John Shakespeare
Books in series7
Abridged/Unabridged
(4.3 based on 506 ratings)
  • 1
    Martyr | Rory Clements

    Martyr

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 35 mins)
    • By Rory Clements
    • Narrated By Peter Wickham
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (108)
    Performance
    (89)
    Story
    (91)

    Drake: Shakespeare is ordered to protect him. With Drake on land fitting out his ships, he is frighteningly vulnerable. If he dies, England will be open to invasion. In a London rife with rumour, Shakespeare must decide which leads to follow, which to ignore. When a high-born young woman is found mutilated and murdered at an illicit printing house, it is political gunpowder - and he has no option but to investigate.

    Good historical detective story

    This is a detective story based in Elizabeth 1 reign based on some historical facts. I Really enjoyed the way the novel and the history mixed together..Show More »

    Reviewed on 13 April 2013 by Steve (SHIFNAL, United Kingdom)
  • 2
    Revenger | Rory Clements

    Revenger

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 1 min)
    • By Rory Clements
    • Narrated By Peter Wickham
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (78)
    Performance
    (71)
    Story
    (70)

    1592. England and Spain are at war, yet there is peril at home, too. The death of her trusted spymaster Sir Francis Walsingham has left Queen Elizabeth vulnerable. Conspiracies multiply. The quiet life of John Shakespeare is shattered by a summons from Robert Cecil, the cold but deadly young statesman who dominated the last years of the Queen's long reign, insisting Shakespeare re-enter government service. His mission: to find vital papers, now in the possession of the Earl of Essex.

    could be better

    The narrator doesn't appear to have a grasp of the correct accents. Irish and Scottish ascents are very different and this does let the narration down..Show More »

    Reviewed on 22 February 2016 by Simon ()
  • 3
    Prince | Rory Clements

    Prince

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 4 mins)
    • By Rory Clements
    • Narrated By Jonathan Aris
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (55)
    Performance
    (50)
    Story
    (49)

    Spring 1593. England is a powder keg of rumour and fear. Plague rages, famine is rife, the ageing Queen's couriers scheme: Elizabeth's Golden Age is truly tarnished. Meanwhile Spain watches and waits - and plots. Into this turmoil a small cart clatters through the streets of London, carrying a deadly load. It is the first in a wave of horrific bombing attacks on the Dutch immigrant community that will change John Shakespeare's life for ever.

    Tut tut

    Sorry folks, I was a bit bored with this story.......I kept falling asleep as it didn't come to life until Chapter 20 or around there....

    Reviewed on 08 March 2016 by Barbara Steffensen (UK)
  • 4
    Traitor | Rory Clements

    Traitor

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 40 mins)
    • By Rory Clements
    • Narrated By Gareth Armstrong
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (60)
    Performance
    (53)
    Story
    (53)

    The Elizabethan navy has a secret weapon: an optical instrument so powerful it gives England unassailable superiority at sea. Spain will stop at nothing to steal it and seize the two men who understand its secrets - William Ivory, the 'Queen's Eye', and the magician Dr Dee. With a second Armada threatened, intelligencer John Shakespeare is sent north to escort Dr Dee to safety. But he finds Dee's host, the Earl of Derby, dying in agony, apparently poisoned.

    Traitor - left wanting more

    I thoroughly enjoyed the book. A gripping story line and believable characters. The narration was perfectly balanced and the voices well matched to th..Show More »

    Reviewed on 13 April 2013 by Mr (Sanderstead, United Kingdom)
  • 5
    The Heretics | Rory Clements

    The Heretics

    • UNABRIDGED (11 hrs and 38 mins)
    • By Rory Clements
    • Narrated By Gareth Armstrong
    Overall
    (59)
    Performance
    (56)
    Story
    (58)

    From Rory Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, comes THE HERETICS, the fifth in his acclaimed John Shakespeare Elizabethan mystery series. 'Does for Elizabeth's reign what C. J. Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday Times.

    Loved it

    While laying back on my bed on a cold Scottish winter's afternoon and letting my mind soak up the days of yore......great stuff.....brings the imagina..Show More »

    Reviewed on 12 February 2016 by Barbara Steffensen (UK)
  • 6
    The Queen's Man | Rory Clements

    The Queen's Man

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 44 mins)
    • By Rory Clements
    • Narrated By Gareth Armstrong
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (48)
    Performance
    (45)
    Story
    (45)

    From Rory Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, comes The Queen's Man, the sixth in his acclaimed bestselling John Shakespeare Elizabethan mystery series. England is a Judas nest of conspiracyIt is 1582, and the conflict between Protestant and Catholic threatens to tear the country in two. While Queen Elizabeth I holds the reins of power, there are those whose loyalty lies with her imprisoned cousin, Mary Queen of Scots.

    Disappointing and unbelievable

    Found the characters overblown, the story confusing, and this writer has obviously never travelled from Stratford to Sheffield. If he had, he would re..Show More »

    Reviewed on 25 March 2014 by judith (Garstang, United Kingdom)
  • 7
    Holy Spy: John Shakespeare 7 | Rory Clements

    Holy Spy: John Shakespeare 7

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 10 mins)
    • By Rory Clements
    • Narrated By Gareth Armstrong
    Overall
    (98)
    Performance
    (90)
    Story
    (91)

    For fans of C J Sansom and S J Parris, Holy Spy features the Queen's Intelligencer John Shakespeare in the latest of Rory Clements' acclaimed and best-selling series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, "does for Elizabeth's reign what C.J. Sansom does for Henry VIII's" (Sunday Times). In London's smoky taverns, a conspiracy is brewing: a group of wealthy, young Catholic dissidents plot to assassinate Elizabeth and free Mary Queen of Scots.

    Excellent as always
    Reviewed on 15 March 2015 by Dr (Dublin, Ireland)