We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Gender Game Audiobook

The Gender Game

Regular Price:£18.29
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of The Hunger Games and Divergentcomes a story like no other...

A toxic river divides nineteen-year-old Violet Bates's world by gender.Women rule the East. Men rule the West.

Welcome to the lands of Matrus and Patrus.

Ever since the disappearance of her beloved younger brother, Violet's life has been consumed by an anger she struggles to control. Already a prisoner to her own nation, now she has been sentenced to death for her crimes.

But one decision could save her life.

To enter the kingdom of Patrus, where men rule and women submit.

Everything about the patriarchy is dangerous for a rebellious girl like Violet. She cannot break the rules if she wishes to stay alive.

But abiding by rules has never been Violet's strong suit.

When she's thrust into more danger than she could have ever predicted, Violet is forced to sacrifice many things in the forbidden kingdom ... including forbidden love.

In a world divided by gender, only the strongest survive...

What Early Readers are Saying:

"Bella takes this genre to a new level. Imagine the intrigue of Divergent, the suspense of The Maze Runner and the heart-pounding excitement of The Hunger Games. That is the magic Bella is working with her new novel The Gender Game."

"The perfect mix of adventure, mystery, thrill, blossoming love and heartbreak.READ THIS ASAP! You will not regret it."

"You can never predict where Bella Forrest will take a story!"

"Intrigue, danger and mystery at every corner."

"Once I started reading, I knew I wouldn't be able to stop. My heart raced along with Violet's [...] The twists and turns so far in this book have left my mouth hanging agape."

"Intrigue, espionage, and a strong, smart female at the center of it all. Had me sucked in from the get go."

This will be a ride you won't want to miss.
BUY NOW.

©2016 Bella Forrest (P)2016 Bella Forrest

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (81 )
5 star
 (50)
4 star
 (18)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.5 (77 )
5 star
 (49)
4 star
 (20)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.4 (77 )
5 star
 (46)
4 star
 (18)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Raychillnz 27/03/2017
    Raychillnz 27/03/2017 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Incredible!"

    An amazing read! Definitely recommend! Sad that I need to wait to hear/read the sequel. But def glad I chose this book to read, really good!!! Xoxo

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    BlackTuxedos 27/02/2017
    BlackTuxedos 27/02/2017

    Cat

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Average"

    I didn't know this was a series so was a bit annoyed to discover it was. The writing is ok. Standard for YA dystopian fiction. Characters are somewhat enjoyable. The heroine isn't completely useless but it's not going to knock your socks off. Not sure why this received such high ratings. If you're an existing fan of the author you'll probably enjoy this. I was not and found it to be a bit 'meh' and a wasted credit.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John Lancashire, UK 11/01/2017
    John Lancashire, UK 11/01/2017 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant"

    Loved it! Could not put it down! Can't wait for 2nd book to come out!!! Please be quick! :-)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    E. Duffill 09/01/2017
    E. Duffill 09/01/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good listen"

    The Gender Games is a good book to listen to, interesting and exciting. The only couple of things to mention is that the story does take a while to get going so bare with it and there is quite descriptive adult few pages so be wary of allowing teens to listen to it

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    paige 06/01/2017
    paige 06/01/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not bad!"

    Spoilers!

    Overall I quite liked the story line, the two countries split by male and female, the last chance to save herself and find her brother, the unexpected twist at the end of the book. I'll admit though when I first downloaded it I expected to only get through a few chapters before I turned it off but while I didn't bubble with excitement durning any part of the book or feel like I was connected to any of the characters with exception for Viggo, I did enjoy listening to it and will definitely have to listen to the next, I just hope what's in the egg isn't something as predictable as a Dragon embryo and that the next one is still quite realistic in regards to the boys of Matrus, Lee's planned destination and saving Viggo.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jan Ekins 15/12/2016
    Jan Ekins 15/12/2016 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "WOW"

    Roller coaster ride that you want to stop but can't put down! The characters come to life and your invested! Can't wait for the next instalment.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nicola 13/11/2016
    Nicola 13/11/2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Gender game"

    Loved it - want to read the next book. Would like to request the sequel.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Francesca J Clipper
    27/12/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Surprising."

    pleasantly surprised by the story. really didn't see the twist coming. can't wait to read the next installment.

    11 of 13 people found this review helpful
  • Susi
    18/12/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One of the best"

    I did not have high hopes for this book. it was too cheap. but it was one if the best I've heard, you must get it!!!

    10 of 12 people found this review helpful
  • Wendy
    United States
    22/12/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Don't pass this one by! It's a definite MUST READ!"
    If you could sum up The Gender Game in three words, what would they be?

    Loved this book!


    What did you like best about this story?

    The Gender Game was packed full of all my favorite things: adventure, the angst of a (PG-13) forbidden romance, action and good vs. evil. I really loved how the author built up the main character so that everything that happened made sense and was believable. I cared what happened to Violet. I was rooting for her and felt her pain, her joy, her shock and her heartbreak. I can't wait for the next installment of this story to come out!


    Which scene was your favorite?

    The romance angle was built up so enticingly well, that I must admit that last romantic part was my fave. However, that was definitely not all that this book was about!


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    The one that got me was "For fans of Hunger Games..." I think that is an accurate tag line that a lot of people would know how to respond to.


    Any additional comments?

    I also really, really, REALLY enjoyed the narrator! I am a huge fan of her work. She makes the characters and the stories come to life flawlessly! <3

    9 of 11 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    Tejas
    03/03/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hard to believe"

    I liked the story but it was difficult to get behind. The background of the character and the back story of the world was too far fetched to be believable. More should have been done to prop up the story of the surroundings and the why of where the settlements were and what "the green" was. Why if seemed to thrive with animal and plant life but not be a place that could be used for crops. The severity of the gender based societies took things a little farther than what I thought would be able to develop naturally. It ended up being a frustrating story thin on development of the world history, structure, and drive.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Debbie Brush
    West York Illinois
    11/01/17
    Overall
    "The Gender Game"

    Great book can't wait to read the next one I highly recommend this book for everyone

    6 of 9 people found this review helpful
  • Janel Schmidt
    05/01/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I'm addicted!"

    If you like the hunger games, divergent and maze runner...you love these!!! I can't put them down!

    6 of 9 people found this review helpful
  • Jamey
    Farmington, MO, United States
    05/02/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "where is Zachary Webber oh ....there he is"

    I hardly ever review books but I got this one bc I always enjoy Zachary's choices of performances so the fact that he read 1 chapter at the end of the book was agriva ting. That being said this book has just enough interesting things going on that once the book picked up it's pace I enjoyed it.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Glicky
    California
    31/01/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Decent pulp fiction"

    It was a decent book although somewhat formulaic. I recommend the book with the understanding that it's no Asimov or Heinlein plot.

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • Bill
    Bloomington, Minnesota
    26/03/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Umm - no really"

    I was not really thrilled with the story. The editor's did not catch some story line errors. I'm not sure overall how I feel about the story I felt like it was supposed to end like a cliffhanger but it fell flat. Try it you may feel differently, I was unimpressed.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    24/03/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "So amazing, definitely worth it."

    This book is really good. I happened on it by chance, but if you like Dystopian novels and such. This is a book for you. Strong characters and interesting and twisting plot. I highly recommend this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.