We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
A Study in Charlotte Audiobook

A Study in Charlotte: Charlotte Holmes, Book 1

Regular Price:£17.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The first book in a witty, suspenseful new trilogy about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever detective yarn will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter.

Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte Holmes; after all, their great-great-great-grandfathers were one of the most infamous pairs in history. But the Holmes family has always been odd, and Charlotte is no exception. She's inherited Sherlock's volatility and some of his vices - and when Jamie and Charlotte end up at the same Connecticut boarding school, Charlotte makes it clear she's not looking for friends.

But when a student they both have a history with dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Danger is mounting, and nowhere is safe - and the only people they can trust are each other.

©2016 Brittany Cavallaro (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (3 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.3 (3 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.0 (3 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Phoenix
    15/02/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent concept"
    Would you consider the audio edition of A Study in Charlotte to be better than the print version?

    Yes. The performance by Graham Halstead brought Jamie to life.


    What other book might you compare A Study in Charlotte to and why?

    I don't think I have read another book I would compare this too. The concept of the future Holmes/Watson generations is a unique one.


    What about Graham Halstead and Julia Whelan ’s performance did you like?

    Graham Halstead's performance was excellent as Jamie in narration. His unique voices for each character made the story feel like a clear reconnection of Jamie's. I fully enjoyed his performance. Julia Whelan captured Charlotte's cool and detached personality.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yes. The first time I listened to this book, I hated having to press pause to get back to the real world. I have since listened to the book several times, many in one sitting. The story is fast paced and exciting. Each chapter left me wanting to know what would happen next. Some plot points required re-listening to fully understand what happened. It is a story I enjoy re-listening to.


    Any additional comments?

    The concept of a future Holmes/Watson generation is a unique one. Every modern adaptation of the Sherlock Holmes stories has placed the original pair in modern day. This take of what Sherlock and John's descendants' lives might be like was intriguing and exciting.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • delao13
    11/12/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very, very good. interesting plot."

    Eh, James is a bit sappy, romanticizing everything, especially Charlotte, but the story is 10/10. Very interesting.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • James Wells
    09/04/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What if Homes and Watson were teenagers?"

    So... generations after Sherlock and John, their families continue their legendary work. Charlotte and Jamie must deal with a past as they move to creating their own legacy.

    0 of 4 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.