DS Heckenburg
Books in series5
UNABRIDGED
(4.4 based on 1708 ratings)
  • 1
    Stalkers | Paul Finch

    Stalkers

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 12 mins)
    • By Paul Finch
    • Narrated By Paul Thornley
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (400)
    Performance
    (363)
    Story
    (360)

    Time's up. You're Next. "All he had to do was name the woman he wanted. It was that easy. They would do all the hard work. "Detective Sergeant Mark 'Heck' Heckenburg is investigating the disappearance of 38 different women. Each one was happy and successful until they vanished without a trace. Desperate to find her missing sister, Lauren Wraxford seeks out Heck's help.

    A Cliffhanger to the end...

    gripping and twisting storyline

    Reviewed on 24 August 2013 by sandra (Warwickshire, England)
  • 2
    Sacrifice: DS Heckenburg, Book 2 | Paul Finch

    Sacrifice: DS Heckenburg, Book 2

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 14 mins)
    • By Paul Finch
    • Narrated By Paul Thornley
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (301)
    Performance
    (278)
    Story
    (279)

    A vicious serial killer is holding the country to ransom, publicly - and gruesomely - murdering his victims. When a man is burnt alive on a bonfire, it seems like a tragic Guy Fawkes Night accident. But with the discovery of a young couple on Valentine's Day - each with an arrow through the heart - something more sinister becomes clear. A "calendar killer" is on the loose. Detective Mark "Heck" Heckenburg is up against it. With a rising body count and the public's eyes on him, Heck must find the killer before he executes more victims....

    Fantastic, totally absorbing!

    Believable, narration as always made this book again - Paul Thornley

    Reviewed on 17 October 2013 by James (Dog Lane, Kelsall, United Kingdom)
  • 3
    The Killing Club | Paul Finch

    The Killing Club

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 29 mins)
    • By Paul Finch
    • Narrated By Paul Thornley
    Overall
    (258)
    Performance
    (235)
    Story
    (238)

    The perfect listen for fans of Stuart Macbride and Luther. DS Mark 'Heck' Heckenburg is used to bloodbaths. But nothing can prepare him for this. Heck's most dangerous case to date is open again. Two years ago, countless victims were found dead - massacred at the hands of Britain's most terrifying gang. When brutal murders start happening across the country, it's clear the gang is at work again. Their victims are killed in cold blood, in broad daylight, and by any means necessary. And Heck knows it won't be long before they come for him.

    Engrossing with great detail

    Yes. The horror in this one is of armed violence and fear of betrayal, and so would suit most crime readers.

    Reviewed on 18 August 2014 by Graeme from Preston ()
  • 4
    Dead Man Walking | Paul Finch

    Dead Man Walking

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 16 mins)
    • By Paul Finch
    • Narrated By Paul Thornley
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (254)
    Performance
    (235)
    Story
    (235)

    The fourth unputdownable book in the DS Mark Heckenburg series. A killer thriller for fans of Stuart MacBride and Luther, from the #1 ebook bestseller Paul Finch. His worst nightmare is back...As a brutal winter takes hold of the Lake District, a prolific serial killer stalks the fells. 'The Stranger' has returned and for DS Mark 'Heck' Heckenburg, the signs are all too familiar.

    Poor

    A good narrator who did very well with such a poor story to work with. I applaud him for it.

    Reviewed on 10 March 2015 by Ian ()
  • 5
    Hunted | Paul Finch

    Hunted

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 55 mins)
    • By Paul Finch
    • Narrated By Paul Thornley
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (495)
    Performance
    (464)
    Story
    (461)

    Get hooked on Heck: the maverick detective who knows no boundaries. A grisly whodunit you won't be able to put down, perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride and TV series Luther. Heck needs to watch his back. Because someone's watching him... Across the south of England, a series of bizarre but fatal accidents are taking place. So when a local businessman survives a near-drowning but is found burnt alive in his car just weeks later, DS Mark 'Heck' Heckenburg is brought in to investigate.

    Heck at his ultimate best.

    Paul Finch just goes from better to better with every book in the series. Heck just seems to slot into a gap left by many other fictional detectives a..Show More »

    Reviewed on 11 May 2015 by Wickerman49 (Sompting, West Sussex United Kingdom)