Cemetery of Forgotten Books
Books in series3
(4.2 based on 854 ratings)
  • 1
    The Shadow of the Wind | Carlos Ruiz Zafon

    The Shadow of the Wind

    • UNABRIDGED (17 hrs and 38 mins)
    • By Carlos Ruiz Zafon
    • Narrated By Daniel Philpott
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready

    Hidden in the heart of the old city of Barcelona is the 'cemetery of lost books', a labyrinthine library of obscure and forgotten titles that have long gone out of print. To this library, a man brings his 10-year-old son Daniel one cold morning in 1945. Daniel is allowed to choose one book from the shelves and pulls out 'La Sombra del Viento' by Julian Carax. But as he grows up, several people seem inordinately interested in his find.


    I came upon this book by chance - I liked the look of the cover - it was that simple. That was where the simplicity ended. What an astonishing read...Show More »

    Reviewed on 23 December 2012 by Lesley (Isle of Skye, United Kingdom)
  • 2
    The Angel's Game | Carlos Ruiz Zafón

    The Angel's Game

    • UNABRIDGED (15 hrs and 24 mins)
    • By Carlos Ruiz Zafón
    • Narrated By Dan Stevens

    In an abandoned mansion at the heart of Barcelona, a young man, David Martín, makes his living by writing sensationalist novels under a pseudonym. The survivor of a troubled childhood, he has taken refuge in the world of books, and spends his nights spinning baroque tales about the city's underworld. But perhaps his dark imaginings are not as strange as they seem, for in a locked room deep within the house lie photographs and letters hinting at the mysterious death of the previous owner.

    The pre-shadow

    The author spoke recently on BBC radio about there being 4 interlocking stories planned in the Shadow of the Wind series. Here is the second and it co..Show More »

    Reviewed on 08 July 2009 by Nick (Stevenage, United Kingdom)
  • 3
    The Prisoner of Heaven | Carlos Ruiz Zafon

    The Prisoner of Heaven

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 22 mins)
    • By Carlos Ruiz Zafon
    • Narrated By Peter Kenny
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready

    The Prisoner of Heaven returns to the world of the Cemetery of Forgotten Books and the Sempere & Sons bookshop. It begins just before Christmas in Barcelona in 1957, one year after Daniel and Bea from The Shadow of the Wind have married. They now have a son, Julian, and are living with Daniel's father at Sempere & Sons.

    Fermin still works with them and is busy preparing for his wedding to Bernarda in the New Year. However something appears to be bothering him.

    Fascinating prequel

    It lived up to the high standards of The Shadow of the Wind which I had read rather then listened to and which is great favourite of mine and those to..Show More »

    Reviewed on 08 December 2013 by Susan (Clitheroe, United Kingdom)