LISTENER

"unknown"

Northolt, United Kingdom
  • 37
  • reviews
  • 17
  • helpful votes
  • 186
  • ratings
  • Their Lost Daughters

  • Audible's breakthrough crime author of 2018
  • By: Joy Ellis
  • Narrated by: Richard Armitage
  • Length: 9 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,512
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,309
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,303

Deep in the muddy fields of the Lincolnshire Fens, a teenage girl is found wandering, delirious, claiming to have been drugged at a party. Metres away, the drowned body of another girl is found on an isolated beach. And all this on a small stretch of land where, nearly 10 years ago, the shocking disappearance of a young girl remains an open case.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Smokin' Start to a New Series!

  • By Simon on 14-06-18

Great book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-09-18

Can’t wait for other books by this author to be available on audio. Good narration.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

  • By: Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows
  • Narrated by: Paul Boehmer, Susan Duerden, Rosalyn Landor, and others
  • Length: 8 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 747
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 617
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 616

It's 1946 and author Juliet Ashton can't think of what to write next. Out of the blue, she receives a letter from Dawsey Adams of Guernsey - by chance, he's acquired a book that once belonged to her - and, spurred on by their mutual love of reading, they begin a correspondence.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A thoroughly enjoyable listen.

  • By Amazon Customer on 21-06-09

Great story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-09-18

I’ve read many WW2 books but I’m ashamed to say never realised just what the people of the channel isles endured. Beautiful written and read with interesting characters. Full of humour and sadness. Thoroughly recommend.

  • The Invisible Ones

  • By: Stef Penney
  • Narrated by: Dan Stevens
  • Length: 11 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 523
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 422
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 421

Small-time private investigator Ray Lovell veers between paralysis and delirium in a hospital bed. But before the accident that landed him there, he had promised to find Rose Janko. Rose was married to the charismatic son of a travelling gypsy family, Ivo Janko. When Ray starts to investigate her disappearance he's surprised that her family are so hostile towards him.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • An excellent story, narrated well

  • By Helen on 25-10-12

Love Dan Stevens

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-09-18

Have never read any of Stef Penney’s books before and got this because Dan Stevens is one of my favourite narrators. Really enjoyed the book and will read more from this author.

  • The Daughter

  • By: Lucy Dawson
  • Narrated by: Rachel Atkins
  • Length: 9 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 409
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 378
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 375

You lost your daughter. You will never forgive yourself. And now someone is determined to make you pay.... Seventeen years ago, something happened to Jess' daughter, Beth. The memory of it still makes her blood run cold. Jess has tried everything to make peace with that day, and the part she played in what happened. It was only a brief moment of desire...but she'll pay for it with a lifetime of guilt.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • a good listen, tearful at times

  • By Jeminar on 27-04-18

Predictable

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-08-18

Well read but far fetched and totally predictable by half way through. Couldn’t be bothered to finish as it became annoying.

  • Black Heart

  • Detective Dan Riley, Book 1
  • By: Anna-Lou Weatherley
  • Narrated by: James Lailey
  • Length: 9 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 474
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 442
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 439

When Nigel Baxter, a middle-aged married banker with an unremarkable past, is found dead in the bath of a plush hotel suite, his wrists slit, it looks as if he's taken his own life. At first. But when Detective Inspector Daniel Riley is assigned to the case, he soon realises all isn't as it first appears to be. When a postmortem shows Baxter was poisoned, Riley suspects foul play. And then there's the odd addition of a teddy bear left at the crime scene....

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Great story!

  • By Ann D on 21-03-18

Great new series

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-08-18

Fantastic debut book by Anna-Lou Weatherley. Can’t wait for book 2. Took to Dan Riley immediately. James Lailey’s narration is spot on. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Sticks and Stones

  • By: Jo Jakeman
  • Narrated by: Erin Shanagher
  • Length: 9 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 14
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 12

Imogen’s husband is a bad man. His ex-wife and his new mistress might have different perspectives, but Imogen thinks she knows the truth. And now he’s given her an ultimatum: get out of the family home in the next fortnight or I’ll fight you for custody of our son. In a moment of madness, Imogen does something unthinkable: she locks her husband in the cellar. Now she’s in control. But how far will she go to protect her son and punish her husband? And what will happen when his ex and his girlfriend get tangled up in her plans?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent

  • By "unknown" on 01-08-18

Excellent

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-08-18

Kept me on the edge of my seat till the end.
Very well narrated too.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Don't Wake Up

  • By: Liz Lawler
  • Narrated by: Zara Ramm
  • Length: 8 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,046
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 926
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 929

A dark and gripping debut psychological thriller with a horrifying premise and a stinging twist. Alex Taylor wakes up tied to an operating table. The man who stands over her isn't a doctor. The choice he forces her to make is utterly unspeakable. But when Alex re-awakens, she's unharmed - and no one believes her horrifying story. Ostracised by her colleagues, her family and her partner, she begins to wonder if she really is losing her mind. And then she meets the next victim.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Best book I"ve read for ages

  • By Mary Thompson on 21-10-17

Brilliant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-07-18

Great debut book. Great narration. Will definitely be looking out for more from this author

  • The Sleeper

  • By: Emily Barr
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 12 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,016
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 920
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 913

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Sophie Hannah and Rosamund Lupton. Lara Finch is living a lie. Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. But then Lara vanishes from the night train without a trace.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent.

  • By Vanessa on 22-02-14

Thank goodness that’s over

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-05-18

No empathy for main character. Self centred and self absorbed she goes through life get away with awful things, because she acts the right way and carries herself well. Were we supposed to feel sorry for her when it all backfires leaving lives lost. How the sweet Lara gets drawn in is beyond me. Struggled, only half listening, time the end mainly to hear the outcome. Wish I had bothered

  • Fat Chance

  • By: Nick Spalding
  • Narrated by: Heather Wilds, Napoleon Ryan
  • Length: 8 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 598
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 531
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 527

Meet Zoe and Greg Milton, a married couple who have let themselves go a bit. Zoe was a stunner in her college days, but the intervening decades have added five stone, and removed most of her self-esteem. Greg's rugby-playing days are well and truly behind him, thanks to countless pints of beer and chicken curry. When Elise, a radio DJ and Zoe's best friend, tells them about a new competition, it seems like the perfect opportunity to turn their lives around.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Unbearable

  • By Loopygoose on 28-08-15

Nick does it again

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-12-17

I love Nick Spalding books. Always a treat of laughter and fun with good stories and well narrated.

  • Dead Gone

  • By: Luca Veste
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 11 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 101
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 95
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 94

The young girl you have found isn't the first experiment I've carried out. She won't be the last. A tense, unpredictable crime debut that will not only have you gripped, but will chill you to the bone. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride and Mark Billingham. A serial killer is stalking the streets of Liverpool, gruesomely murdering victims as part of a series of infamous, unethical and deadly psychological experiments.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Another Cracking Good Read From This Author!

  • By Flower Girl on 17-04-15

Brilliant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-12-17

Really enjoyed this book. Can’t wait to download the rest of the series. Narration is brilliant.