LISTENER

April Axton

  • 41
  • reviews
  • 14
  • helpful votes
  • 142
  • ratings
  • The Crossing Places

  • By: Elly Griffiths
  • Narrated by: Jane McDowell
  • Length: 8 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,415
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,264
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,259

When she's not digging up bones or other ancient objects, Ruth Galloway lectures at the University of North Norfolk. She lives happily alone in a remote place called Saltmarsh overlooking the North Sea and, for company; she has her cats Flint and Sparky, and Radio 4. When a child's bones are found in the marshes near an ancient site that Ruth worked on ten years earlier, Ruth is asked to date them.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Crime and archaeology - what's not to like?!

  • By Adrian on 05-06-11

Different narrator required

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-02-19

A really good story spoilt by awful narration. The attempts at accents were so irritating that at times I considered returning the book..

  • Shot Through the Heart

  • By: Isabelle Grey
  • Narrated by: Melody Grove
  • Length: 11 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 250
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 233
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 230

Who can you turn to if not the police? Essex, Christmas Day. As the residents of a small town enjoy their mince pies, shots ring out in the street. Five people are gunned down before the lone shooter turns his weapon on himself. Grace Fisher, now Detective Inspector, is tasked with making some sense of this atrocity - all the more sensitive because the first of the victims was one of their own: a police officer.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Second in the series but better than the first

  • By Mr Robert Butler on 23-10-16

Good Book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-01-19

This is the second book I've listened to by Isabelle Grey and it didn't disappoint. Grace Fisher is s

  • The Night Manager

  • By: John le Carré
  • Narrated by: Michael Jayston
  • Length: 19 hrs and 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,063
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 950
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 943

The night manager is Jonathan, a veteran of clandestine operations. In flight from a failed marriage and his own past, he has taken refuge in the luxury hotel trade. Yet he finds no escape from his demons. Driven by a desire for atonement and by an inherited patriotism, Jonathan allows himself to be recruited as a British secret agent with a mission to expose the murderer of the woman he himself betrayed. His odyssey takes him across Britain and Canada to the Caribbean and the jungles of Panama.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Demands your attention, then rewards

  • By Nils on 07-04-15

Good for insomniacs

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-01-19

This book is so boring, you are able to skip several chapters to find the narrator still droning on where you left off.....yawn

  • The Christmas Hirelings

  • By: Mary Elizabeth Braddon
  • Narrated by: Jennifer Saunders
  • Length: 3 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,885
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,712
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,699

A heartwarming festive tale of redemption and cheer, The Christmas Hirelings is the story of a lonely widower who reluctantly invites a group of children to his manor for Christmas. It showcases the benefits of opening your doors and hearts during the holiday season.  

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Loved it! What a wonderful Christmas tale.

  • By Helen SJ on 17-12-18

Ridiculous rubbish

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-12-18

A 4 year old child with the vocabulary of an adult??? I managed to get to chapter 5 but could stand no more.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Good Girls Don't Die

  • By: Isabelle Grey
  • Narrated by: Melody Grove
  • Length: 12 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 937
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 860
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 854

Accused of grassing up a fellow officer and driven brutally out of home and job, DI Grace Fisher is thankful to survive some dark times and find haven with the Major Investigation Team in Essex. Any hopes of a quiet start to her new life are dashed by the discovery of the body of a female student, last seen at a popular bar in Colchester. Grace has her first case. When a second student, also out drinking, is murdered and left grotesquely posed, the case becomes headline news. Someone is leaking disturbing details to a tabloid crime reporter. Is it the killer? Or a detective close to the case?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent

  • By Victoria Burton on 17-01-15

Full of flaws

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-12-18

Not even quarter of the way through and am giving up.
The narrator has a simpering voice and the story line is SO boring.

  • Broken Faith

  • By: Toby Clements
  • Narrated by: Jack Hawkins
  • Length: 15 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 671
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 610
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 610

Set during England's bloody and brutal War of the Roses, this is the second novel in an epic historical fiction series. If you liked Conn Iggulden's Stormbird, you will love Toby Clements' Kingmaker novels. October 1463. England is a divided nation. In the north the Lancastrian king struggles to hold power while in the south the princes of the house of York prepare for war.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Good, if a little harrowing

  • By swheelie on 05-08-16

Okay but not gripping

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-12-18

I think the first book Winter Pilgrims needs to be read/listened to before this one. Lots of references are made to previous happenings but not explained. The books are very similar with the battles, miraculous surgical procedures, very little food but always ale available. This second book also ended on a cliffhanger. I prefer a beginning, middle and an end. I can almost predict how the next book will be so will not bother buying it.

  • The Girl Who Fell from the Sky

  • By: Simon Mawer
  • Narrated by: Anna Bentinck
  • Length: 11 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 601
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 327
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 331

Marian Sutro is an outsider: the daughter of a diplomat, half French, half British, naive yet too clever for her own good. But when she is recruited from her desk job by SOE to go undercover in wartime France, it seems her hybrid status - and fluent French - will be of service to a greater, more dangerous cause. Trained in sabotage, dead-drops, how to perform under interrogation, and how to kill, Marian parachutes into southwest France with an urgent mission....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A great thriller, but also beautifully written

  • By Jill on 10-05-12

Ridiculous

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-12-18

A girl not long out of school is recruited into the resistance and after a short training is posted to France. She is hopeless at keeping secrets, appears to do whatever she chooses giving the listener no clear idea of what her goal is. I could not warm to her and without spoiling the ending I'm glad it was this way.

  • A Tapping at My Door

  • By: David Jackson
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 10 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,266
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,164
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,166

From the best-selling author of Cry Baby, the beginning of a brilliant and gripping police procedural series set in Liverpool, perfect for fans of Peter James and Mark Billingham. A woman at home in Liverpool is disturbed by a persistent tapping at her back door. She's disturbed to discover the culprit is a raven and tries to shoo it away. Which is when the killer strikes. DS Nathan Cody, still bearing the scars of an undercover mission that went horrifyingly wrong, is put on the case.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent Story well worth a listen

  • By Cathryn B. on 11-04-16

Okay

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-12-18

Gripping in parts and certainly worth a listen. The end is unfinished maybe there is a 2nd book, if not there should be.

  • Our House

  • By: Louise Candlish
  • Narrated by: Deni Francis, Paul Panting
  • Length: 12 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,285
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,187
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,183

When Fi arrives home to find a removals van outside her house, she is completely blindsided. Trinity Avenue has been her family's home for years. Where are all their belongings? How could this have happened? Desperately calling her ex-husband, Bram, who owns the house with her, Fi discovers he has disappeared. The more Fi uncovers, the more she realises their lives have been destroyed by a nightmare of their own making. A devastating crime has been committed, but who exactly is the guilty party?

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Really good story

  • By Rory on 12-08-18

Slow to start but stick with it.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 29-11-18

I would have given this 5stars except for the irritating use of word document, hours, mins and seconds and hash tag etc. I was surprised by the totally unexpected twist at the very end. ..Is there a follow up book to this?

  • The Distant Echo

  • By: Val McDermid
  • Narrated by: Tom Cotcher
  • Length: 14 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,039
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,883
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,879

On a freezing morning four drunken students stumble upon the body of a woman in the snow. Rosie has been raped, stabbed and left for dead in a cemetery. The only suspects are the four young men now stained with her blood. Twenty-five years later the police mount a cold-case review of Rosie’s unsolved murder, and the four are still suspects. But when two of them die in suspicious circumstances, it seems that someone is pursuing their own brand of justice....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Absorbing story with good characters

  • By Janet on 07-03-17

Easy to pick and put down

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-11-18

Anyone with half a brain could figure out who killed Rosie. Mondo, Weird, Ziggy (my favourite) and Alex whose only crime was to marry the mouthy, know all Lyn came across as nice ordinary students, they had no motive. Throw in a huge red herring in the shape of Rosie's illegitimate son, all a bit far fetched at this point. Put on your detective hat, start at the beginning, pick the meat from the bones and there you have it...I had to listen to the end to prove I was right.