by: Susan Ericksen
  • Length: 13 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 175
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 158
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 155

Dennis Mira just had two unpleasant surprises. First he learned that his cousin Edward was secretly meeting with a real estate agent about their late grandfather's magnificent West Village brownstone, despite the promise they both made to keep it in the family. Then, when he went to the house to confront Edward about it, he got a blunt object to the back of the head.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Can't wait for the next murder!

  • By Peter B. on 31-03-16

Boring.

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-04-17

If I could have given this less that half a star I would have. The narration is awful. Doesn't allow you to have any empathy with the main character. Thank goodness I didn't waste a full credit on this. I was a 'today offer' Probably isn't selling well.

  • The Secret Life of Bees

  • By: Sue Monk Kidd
  • Narrated by: Jenna Lamia
  • Length: 9 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,149
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,067
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,063

Lily has grown up believing she accidentally killed her mother when she was four. She not only has her own memory of holding the gun, but her father's account of the event. Now 14, she yearns for her mother, and for forgiveness. Living on a peach farm in South Carolina with her father, she has only one friend: Rosaleen, a black servant whose sharp exterior hides a tender heart. South Carolina in the '60s is a place where segregation is still considered a cause worth fighting for.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Love it - start to finish!

  • By Mrs. K. J. D. CURRIE on 04-08-14

An absolute delight

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 23-03-17

Loved this book. Couldn't put it down. Thought the southern accent would get on my nerves but no, I ended up missing it when I finished the book.