Michael Jacobs

Michael Jacobs

Michael Jacobs was for many years Director of the counselling and psychotherapy courses in the Department of Adult Education, University of Leicester. In developing those courses he published a number of key texts which are used in other training courses - notably The Presenting Past (Open University Press, 2012, 4th edition) and Psychodynamic Counselling in Action (Sage, 2017 5th edition). He has also written a number of other books (Sigmund Freud and D.W Winnicott in the Sage series) and edited three series for Open University Press - such as Core Concepts in Therapy. More recently he has written two books in the UKCP/Karnac series, Shakespeare on the Couch, and Our Desire of Unrest. Nowadays Michael has a small supervision practice and has recently completed his professional autobiography for the Open University Press, published in January 2018: Fifty Years of Counselling: My Presenting Past. He is a visiting Professor at Bournemouth University, where he does a small amount of teaching; he still runs workshops, and works with a number of enterprises related to counselling and psychotherapy. He has recently been awarded aaPh.D by the Open University for his thesis on psychoanalytic interpretations of Shakespeare's A Midsummer Night's Dream. Contact for workshops at 12 Atlantic Road, Swanage BH19 2EG.
Read more Read less

Not an Audible member?

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Best Sellers

Are you an author?

Help us improve our Author Pages by updating your bibliography and submitting a new or current image and biography.