We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
I Am Princess X Audiobook

I Am Princess X

Regular Price:£13.59
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Best friends, big fans, a mysterious webcomic, and a longlost girl collide in this riveting novel, perfect for fans of both Cory Doctorow and Sarah Dessen.

Libby drew the pictures, May wrote the tales, and their heroine, Princess X, slayed all the dragons and scaled all the mountains their imaginations could conjure. Once upon a few years later, Libby was in the car with her mom, driving across the Ballard Bridge on a rainy night. When the car went over the side, Libby passed away, and Princess X died with her. Once upon a now: May is sixteen and lonely, wandering the streets of Seattle, when she sees a sticker slapped in a corner window. Princess X? When May looks around, she sees the Princess everywhere: Stickers. Patches. Graffiti. There's an entire underground culture, focused around a webcomic at IAmPrincessX.com. The more May explores the webcomic, the more she sees disturbing similarities between Libby's story and Princess X online. And that means that only one person could have started this phenomenonher best friend, Libby, who lives.

©2015 © 2015 by Cherie Priest (P)2015 Scholastic Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (4 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.3 (4 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.5 (4 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Yvette Z Vandermolen
    FPO, AP United States
    24/02/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fun story, but audio may not be the best medium"

    Went looking for another Cherie Priest book set in the real world and was excited to find this one is set in Seattle, a city I know pretty well. Priest gives us an excellent tour of the city and had me thinking I had actually seen signs of Princess X in my own adventures around town. I wish this book had gotten more notice locally, especially from the local comic con and rather significant comic book scene. It would be fun to do this as a book club selection with Girl Scouts or some similar group. It's a wonderful YA book for mid-adolescent age but also fun to read as an adult.

    That said, this book is probably best experienced in visual form, as the story shifts from novel to graphic novel. The narration is fine with the novel characters but the comic book characters are overacted and irritating. The narrator just doesn't have the vocal range for those parts of the book, which are almost painful to listen to. Casting a separate narrator for those voices may have been a better choice.

    Even with the sometimes irritating narration, I was sad when the story ended. I really love these characters! I hope Cherie Priest writes more of these sorts of fantasy thrillers set in real places; she's got an amazing sense of place.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mary
    22/08/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing"

    I loved the book it's amazing I even want to read it again I comprehended so well it's fun existing and scary. I did not like the fact it said a couple things wrong. Other then that it was awesome!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • S06N
    19/03/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gorgeous"

    Gripping, hilarious and sad. It cannot be skipped. You will love this story. I could not turn it off.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • April Kinsey
    Waleska, Georgia USA
    29/10/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "fantastic!"

    It was awesome, from the first sentence to the last. Wow, I really want this story to keep going and going and going.....

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Julie
    02/07/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it except..."

    A nice light escape if a story; a little trope-y, a little predictable, but enjoyable all the same.
    I found it difficult to get through the narration on the manga/graphic novel portions of the story. It is very clear the narrator is unfamiliar with the style, as she read the Princess X comics as though performing for a 20's radio serial. If the whole novel had been read in such a manner, I might have ended up missing out on a nice read.
    As it is, the rest of her narration was good! Her voice for Meg is actually stuck in my head like a catchy tune, and I'm having a tough time of not speaking like her out loud. I'm on the fence in her choice of speech for Jack's voice, but how DO you portray "cocky genius"?
    Well worth a listen.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.