Abhorsen/The Old Kingdom
Books in series6
UNABRIDGED
(4.6 based on 1069 ratings)
  • 1
    Sabriel | Garth Nix

    Sabriel

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 28 mins)
    • By Garth Nix
    • Narrated By Tim Curry
    Overall
    (353)
    Performance
    (238)
    Story
    (238)

    Ever since she was a tiny child, Sabriel has lived outside the walls of the Old Kingdom, away from the random power of Free Magic, and away from the Dead who won't stay dead. But now her father, the Mage Abhorsen, is missing, and to find him Sabriel must cross back into that world.

    An excellent story for parent and child

    My 13 year old son and I have recently discovered Garth Nix so I decided to add this story to my i-pod library.I was not disappointed. Nix creates an ..Show More »

    Reviewed on 31 January 2006 by Janice (sawbridgeworth, Herts, United Kingdom)
  • 2
    Lirael: Daughter of the Clayr | Garth Nix

    Lirael: Daughter of the Clayr

    • UNABRIDGED (14 hrs and 43 mins)
    • By Garth Nix
    • Narrated By Tim Curry
    Overall
    (227)
    Performance
    (141)
    Story
    (137)

    Lirael has never felt like a true daughter of the Clayr. Abandoned by her mother, ignorant of her father's identity, Lirael resembles no one else in her large extended family living in the Clayr's glacier. She doesn't even have the Sight, the ability to See into the present and possibly futures, that is the very birthright of the Clayr.

    Loved it!

    Having loved the books I got these audio versions and haven't been disappointed! The narrator does a fantastic job and I have had many happy hours lis..Show More »

    Reviewed on 09 February 2011 by Ms. H. Morris (UK)
  • 3
    Abhorsen | Garth Nix

    Abhorsen

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 16 mins)
    • By Garth Nix
    • Narrated By Tim Curry
    Overall
    (264)
    Performance
    (172)
    Story
    (171)

    Before she went to join Sam and Mogget downstairs, Lirael paused for a moment to look at herself in the tall silver mirror that hung on the wall of her room. The image that faced her bore little resemblance to the Second Assistant Librarian of the Clayr. She saw a warlike and grim young woman, dark hair bound back with a silver cord rather than hanging free to disguise her face. She no longer wore her librarian's waistcoat, and she had a long Nehima at her side rather than a library-issue dagger.

    An Incredible Listen

    This book is beautifully written, as is always the case with Garth Nix. I did not expect to find an audio version which even began to portray the beau..Show More »

    Reviewed on 23 December 2012 by Mr (Redruth, United Kingdom)
  • 3.5
    Not Available on Audible.co.uk Why not?

    There are many reasons why a book might be unavailable.


    Sometimes a book goes temporarily out of print - and sometimes no audio version has ever been recorded. Audible wants to give you the most complete selection we can and we'll keep adding series and filling in gaps as quickly as possible.


  • 4
    Clariel: The Lost Abhorsen | Garth Nix

    Clariel: The Lost Abhorsen

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 55 mins)
    • By Garth Nix
    • Narrated By Graeme Malcolm
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (157)
    Performance
    (145)
    Story
    (145)

    Award-winning author Garth Nix returns to the Old Kingdom with a thrilling prequel complete with dark magic, royalty, dangerous action, a strong heroine, and flawless world-building. This epic fantasy adventure is destined to be a classic, and is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.

    A Gleeful Return to the Old Kingdom

    I loved getting back into the lore and magic system of the Charter. It is a good standalone novel as it has left me wanting more and I am now listenin..Show More »

    Reviewed on 20 October 2014 by Jonny ()
  • 5
    Goldenhand: The Old Kingdom, Book 5 | Garth Nix

    Goldenhand: The Old Kingdom, Book 5

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 34 mins)
    • By Garth Nix
    • Narrated By Heather Wilds
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (68)
    Performance
    (65)
    Story
    (65)

    Lirael lost one of her hands in the binding of Orannis, but now she has a new hand, one of gilded steel and Charter Magic. On a dangerous journey, Lirael returns to her childhood home, the Clayr's Glacier, where she was once a Second Assistant Librarian. There a young woman from the distant North brings her a message from her long-dead mother, Arielle. It is a warning about the Witch with No Face. But who is the Witch, and what is she planning?

    Love the Old Kingdom but can't go on

    I love this storyine by Garth Nix, and Tim Curry's performance of the original trilogy is stupendous. But Heather Wilds, I'm afraid, was not having a ..Show More »

    Reviewed on 23 October 2016 by Philip (Exeter, United Kingdom)