LISTENER

Revmama

  • 54
  • reviews
  • 28
  • helpful votes
  • 55
  • ratings
  • Touch: A DI Charlotte Savage Novel, Book 1

  • By: Mark Sennen
  • Narrated by: Stevie Lacey
  • Length: 11 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 47
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 46
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 45

Part thriller, part police procedural, Touch by Mark Sennen will take you deep into the madness of a serial killer's mind. Harry likes pretty things. He likes to look at them. Sometimes that isn't enough. He wants to get closer. Naughty Harry. DI Savage and her team in Plymouth are struggling with their investigation into a string of horrific attacks on young women. The victims are being drugged, abducted, assaulted and then abandoned with only a dull memory of what has happened.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Recommended!!

  • By Gemma on 09-03-15

Bit of same old same old

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-02-19

Narrator poor really.. Wooden in her delivery. Has a habit of splitting sentences so that emphasis goes on wrong word.

  • Life for a Life

  • DI Gilchrist, Book 4
  • By: T. F. Muir
  • Narrated by: David Monteath
  • Length: 10 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 517
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 469
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 470

Suspenseful, pause-resisting crime writing at its gripping best featuring DCI Andy Gilchrist and set in St Andrews, Scotland. Will DCI Andy Gilchrist end up like the others - dead, beheaded on a beach? It’s the middle of winter in St Andrews when a young woman's half-naked body is found on Fife's Coastal Path, frozen and with remnants of a rope manacle around her wrist.... DCI Andy Gilchrist is given the case.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Gilchrist gets a new Sidekick!

  • By Simon on 14-10-15

Yes quite good

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 31-10-18

Enjoyed this book. My second in the series. There's one that Audible doesn't have which is very disappointing. Overall though a good listen good storyline and outcome

  • Lethal White

  • Cormoran Strike, Book 4
  • By: Robert Galbraith
  • Narrated by: Robert Glenister
  • Length: 22 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,746
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 6,272
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,235

When Billy, a troubled young man, comes to private eye Cormoran Strike's office to ask for his help investigating a crime he thinks he witnessed as a child, Strike is left deeply unsettled. While Billy is obviously mentally distressed and cannot remember many concrete details, there is something sincere about him and his story. But before Strike can question him further, Billy bolts from his office in a panic. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The most epic Galbraith/Rowling novel yet

  • By Mikey on 19-09-18

Love Cormoron Strike

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-10-18

Love this narrator. Love this series and the character Cormoron. Can't wait till they get to admit their feelings for each other. Matthew is his usual nasty self. Hate having to wait so long for next book each time. Sometimes want to slap Robin though.. Her character is irritating... Story line good.. Pace just about right.
.

  • Cragside

  • The DCI Ryan Mysteries, Book 6
  • By: LJ Ross
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 7 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,089
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 982
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 981

After his climactic battle with notorious serial killer The Hacker, DCI Ryan is spending the summer with his fiancée within the grounds of Cragside, a spectacular Bavarian-style mansion surrounded by acres of woodland. When they are invited to attend the staff summer party - a Victorian murder mystery evening - it's all a joke until the lights go out and an elderly man is found dead. It looks like an unfortunate accident but, as the dead man's life begins to unfold, Ryan and his team of detectives realise that all is not as it appears.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A 5 star murder mystery

  • By Timi on 19-10-17

Another good one

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-08-18

Yes enjoyed this. Narration good as always from keeble. Hmmm.. Cliff hanger eh? Wow we'll see what next one brings then eh?

  • High Force

  • The DCI Ryan Mysteries, Book 5
  • By: LJ Ross
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 8 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,269
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,150
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,145

Hell has unleashed a demon - and he's coming for you.... Detective Chief Inspector Ryan's worst nightmare has just become a reality. Notorious serial killer The Hacker has escaped prison and kidnapped one of his best detectives from her own home. His brutality is the stuff of legend - Ryan lost his sister and nearly his own life bringing the man to justice first time around. Can Ryan do it again to save his friend? There's a nationwide manhunt underway but the trail has gone cold and fear spreads like a virus.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Wow, really enjoyed that!

  • By Salter on 14-11-17

Very good

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-08-18

Narration good. game breaker for me if narration is not good. Enjoyed this. Good pace. Good mix of humour. I must admit I did want the baddy to suffer at the end. For his end to be as gory as he had put his victims through! Lol going on to next book with high expectations

  • The Great Detective Collection

  • 24 of the Best Classic Detective Stories
  • By: Arthur Conan Doyle, G. K. Chesterton, Ernest Bramah, and others
  • Narrated by: Cathy Dobson
  • Length: 21 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    2.5 out of 5 stars 24
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars 21
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 23

An engrossing collection of detective stories featuring all the great classic sleuths, including Sherlock Holmes, Father Brown, Max Carrados, J. G. Reeder, and C. Auguste Dupin. 1.The Tea-Leaf by Edgar Jepson & Robert Eustace 2.The Queer Feet by G. K. Chesterton 3.The Curious Circumstances of the Two Left Shoes by Ernest Bramah 4. The Club of One-Eyed Men by Arthur Somers Roche 5.Diamond Cut Diamond by F. Britten Austin 6.The Game Played in the Dark by Ernest Bramah

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • great stories, appalling narration.

  • By Marsh on 26-01-16

Dreadful narration/Very disappointed

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-06-18

The stories were quirky and varied. Some ended suddenly. The narration was dreadful. I've never heard such a peculiar way of speaking. Creepy stupid intonation.. How does someone like that get the job? Is that how they usually speak? Or is that strange affect just for narrating. Either way please choose narrators more wisely. I've never had to speak so strongly about narration. Very disappointing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Witness

  • By: Simon Kernick
  • Narrated by: Diana Kent, Jonathan Keeble, Paul Thornley
  • Length: 10 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 393
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 373
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 372

The gripping new race-against-time thriller by the best-selling author of Relentless, The Last 10 Seconds and The Final Minute. When Jane Kinnear sees her lover being murdered, she suddenly finds herself in danger. Taken to an anonymous police safe house, it soon becomes clear that her lover was an MI5 informant with important information about an imminent terrorist attack.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Not the best from this author

  • By R. on 19-02-16

Shame about narration

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-12-17

Enjoyed the book. Narration Painful as usual. D o they ever listen to themselves ?

  • State Secrets

  • Bob Skinner, Book 28
  • By: Quintin Jardine
  • Narrated by: James Bryce
  • Length: 12 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 38
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 33
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 32

Former Chief Constable Bob Skinner is long out of the police force, but trouble has a habit of following him around. So it is that he finds himself in the Palace of Westminster as a shocking act befalls the nation. Hours before the Prime Minster is due to make a controversial statement, she is discovered in her office with a letter opener driven through her skull. Is the act political? Personal? Or even one of terror? Skinner is swiftly enlisted by the Security Service to lead the investigation.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Narration again

  • By Revmama on 25-11-17

Narration again

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-11-17

Narration can make or break break a good story.. The voices portrayed in this were all over the place.. Do narrators not listen to the narrations before submitting the recorded text? Many of the voices are painful to listen to.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Scarred Woman

  • Department Q, Book 7
  • By: Jussi Adler-Olsen
  • Narrated by: Saul Reichlin
  • Length: 17 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 675
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 629
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 625

The international number one best seller returns with his most captivating and suspenseful novel yet - perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. In a Copenhagen park, the body of an elderly woman is discovered. Though the case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved homicide from over a decade ago, the police cannot find any connection between the two victims. Across town a group of young women are being hunted down. The attacks seem random, but could these acts of violence be related?

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • What a let down after such a long wait!

  • By mollyeyre on 22-09-17

A good listen

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-10-17

Narration was OK on this one.. I like department Q.. Want to hear more of hassd"s background. Have missed one book in the series... Not available for some reason.. Can't see why one book in a series would not available from Audible? I missed a big chunk of their progress consequently.. What's the point of that?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Disgrace

  • Department Q, Book 2
  • By: Jussi Adler-Olsen
  • Narrated by: Steven Pacey
  • Length: 14 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,394
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,230
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,232

Kimmie’s home is on the streets of Copenhagen. To live she must steal. She has learned to avoid the police and never to stay in one place for long. But now others are trying to find her. And they won’t rest until she has stopped moving - for good. Detective Carl of Department Q, the cold cases division, has received a file concerning the brutal murder of a brother and sister 20 years earlier. A group of boarding school students were the suspects at the time - until one of their numbers confessed and was convicted.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • dead, dead good

  • By GORDON on 13-11-12

Good stuff

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-08-17

Yes I enjoyed this... Narration just right I think.. Story good... Love Adas... More to come out if him I think.. Going on to net one now...