LISTENER

Amazon Customer

  • 9
  • reviews
  • 7
  • helpful votes
  • 20
  • ratings
  • The Water's Edge

  • By: Karin Fossum
  • Narrated by: David Rintoul
  • Length: 6 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 40
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 31
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 30

Walking through the woods one warm September day, Reinhardt and Kristine Ris pass a man who is in a state of agitation. Unusually in a small town, he does not return Kristine’s smile and drives off in a hurry. Near the end of their walk they make a terrible discovery: lying in a cluster of trees is the lifeless body of a young boy. It is a moment that will change their lives for ever.Inspector Sejer is called to the scene, but can find no immediate cause of death.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • count not stop listening

  • By fenella on 10-10-14

Not my favourite book

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-03-18

It deals with child abduction and pedophilia. It is not a subject I would choose to read but I have the full set of Karin Fossum to read so I hope that this is the only one on this subject.

  • The Murder of Harriet Krohn

  • By: Karin Fossum
  • Narrated by: Sean Barrett
  • Length: 7 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 12
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 11

Charlo Torp has problems. He’s grieving for his late wife, he’s lost his job, and gambling debts have alienated him from his teenage daughter. Desperate, his solution is to rob an elderly woman of her money and silverware. But Harriet Krohn fights back, and Charlo loses control. Wracked with guilt, Charlo attempts to rebuild his life. But the police are catching up with him, and Inspector Konrad Sejer has never lost a case yet.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Told from the killer's point of view.

  • By Amazon Customer on 27-03-18

Told from the killer's point of view.

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-03-18

A bit different to the usual Inspector Sejer novels.
"How do you live with what you've just done"!
I managed to finish this book but I don't think it's one of her best and the change in narrator didn't help.

  • Black Seconds

  • By: Karin Fossum
  • Narrated by: David Rintoul
  • Length: 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 26
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 20
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 19

Ida Joner gets on her brand-new bike and sets off to buy sweets. A good-natured, happy girl, she is looking forward to her 10th birthday. Thirty-five minutes after Ida should have come home, Helga Joner, her mother, starts to worry. She phones the shop and various friends, but no one has seen her daughter.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazing, gripping, sad

  • By Catherine on 02-08-15

Read books in order!

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-03-18

IKarin Fossum's books need to be read in order, after reading ' The Indian Bride ' one of the unanswered questions has been answered when reading this book. Konrad Serjer interviews with potential suspects show empathy and compassion, it's a direct story line and I couldn't put it down.

  • Calling Out for You

  • By: Karin Fossum
  • Narrated by: David Rintoul
  • Length: 9 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 29
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 22
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 23

Gunder Jomann, a quiet, middle-aged man from a peaceful Norwegian community, thinks his life has been made complete when he returns from a trip to India a married man. But on the day his Indian bride is due to join him, he is called to the hospital to his sister's bedside. The local taxi driver sent instead to meet the bride at the airport returns without her. Then the town is shocked by the news of an Indian woman found bludgeoned to death in a nearby meadow.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Beautiful.

  • By John on 17-09-13

Strange book

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-03-18

Many interesting characters, many suspects, I had to listen to the last 2 chapters again as the mediocre ending confused me. I prefer a perfect conclusion with not many loose ends.

  • He Who Fears the Wolf

  • By: Karin Fossum
  • Narrated by: David Rintoul
  • Length: 8 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 26
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 20
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 20

A 12-year-old boy runs wildly into his local police station claiming to have seen Halldis Horn's brutally murdered corpse. Errki Johrma, an escaped psychiatric patient and known town misfit, was sighted at the scene disappearing into the woods. The next morning the local bank is robbed at gunpoint. Making his escape the robber takes a hostage and flees and, once again, a suspect takes to the woods. As the felon's plans begin to fall apart he is, in contrast to his quiet hostage, rapidly losing his control and power.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • excellent

  • By L on 09-10-12

"well constructed "

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-02-18

Very interesting characters, well worth a listen . I advocate reading these books in order.

  • The Boy I Love

  • By: Lynda Bellingham
  • Narrated by: Sue Holderness
  • Length: 12 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 10
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 10
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 9

In the summer of '82, Sally Thomas begins her first season as an Assistant Stage Manager at the beautiful theatre in Crewe. Flung into this new world, one of the first lessons she learns is that the actors need no tuition in the art of stage-fighting, since they are quite adept at stabbing each other in the back. And when her best friend Jeremy falls suddenly and dangerous in love, Sally has to grow up - fast.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Just not for me

  • By Amazon Customer on 03-11-17

Just not for me

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-11-17

Dissapointed with this book, the theatrical storyline is not my cup of tea and over annunciated by the reader.

  • The Scarred Woman

  • Department Q, Book 7
  • By: Jussi Adler-Olsen
  • Narrated by: Saul Reichlin
  • Length: 17 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 535
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 499
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 496

The international number one best seller returns with his most captivating and suspenseful novel yet - perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. In a Copenhagen park, the body of an elderly woman is discovered. Though the case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved homicide from over a decade ago, the police cannot find any connection between the two victims. Across town a group of young women are being hunted down. The attacks seem random, but could these acts of violence be related?

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Infantilising narration

  • By Anthony on 23-09-17

Dept.Q is going downhill

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-10-17

I cant believe this book is written by the same author, this book is all over the place and the extremely poor narration added to the disappointment.Saul Reichlin is a slower more enunciated narrator than Steven Pacey, Karl and Asad no longer sound the same! I have enjoyed all the previous Department Q books listen to them over & over again, please re-record book 6&7 with Steven Pacey or make sure he reads your next book as you are losing fans.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • I Let You Go

  • By: Clare Mackintosh
  • Narrated by: David Thorpe, Julia Barrie
  • Length: 13 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,096
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,854
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,838

A tragic accident. It all happened so quickly. She couldn't have prevented it. Could she? In a split second, Jenna Gray's world descends into a nightmare. Her only hope of moving on is to walk away from everything she knows to start afresh. Desperate to escape, Jenna moves to a remote cottage on the Welsh coast, but she is haunted by her fears, her grief, and her memories of a cruel November night that changed her life forever. Slowly Jenna begins to glimpse the potential for happiness in her future.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fabulous debut!

  • By Ann D on 09-05-15

"I say! "

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-04-16

"I say", "He says", "He said" at the end of a sentences was irritating for me but overall I enjoyed the book and storyline .

  • The Hanging Girl

  • Department Q, Book 6
  • By: Jussi Adler-Olsen
  • Narrated by: Graeme Malcolm
  • Length: 15 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 689
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 646
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 643

In the middle of a hard-won morning nap in the basement of police headquarters, Carl Mørck, head of Department Q, receives a call from a colleague working on the Danish island of Bornholm. Carl is dismissive at first, but then he receives some shocking news. Carl then has no choice but to lead Department Q into the tragic cold case of a vivacious 17-year-old girl who vanished from school, only to be found dead hanging high up in a tree.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Narrator???

  • By Alexandra Allan on 16-12-15

Consistently good

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-03-16

I love all the books from this author and can't wait for the next one.