DS Aector McAvoy
Books in series6
Abridged/Unabridged
(4.3 based on 243 ratings)
  • 1
    Dark Winter: Aector McAvoy #1 | David Mark

    Dark Winter: Aector McAvoy #1

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 49 mins)
    • By David Mark
    • Narrated By Toby Longworth
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (100)
    Performance
    (91)
    Story
    (90)

    DS Aector McAvoy is a man with a troubled past. His unwavering belief in justicehas made him an outsider in the police force he serves.When three seemingly unconnected people are brutally murdered in the weeksbefore Christmas, the police must work quickly to stop more deaths. It is onlyMcAvoy who can see the connection between the victims. A killer is playing God -and McAvoy must find a way to stop the deadly game.Toby Longworth brings David Mark's Richard and Judy listed bestseller to audio.

    Excellent rainy afternoon listening.

    yes.

    Narrator was great. Just the right sort of weariness, and down-troddeness for the story, combined with a cosiness that drew me in. Per..Show More »

    Reviewed on 21 August 2013 by Darkin (Surrey)
  • 2
    Original Skin | David Mark

    Original Skin

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 32 mins)
    • By David Mark
    • Narrated By Toby Longworth
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (40)
    Performance
    (36)
    Story
    (36)

    Simon and Suzie are two pleasure seekers defined by their flamboyant tattoos. Peter Tressider is a politician on the fast track to the top. DS Aector McAvoy is a policeman with scars to his body and career.Each is marked in their own way. And soon each will be branded by the same sinister foe. Original Skin is a crime novel that leaves a permanent impression.

    Very easy and enjoyable

    The perfect story to while away time. Absorbing, but not taxing. Hours flew without me noticing. This is the second of Mark's books I've had on audibl..Show More »

    Reviewed on 05 April 2014 by Darkin (Surrey)
  • 3
    Sorrow Bound | David Mark

    Sorrow Bound

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 12 mins)
    • By David Mark
    • Narrated By Toby Longworth
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (42)
    Performance
    (37)
    Story
    (37)

    Philippa Longman will do anything for her family. Roisin McAvoy will do anything for her friends. DS Aector McAvoy will do anything for his wife.Yet each has an unknown enemy - one that will do anything to destroy them. Sorrow Bound is a powerful police procedural thriller about how those with the biggest hearts make the easiest targets; and how the corrosive venom of evil can dissolve the bonds between good people, until all they are bound by is grief.

    Part 3 getting even better

    As with the previous books a number of new and ongoing stories are skillfully blended. Complete in its own right it also sets up part 4 wonderfully...Show More »

    Reviewed on 07 September 2016 by Simon1971 ()
  • 4
    Taking Pity | David Mark

    Taking Pity

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 4 mins)
    • By David Mark
    • Narrated By Toby Longworth
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (34)
    Performance
    (31)
    Story
    (32)

    They have taken DS Aector McAvoy's family. They have taken DCI Colin Ray's foundation. They have taken DS Trish Pharaoh's fight. Now the ruthless criminal network that has tightened its stranglehold on Hull intends to take everything that remains from those who dare to stand in its way. Taking Pity is a police procedural thriller that pulls no punches. It is the story of three officers who can take no more and a merciless nemesis that takes no chances, no prisoners and no pity.

    Good story - poor structure

    Great idea, great narration but for me there were to many jumps between characters and plots that were poorly signposted.

    Reviewed on 25 February 2016 by John (Telford, United Kingdom)
  • 5
    Dead Pretty: The 5th DS McAvoy Novel | David Mark

    Dead Pretty: The 5th DS McAvoy Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 21 mins)
    • By David Mark
    • Narrated By Toby Longworth
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (27)
    Performance
    (25)
    Story
    (25)

    One girl's missing. One girl's dead. McAvoy can't let either of them go.... The fifth stunning novel in the DS McAvoy series by best-selling author David Mark, perfect for fans of Val McDermid and Peter Robinson. Hannah Kelly has been missing for nine months. Ava Delaney has been dead for five days. One girl to find. One girl to avenge. And DS Aector McAvoy won't let either of them go until justice can be done. But some people have their own ideas of what justice means.

    Confusing...

    This story was all over the place which made it confusing. Least liked out of all the books.

    Reviewed on 29 February 2016 by clare stewart ()
  • 6

    Cruel Mercy: The 6th DS McAvoy Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs)
    • By David Mark
    • Narrated By Toby Longworth
    Overall
    (0)
    Performance
    (0)
    Story
    (0)

    Three Irishmen went to America. One's dead. One's as good as. One is missing.... The missing man is Valentine Teague. Petty criminal, bare-knuckle fighter - and DS Aector McAvoy's brother-in-law. Back home, Val's being held responsible for the blood spilt in the snowy woods of upstate New York.

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.