LISTENER

Fusgus

Rainhill, United Kingdom
  • 8
  • reviews
  • 8
  • helpful votes
  • 108
  • ratings
  • Beautiful You

  • By: Chuck Palahniuk
  • Narrated by: Carol Monda
  • Length: 7 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 36
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 31
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars 31

Penny Harrigan is a low-level associate in a law firm with no love life. So it comes as a shock when she’s invited to dinner by C. Linus Maxwell, a mega-billionaire. After dinner, he whisks Penny off to a hotel suite in Paris where Penny discovers that she is a test subject for the development of new sex toys. So effective are these devices that women lock themselves in their room and stop coming out...

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Not sure how to rate this.

  • By Gary P. on 01-12-15

Was it a comedy...? There were jokes

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-07-18

Is this a rallying cry or cautionary tale to self satisfying male gamers out there manipulated by the proliferation of sex sites and video games? A brief reference to Hemingways the Sun also rises and Ron Jeremy left me bemused. Is this a comedy, science fiction or erotica? I have no experience of the latter genre so have nothing to compare it to. Well done the narrator who made it through to the end without laughing or implying any tone of irony which is maybe what was required. A very odd read, complete rubbish.

  • Waiting for Godot

  • By: Samuel Beckett
  • Narrated by: Sean Barrett, David Burke, Terence Rigby, and others
  • Length: 2 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 111
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 76
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 75

There is now no doubt that not only is Waiting for Godot the outstanding play of the 20th century, but it is also Samuel Beckett's masterpiece. Yet it is both a popular text to be studied at school and an enigma. The scene is a country road. There is a solitary tree. It is evening. Two tramp-like figures, Vladimir and Estragon, exchange words. Pull off boots. Munch a root vegetable. Two other curious characters enter. And a boy. Time passes. It is all strange yet familiar.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • In a word, Brilliant

  • By Gryfynn on 21-01-17

was that it?

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-12-16

Can't abide dramatisations of books! all the characterisation was highly distracting I had hoped to get the point of the story but just turned off.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • A Tapping at My Door

  • By: David Jackson
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 10 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,278
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,176
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,177

From the best-selling author of Cry Baby, the beginning of a brilliant and gripping police procedural series set in Liverpool, perfect for fans of Peter James and Mark Billingham. A woman at home in Liverpool is disturbed by a persistent tapping at her back door. She's disturbed to discover the culprit is a raven and tries to shoo it away. Which is when the killer strikes. DS Nathan Cody, still bearing the scars of an undercover mission that went horrifyingly wrong, is put on the case.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent Story well worth a listen

  • By Cathryn B. on 11-04-16

Scouse accents from 60s Beatles documentary

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 23-08-16

well at least it got a laugh, the accents and whistling Ssss's. if they had been toned down or brought up to date it would have improved the experience.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Anna Karenina

  • By: Leo Tolstoy
  • Narrated by: David Horovitch
  • Length: 38 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 635
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 454
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 454

Anna Karenina seems to have everything - beauty, wealth, popularity and an adored son. But she feels that her life is empty until the moment she encounters the impetuous officer Count Vronsky.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A gem

  • By Deborah on 12-06-09

My first Tolstoy

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-01-16

a very modern style of writing, enjoyed it very much. excellent performance well worth the time.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rob Roy

  • By: Sir Walter Scott
  • Narrated by: Sean Barrett
  • Length: 16 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 26
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 26
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 26

After rejecting the life his father has laid out for him, Frank Osbaldistone is sent to the North of England to live with his Uncle, where he is to repent his sins. However, when his father's wealth and reputation are threatened, he is drawn to the Scottish Highlands, where he must retrieve a set of stolen documents. It is here that he is pulled into a number of skirmishes relating to the Jacobite uprising of 1715, and where his path frequently crosses with the mysterious maverick outlaw known as Rob Roy....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Romance, drama, action<br />

  • By colin monteith on 14-09-18

Enjoyable but unexpected

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-12-15

I chose this book after reading Graham Greens Travels with my Aunt in which Scots Rob Roy is regularly quoted.
The story is a fast paced adventure with a curious and not overly likable central character Frank Osbaldeston (not Rob Roy) in fact I began to think I had the wrong book as Rob Roy does not officialy arrive on the scene until over half way through the story. Glad I've read it, hard going at times wlthrough some of the scottish dialect sections but reasonably enjoyable.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Touch

  • By: Claire North
  • Narrated by: Peter Kenny
  • Length: 12 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 429
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 401
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 402

He tried to take my life. Instead I took his. It happened so long ago, I've forgotten the details. But he was desperate, hungry enough to kill. As I was dying, my hand touched his.That's when my first switch took place. I looked through the eyes of my killer just in time to see my own body die. Now switching is easy. I can jump from body to body, have any life, be anyone. All it takes is a touch.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Confusing to Follow

  • By Leah on 04-09-15

really loved it

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-06-15

the first chapter put me off a little, i felt it was something that had been done before but as the story progressed I couldn't stop listening. very thougt provoking beyond the story itself which was great.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • The Taste of Wormwood

  • By: Keith McCarthy
  • Narrated by: Seán Barrett
  • Length: 8 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 85
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 77
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 77

Arthur Meadows has just returned home in his HGV from a long trip to southwest Europe, supposedly bringing back a consignment of cloth, yet is actually bringing back something far more deadly. Meanwhile, a young Asian couple are murdered in their small house in the middle of Gloucester, the killings done with ruthless efficiency. Beverley Wharton, now Chief Inspector, does not relish the investigation of the murders because she does not get on with her new sergeant, and because the pathologist Charles Sydenham would not have been her first choice.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Gripping

  • By Amazon Customer on 04-05-15

caught my imagination then dropped it

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-06-15

a good holiday book, defiantly a page turner but as the story progressed everything fell together too easily and conveniently to keep me fully engaged. well performed reading however which helped get me to the end.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1356

  • By: Bernard Cornwell
  • Narrated by: Jack Hawkins
  • Length: 11 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 402
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 312
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 309

Thomas of Hookton, a veteran of Crecy and many other battles, is the leader of a mercenary company of bowmen and men-at-arms who ravage the countryside east of Gascony. Edward, Prince of Wales, later to be known as the Black Prince, is assembling an army to fight the French once more, but before Thomas can join, he must fulfil an urgent task.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Michelin Starred Military Fiction

  • By Simon on 21-03-18

Thomas of Hookton defeated by HarperCollins

Overall
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-04-13

The story of Thomas of Hookton continues as his reputation, wealth and power increase. The story is a wonderfully fast paced tale of adventure laced with fascinating historical detail. Mr Cornwell does not disappoint with this episode in the life of Thomas of Hookton... However the telling of the story was a huge disappointment after the three earlier Grail Quest Books read by Tim Pigott-Smith. The reading seemed flat and disinterested with many irritating repeated mispronunciations. At times character voices became confused with many seeming poorly thought out altogether. I'm sure Jack Hawkins is capable of better and feel he was probably let down by the production team who appear not to have listened to what he was recording. Not HarperCollins Publishers Limited finest hour! The book deserves a full five stars and on reflection I wish I'd downloaded the kindle edition and read it myself.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful