LISTENER

Amazon Customer

  • 3
  • reviews
  • 0
  • helpful votes
  • 4
  • ratings
  • The Throwaway Children

  • By: Diney Costeloe
  • Narrated by: Anne Dover
  • Length: 17 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 837
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 747
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 748

Rita and Rosie Stevens are only nine and five years old when their widowed mother marries a violent bully. Under pressure from her new husband, she is persuaded to send the girls to an orphanage. It is not long before the powers that be decide to send a consignment of orphans to their sister institution in Australia. Among them, without their family's consent or knowledge, are Rita and Rosie, the throwaway children.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A wonderful novel, beautifully narrated.

  • By Elizabeth on 28-02-17

Well written tear jerker

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-05-19

I enjoyed this audible Title more than I expected to. It is well written and well paced. It did pull a few surprises but kept true and as realistic as possible as a work of fiction can be based on its subject matter. I would recommend this story to anyone who likes a good tear jerking novel of this era.

  • The Silent Wife

  • By: A. S. A. Harrison
  • Narrated by: Emily Pennant-Rea
  • Length: 7 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 195
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 175
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 177

A chilling psychological thriller portraying the disintegration of a relationship down to the deadliest point when murdering your husband suddenly makes perfect sense. A novel perfect for readers of Sophe Hannah, Nicci French, and Barbara Vine. Todd Gilbert and Jodie Brett are in a bad place in their relationship. They've been together for 28 years, and with no children to worry about there has been little to disrupt their affluent Chicago lifestyle. But there has also been little to hold it together, and beneath the surface lie ever-widening cracks.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A real find!

  • By M on 28-08-13

Pretentious,boring, lost the will to listen on

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-01-19

I made many attempts to listen to this dribble but could never get any further than chapter two. Not sure which was worse, the story itself or the voice of the narrator. Either way it’s a thumbs down from me.

  • Sister of Mine

  • A Novel
  • By: Sabra Waldfogel
  • Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
  • Length: 17 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 87
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 75
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 75

When two Union soldiers stumble onto a plantation in northern Georgia on a warm May day in 1864, the last thing they expect is to see the Union flag flying high - or to be greeted by a group of freed slaves and their Jewish mistress. Little do they know that this place has an unusual history. Twelve years prior, Adelaide Mannheim - daughter of Mordecai, the only Jewish planter in the county - was given her own maid, a young slave named Rachel. The two became friends, and soon they discovered a secret.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Brilliant

  • By Tracey on 20-06-18

A bit of a let down

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-01-19

Story starts with promise.
Author has a romantic view of the life of a slave.
A very disappointing end, with a unbelievable coming together of the relationships between the main characters.