LISTENER

Jackie

  • 7
  • reviews
  • 31
  • helpful votes
  • 47
  • ratings
  • The Blood Road

  • Logan McRae, Book 11
  • By: Stuart MacBride
  • Narrated by: Steve Worsley
  • Length: 16 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 434
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 394
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 391

What drives someone to murder? Logan McRae's personal history is hardly squeaky clean, but now that he works for Professional Standards he's policing his fellow officers. When Detective Inspector Bell turns up dead in the drivers seat of a crashed car, it's a shock to everyone. Because Bell died two years ago. They buried him. Or they thought they did. As an investigation is launched into Bell's stabbing, Logan digs into his past. Where has he been all this time? Why did he disappear? And what's so important that he felt the need to come back from the dead?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Together Again

  • By Mary on 21-06-18

The blood road Stuart McBrides best yet

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-06-18

Gripping and excellent narration I - so good I didn’t want it to end. So many twists and turns. A story of tragedy and cruelty but as with most McBride books interspersed with wit and humor- totally believable. Can’t wait for the next Logan and Roberta outing - first class.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Now We Are Dead

  • By: Stuart MacBride
  • Narrated by: Steve Worsley
  • Length: 10 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 452
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 418
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 415

Detective Chief Inspector Roberta Steel got caught fitting up Jack Wallace - that's why they demoted her and quashed his sentence. Now he's back on the streets, and women are being attacked again. Wallace has to be responsible, but if Detective Sergeant Steel goes anywhere near him, his lawyers will get her thrown off the force for good. The Powers That Be won't listen to her, not after what happened last time. According to them, she's got more than enough ongoing cases to keep her busy.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fudge Flavoured Wombles in Tartan Noir

  • By Simon on 03-11-17

Brilliant brilliant brilliant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-11-17

Made me laugh out loud and a thumping good story again Stuart McBride has proved he is the master of crime

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • A Dark So Deadly

  • By: Stuart MacBride
  • Narrated by: Steve Worsley
  • Length: 21 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 814
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 757
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 748

Welcome to the Misfit Mob... It's where Police Scotland dumps the officers it can't get rid of but wants to: the outcasts, the troublemakers, the compromised. Officers like DC Callum MacGregor, lumbered with all the boring go-nowhere cases. So when an ancient mummy turns up at the Oldcastle tip, it's his job to find out which museum it's been stolen from. But then Callum uncovers links between his ancient corpse and three missing young men, and life starts to get a lot more interesting.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Absolutely amazing

  • By Andromeda's Twin on 24-04-17

Fabulous and haunting

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-04-17

Plots within plots, believable characters, made me laugh, cry, jump out of my skin and hold my breath in equal measure.
Stuart MacBride has surely written Book 1 of a new series!
The narration was equal to the quality of this book and enhanced every heart stopping twist.
We need another one of these soon please Mr MacB

13 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • Quieter Than Killing

  • D.I. Marnie Rome, Book 4
  • By: Sarah Hilary
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 12 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 96
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 93
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 91

The winter cold is biting, and a series of assaults is pulling DI Marnie Rome and DS Noah Jake out into the frosty, mean streets of London far more than they'd like. The attacks seem random, but when Marnie's family home is ransacked, there are signs that the burglary can have been committed only by a child - and someone who knows all about her. It will take a prison visit to her foster brother, Stephen, to help Marnie see the connections - and to force both her and Noah to face the truth about the creeping, chilling reaches of a troubled upbringing.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Another great case.

  • By Mary on 19-03-17

Breathtaking

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-03-17

Sarah Hillary is such a consummate writer she draws you in to each character making you believe and disbelieve them in turn. Her characters are so believable with the strengths and frailties of us all.
The book was superbly read and characterised by Imogen Church - can't wait to read more of Marnie's and Noah's lives

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Watch Her Disappear

  • Zigic and Ferreira Series, Book 4
  • By: Eva Dolan
  • Narrated by: David Thorpe
  • Length: 12 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 19
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 18
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 19

The body is found by the river, near a spot popular with runners. With a serial rapist at work in the area, DI Zigic and DS Ferreira are initially confused when the Hate Crimes Unit is summoned to the scene. Until they discover that the victim, Corinne Sawyer, was born Colin Sawyer. Was Corinne a victim of mistaken identity? With tensions running high, and the force coming under national scrutiny, this is a complex case and any mistake made could be fatal.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Load of rubbish. Give it a miss.

  • By Carrie on 23-04-18

Brilliant, inciteful and thought provoking

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-02-17

A really great story with believable well rounded characters. Loved the narration too.
It made me think about people who are 'different' and the challenges they face.
Beautifully written and a must read/listen

  • Tastes Like Fear

  • DI Marnie Rome 3
  • By: Sarah Hilary
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 13 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 118
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 110
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 108

The fragile young girl who causes the fatal car crash disappears from the scene. A runaway who doesn't want to be found, she only wants to return to the man who understands her and offers her warmth, comfort, a home. He gives her shelter. Just as he gives shelter to the other lost girls who live in his house. D.I. Marnie Rome thinks that she knows families, their secrets and their fault lines. But as she begins investigating the girl's disappearance nothing can prepare her for what she's about to face.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fantastic

  • By Jackie on 18-04-16

Fantastic

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-04-16

Best book I've listened to in ages, brilliantly written, great story and well narrated - Sarah Hillary is amazing

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Dead Man's Hand

  • The DI Hal Luchewski Series, Book 1
  • By: Mark Lock
  • Narrated by: Paul Thornley
  • Length: 12 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 174
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 167
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 167

The first in a new series by debut author Mark Lock, for fans of Mo Hayder, Belinda Bauer and Mark Billingham. Detective Inspector Hal Luchewski's life is complicated. The stress of his job is getting to him - usually in the form of hard liquor. He's still living in his dead father's shadow, his relationship with his daughter is strained and his love life is complex, to say the least.... Although nearly 40, Hal's still reconciling himself to the fact he's gay.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great first book

  • By Jackie on 13-03-16

Great first book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-03-16

Amazing can't wait for the next one a new twist, brilliantly read by the wonderful Paul Thornley

6 of 6 people found this review helpful