Poseidon's Children
Books in series3
UNABRIDGED
(4.0 based on 632 ratings)
  • 1
    Blue Remembered Earth | Alastair Reynolds

    Blue Remembered Earth

    • UNABRIDGED (21 hrs and 43 mins)
    • By Alastair Reynolds
    • Narrated By Kobna Holdbrook-Smith
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (303)
    Performance
    (191)
    Story
    (188)

    One hundred and fifty years from now, in a world where Africa is the dominant technological and economic power, and where crime, war, disease and poverty have been banished to history, Geoffrey Akinya wants only one thing: to be left in peace, so that he can continue his studies into the elephants of the Amboseli basin. But Geoffrey's family, the vast Akinya business empire, has other plans.

    He's written better.

    The narration is not as bad as some people think (to me anyway). The book is based around Africa and once you accept that and that all the accents are..Show More »

    Reviewed on 24 May 2012 by ralph (Dublin, Ireland)
  • 2
    On the Steel Breeze | Alastair Reynolds

    On the Steel Breeze

    • UNABRIDGED (23 hrs and 10 mins)
    • By Alastair Reynolds
    • Narrated By Adjoa Andoh
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (199)
    Performance
    (191)
    Story
    (192)

    A thousand years in the future, mankind's influence expands into the universe. Alastair Reynolds epic vision of our journey into deep space will redefine Space Opera. Mankind is making its way out into the universe on massive generation ships. The new novel from Alastair Reynolds is one for fans of Peter F. Hamilton and Iain M. Banks. Read by Adjoa Andoh.

    Poseidon's Children
    Reviewed on 09 November 2013 by John (Dublin, Ireland)
  • 3
    Poseidon's Wake | Alastair Reynolds

    Poseidon's Wake

    • UNABRIDGED (27 hrs and 5 mins)
    • By Alastair Reynolds
    • Narrated By Adjoa Andoh
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (130)
    Performance
    (116)
    Story
    (116)

    This novel is a standalone story which takes two extraordinary characters and follows them as they independently begin to unravel some of the greatest mysteries of our universe. Their missions are dangerous, and they are all venturing into the unknown...and if they can uncover the secret to faster-than-light travel then new worlds will be at our fingertips. But innovation and progress are not always embraced by everyone. There is a saboteur at work.

    Gets tedious

    No. Too drawn out. Way too much uninteresting dialogue. Towards the end of the book I couldn't stomach any more.

    Reviewed on 21 June 2015 by BJXRN ()