Brentford Trilogy
Books in series6
UNABRIDGED
(4.2 based on 573 ratings)
  • 1
    The Antipope: The First Part of the Brentford Trilogy | Robert Rankin

    The Antipope: The First Part of the Brentford Trilogy

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 35 mins)
    • By Robert Rankin
    • Narrated By Robert Rankin, Andy Greenhalgh, David Gooderson
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (179)
    Performance
    (106)
    Story
    (108)

    You could say it all started with the red-eyed tramp with the slimy fingers who put the wind up Neville, the part-time barman, something rotten. Or when Archroy's wife swapped his trusty Morris Minor for five magic beans while he was out at the rubber factory.

    The Anti-pope

    The book is in the vein of Douglas Adams or Terry Pratchett but in the occult rather than sci-fi or fantasy. A friend recommended this book a long ti..Show More »

    Reviewed on 12 July 2009 by John (Bradford, United Kingdom)
  • 2
    The Brentford Triangle: Brentford Trilogy, Book 2 | Robert Rankin

    The Brentford Triangle: Brentford Trilogy, Book 2

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 4 mins)
    • By Robert Rankin
    • Narrated By Robert Rankin
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (76)
    Performance
    (70)
    Story
    (69)

    Omally groaned. "It is the end of mankind as we know it. I should never have got up so early today," and all over Brentford electrical appliances were beginning to fail.... Could it be that Pooley and Omally, whilst engaged on a round of allotment golf, mistook laser-operated gravitational landing beams for the malignant work of Brentford Council? Does the Captain Laser Alien Attack machine in the bar of the Swan possess more sinister force than its magnetic appeal for youths with green hair? Is Brentford the first base in an alien onslaught on planet Earth?

    Another Rankin classic

    I really enjoyed this book as the characters are so engaging with the central figures of Pooley & Omally as likeable lay abouts. The presence of Profe..Show More »

    Reviewed on 04 December 2013 by SeaEagle1453 (UK)
  • 3
    East of Ealing: Brentford Trilogy, Book 3 | Robert Rankin

    East of Ealing: Brentford Trilogy, Book 3

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 20 mins)
    • By Robert Rankin
    • Narrated By Robert Rankin
    Overall
    (54)
    Performance
    (53)
    Story
    (53)

    Ahead, where once had been only bombsite land, the Lateinos and Romiith building rose above Brentford. Within its cruel and jagged shadow, magnolias wilted in their window boxes and synthetic Gold Top became doorstep cheese... Something sinister is happening east of Ealing. The prophecies of The Book of Revelation are being fulfilled. Lateinos & Romiith, a vast financial network, is changing all the rules with a plan to bar-code every living punter and dispense with old-fashioned money.

    A cracking story by Rankin

    I have only had the audio version and really enjoyed it.

    Reviewed on 14 December 2013 by SeaEagle1453 (UK)
  • 4
    The Sprouts of Wrath: Brentford Trilogy, Book 4 | Robert Rankin

    The Sprouts of Wrath: Brentford Trilogy, Book 4

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 26 mins)
    • By Robert Rankin
    • Narrated By Robert Rankin
    Overall
    (51)
    Performance
    (46)
    Story
    (45)

    Amazing, but true: Brentford Town Council, in an act of supreme public-spiritedness (and a great big wodge of folding stuff from a mysterious benefactor) has agreed to host the next Olympic Games. The plans have been drawn up, contracts, money and promises are changing hands. Norman has designed some stunning kit for the home team, and even the Flying Swan's been threatened with a major refit (gasp!).

    Another good story

    On form with the rest of the series. Looking forward to getting the next one

    Reviewed on 01 July 2015 by Simon ()
  • 5
    The Brentford Chainstore Massacre: Brentford Trilogy, Book 5 | Robert Rankin

    The Brentford Chainstore Massacre: Brentford Trilogy, Book 5

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 20 mins)
    • By Robert Rankin
    • Narrated By Robert Rankin
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (39)
    Performance
    (38)
    Story
    (38)

    There is nothing more powerful than a bad idea whose time has come. And there can be few ideas less bad or more potentially apocalyptic than that hatched by genetic scientist Dr Stephen Malone. Using DNA strands extracted from the dried blood on the Turin Shroud, Dr Malone is cloning Jesus. And not just a single Jesus, he's going for a full half-dozen so that each of the world's major religions can have one. It's a really bad idea. In Brentford they've had a really good idea.

    Another great book

    I love the Robert Rankin books. The easy comedy and the friendly regulars make you feel at home.

    Reviewed on 07 July 2014 by Gary lawson ()
  • 8
    The Brightonomicon | Robert Rankin

    The Brightonomicon

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 38 mins)
    • By Robert Rankin
    • Narrated By David Warner, Rupert Degas, Andy Serkis
    Overall
    (174)
    Performance
    (70)
    Story
    (70)

    Were you aware that there are, hidden in the streets of Brighton, 12 ancient constellations, like the Hangleton Hound and the Bevendean Bat? Well, there are, and on each one hangs a tale, a tale so strange that only The Lad himself, that inveterate spinner of tales and talker of the toot, Hugo Rune, can get to the bottom of them. And he'd better do it quickly, because if he doesn't solve the dozen mysteries before the year is out, that'll be the end of the world as we know it.

    Excellent

    Very entertaining, and reminiscent of a Hitchikers' Guide to the Galaxy - the radio version. And good actors!

    Reviewed on 05 April 2008 by Siv Elin (CopenhagenDenmark)