We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
The Secret Player Audiobook

The Secret Player

Regular Price:£13.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For those who enjoyed I Am the Secret Footballer, this new book delivers hard-hitting insights into the hidden world of professional football and footballers.

In the vein of Hotel Babylon and Confessions of a GP, The Secret Player will fascinate football fans with its wealth of insider knowledge and willingness to talk, albeit anonymously, about the inner workings of the game. Based on the hugely popular 'The Player' columns in FourFourTwo magazine, the book gives a warts-and-all insight into the daily life of professional footballers.

Month by month, it chronicles the oscillating rhythms of the season, from the trudge of pre-season to the 'squeaky-bum time' of promotion and relegation. The player himself has played at all levels of English football - from Premier League to a season of non-League - and represented England.

©2013 Anonymous (P)2013 Headline Digital

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (49 )
5 star
 (16)
4 star
 (19)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
3.9 (44 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (3)
Story
3.8 (44 )
5 star
 (12)
4 star
 (16)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    iLard London, UK 17/12/2014
    iLard London, UK 17/12/2014 Member Since 2014

    ilard

    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Helps me appreciate the Premier League soap opera!"
    Would you listen to The Secret Player again? Why?

    I often wondered what went on behind the scenes of the Premier League, but this book has gone a long way toward explaining it all. It feels very honestly told and really lifts the lid. I am sure I listened to much of it with my mouth half open. If you watch the Premiership then I think this is kind of a must-read because it will help to add to the sense of drama each season.


    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    kmcca5 Deepest Darkest Yapton, West Sussex 04/06/2014
    kmcca5 Deepest Darkest Yapton, West Sussex 04/06/2014 Member Since 2015

    Something About Myself

    HELPFUL VOTES
    98
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    334
    38
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A good insight into the dressing room environment"
    Any additional comments?

    If you have read the Secret Footballer you will enjoy this. They are similar but have a few differences. The player in this book takes a lighter look at life as a player that the Secret footballer but don’t let that put you off. This feels like a good insight into the dressing room environment without really being explosive.

    Interesting tales, easy going, good narration and well worth a download for any football fan. 4/5

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John C Gayton 12/09/2016
    John C Gayton 12/09/2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting and Entertaining"

    But only in parts, stayed with it though! !!
    Generally an acceptable listen and not distracting.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Iain W. 20/07/2015
    Iain W. 20/07/2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting Glimpse into a player's season"
    What made the experience of listening to The Secret Player the most enjoyable?

    It was a great way to get a glimpse into the life of a professional footballer.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    When the author explains how he knows that his time as a footballer is running out it makes you realise that football is a harsh career. Players have shelf lives and by the time they are in their early 30's they are on their way out.


    Any additional comments?

    For anyone who likes the famous "Secret Footballer" this is definitely an interesting alternative and worth listening too. This book is probably a bit more laddish than the Secret Footballer - he is willing to go into much more detail about his personal life than The Secret Player but it's just as revealing as to what goes on behind the scenes at a top flight club.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mr. 04/09/2014
    Mr. 04/09/2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Possibly the worst book I have ever listened to"

    Utter, Utter rubbish. I bought this audiobook as reviews said it was funny and was a very good insight into the life of a Professional Footballer. Funny? Well, if you think childish pranks are funny or, if you're a child, you may find some humour in the book. But if you've played even Sunday League Football (or any other team sport) there's nothing you haven't seen a hundred times. Illuminating? - Well, all it does is simply confirm what a bunch of spoilt, self obsessed, horrible people these footballers really are. Quite possible that they get this way due to the lifestyle so not casting aspertions. I may well be the same if I lived in un-real worlds. I will admit I learned one or two things about relationships with Managers/Agents etc., but that could all have been achieved in one chapter. It really was a case of learning one or two nuggets by wading through hours of inane drivel.

    Sorry to say, but Jamie Parker should be nicknamed "Painless" as his narration style/tone brings to mind the feeling I get when I pop 2 x Tramadol - I'm soon falling fast asleep which, considering I listen whilst driving, is not a good thing!

    It came as part of my £3.95 a credit joining offer and at that price, I would expect a refund of £3.94. I stopped listening so many times. My first ever audiobook took nearly 3 months to complete - It was that bad!

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.