LISTENER

Tracey

  • 40
  • reviews
  • 10
  • helpful votes
  • 64
  • ratings
  • Winter Solstice

  • By: Rosamunde Pilcher
  • Narrated by: Jilly Bond
  • Length: 17 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 73
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 67
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 67

Elfrida Phipps loves her new life in her pretty Hampshire village. She has a tiny cottage, her faithful dog, Horace, and the friendship of the neighbouring Blundells - particularly Oscar - to ensure that her days include companionship as well as independence. But an unforeseen tragedy upsets Elfrida's tranquillity: Oscar's wife and daughter are killed in a terrible car crash, and he finds himself homeless when his stepchildren claim their dead mother's inheritance.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Marvellous

  • By Penelope on 20-02-18

A Cosy, Fabulous Read!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-02-18

A very interesting story read by a wonderfully talented narrator. A cosy book to curl up with. I'll be looking for more from Rosamunde Pilcher and more by this narrator. Sad to have finished!

  • Little Girl Lost

  • DS Lucy Black, Book 1
  • By: Brian McGilloway
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lennon
  • Length: 8 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 485
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 429
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 425

Midwinter. A child is found wandering in an ancient woodland, her hands covered in blood. But it is not her own. Unwilling - or unable - to speak, the only person she seems to trust is the young officer who rescued her, Detective Sergeant Lucy Black. Soon afterwards, DS Black finds herself moved from a high-profile case involving the kidnapping of another girl, a prominent businessman’s teenage daughter.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • good story very well narrated.

  • By J on 15-12-14

Gripping yet Poignant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-01-18

A well narrated, gripping and yet poignant story of mystery, crime and human fragility that keeps you listening until the end. I'll be looking ford more of these books.

  • Liar

  • By: K. L. Slater
  • Narrated by: Lucy Price-Lewis
  • Length: 8 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 796
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 715
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 713

How far would you go to protect your family? Single dad Ben is doing his best to raise his children, with the help of his devoted mother, Judi. And then Ben meets Amber. Everyone thinks this is a perfect match for Ben, but Judi isn't so sure.... There's just something about Amber that doesn't add up. Ben can't see why his mother dislikes his new girlfriend. And Amber doesn't want Judi anywhere near her new family. Amber just wants Ben and the children.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Superb narration and tense plot

  • By Lee on 09-07-17

Couldn't Put Down

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-12-17

Great story and narrated well. Hard to put down. The sub plot was a bit odd because although it was mostly tied up in the end there were a few loose ends. I really didn't like the twist at the end though which was a bit disappointing.

  • Practice Makes Perfect

  • The Larkford Series, Book 2
  • By: Penny Parkes
  • Narrated by: Anna Bentinck
  • Length: 18 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 357
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 322
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 322

The hilarious and heartfelt new novel from the best-selling author of Out of Practice! The Practice at Larkford has suddenly been thrust under the spotlight - and its nomination as an NHS Model Surgery is causing the team major headaches. Dr Holly Graham should be basking in the glow of her new romance with fellow doctor Taffy - but she is worried that the team is prioritising plaudits over patients, and her favourite resident, the irreverent and entertaining Elsie, is facing a difficult diagnosis.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Loved it

  • By Marjory L. on 11-08-17

Lovely, Easy Read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-09-17

A delightful story once again; picking up the lives of the people in book one. Great story line with an interesting plot keeping up the interest levels. Drama, humour, love surrounding the Larkford country medical practice. Superb performance by the narrator. I'll be looking for the next book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Child

  • An Audible Drama
  • By: Sebastian Fitzek
  • Narrated by: Rupert Penry-Jones, Jack Boulter, Emilia Fox, and others
  • Length: 6 hrs and 56 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,725
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,607
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,612

My name is Simon. I’m 10 years old. I’m a serial killer. Robert Stern (Rupert Penry-Jones), a successful defense attorney, doesn’t know what lies in store for him when he agrees to meet a new client in a derelict estate on the outskirts of Berlin. Stern is more than surprised, when his old love interest and professional nurse Carina (Emilia Fox) presents him a ten year old boy as his new client. Simon (Jack Boulter), a terminally ill child, who is convinced he has murdered many men in a previous life.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Like watching a great thriller on TV...

  • By jo on 14-08-14

Thrilling Story

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-09-17

Loved the plot line - very suspenseful although I'm not a great fan of dramatisations as some of the dialogue tends to get lost with the background noises at times. The boy, Simon was good but slightly stilted at times. The music as the end of each chapter or section was a too long. I did really enjoy this though and found it hard to put down.

  • What Happened That Night

  • By: Sheila O'Flanagan
  • Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
  • Length: 13 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 154
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 136
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 135

Lola has a plan. She's going to escape the village she grew up in and make it in the big city. She's smart enough - but she's also headstrong. When, one evening, she has to make a life-changing choice, she decides quickly, and without the full facts. But there's no way back. Bey is every bit her mother's daughter. An impulsive decision puts her in the path of great danger. She's left wary of trusting her own judgement ever again. Then, one night, she's standing in front of the man she loves, with her own choice to make.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fantastic and interesting story

  • By SEREN on 15-07-17

A Good Read

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-08-17

Interesting plot divided by the two main characters, Lola and her illegitimate daughter, Bey; who grows up to follow her father's snobbish family in the jewellery business on her own terms. Managed to finish it after putting it downa few times as I found it slightly stilted and slow in parts but ultimately enjoyed it. Narrated well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Missing Wife

  • By: Sheila O'Flanagan
  • Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
  • Length: 12 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 530
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 480
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 477

Fans of Marian Keyes, Lisa Jewell and Santa Montefiore will love Sunday Times best-selling author Sheila O'Flanagan's The Missing Wife. Have you ever wanted to disappear? When Imogen Naughton vanishes, everyone who knows her is shocked. She has a perfect marriage. Her handsome husband treats her like a princess. She's always said how lucky she is. So why has she left? And how will she survive without Vince?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fantastic

  • By Julie on 02-09-16

Lovely Summer Holiday Read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-08-17

Really enjoyed this book from start to finish. A nice easy pace throughout with an interesting plot and good narrator.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Emerald Brooch

  • The Celtic Brooch, Book 4
  • By: Katherine Lowry Logan
  • Narrated by: Teri Schnaubelt
  • Length: 15 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 11
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10

West Point graduate Kenzie Wallis-Manning planned to make the Army her career, but after being severely wounded during her second deployment, and suffering from PTSD, she retires from the military and enrolls in law school. While studying in England, she receives a package containing an emerald brooch with a Gaelic inscription. As soon as she sounds out the words engraved on the stone, she is whisked back in time to May 28, 1944.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Rich Time Travel Tale

  • By Tracey on 02-06-17

Rich Time Travel Tale

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-06-17

Very good follow on to previous books in this series. A little too much inner dialogue and could be a bit more pacey but overall an interesting and enjoyable listen. Loved the characters which were well drawn and historically accurate with good plots and interesting subplots. Narrator good and got the different accents and personalities well enough to keep the story flowing nicely. A good read.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Last MacKlenna

  • The Celtic Brooch, Book 2
  • By: Katherine Lowry Logan
  • Narrated by: Teri Schnaubelt
  • Length: 13 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 10
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 9
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 9

Always on the go and racing toward the next challenge, Meredith Montgomery is the kind of woman who has it all - or at least that's what she wants everyone to believe. But when a serendipitous twist of fate at a quaint B&B brings her face-to-face with Elliott Fraser, a wealthy and respected Scotsman, Meredith might just slow down for the first time in her life.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Well Worth a Listen

  • By Reader on 23-01-18

An Intriguing Tale

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-05-17

Expertly narrated tale with ghosts, intrigue, murder mystery, love and surprises. A very enjoyable series which followed me to the gym, shops, doing housework, in the garden and bed! Looking forward to the next one!

  • The Sapphire Brooch

  • The Celtic Brooch, Book 3
  • By: Katherine Lowry Logan
  • Narrated by: Teri Schnaubelt
  • Length: 22 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 15
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13

Reenactor Dr. Charlotte Mallory has spent years perfecting the portrayal of her ancestor, Civil War Confederate surgeon Major Carlton Mallory. In the middle of the 150th anniversary reenactment of the Battle of Cedar Creek, she is hurled back in time and lands in the middle of the battle itself, and from there is catapulted into dangers that threaten her life and shatter her heart.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • excellent book!

  • By mal on 18-12-15

Unputdownable...

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-05-17

Katherine created well-drawn, realistic characters; weaving a tantalising tale of believable time travel. Hard to predict was was going to happen next, making it difficult to stop listening. Cleverly written, and good narrating have made it a favourite in my collection.