The Truth: Discworld, Book 25 Audiobook | Terry Pratchett | Audible.co.uk
We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Truth: Discworld, Book 25 | [Terry Pratchett]
Play The Truth: Discworld, Book 25

The Truth: Discworld, Book 25

William de Worde, the accidental editor of Discworld's first newspaper, just wants to get to the truth. Unfortunately, everyone else wants to get at William. And it's only the third edition.
Regular Price:£25.99
  • Membership Details:
    • 1 book of your choice per month
    • £3.99 for the first three months and £7.99/month thereafter
    • Membership continues unless you choose to cancel
    • Exchange books you don't like
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

William de Worde is the accidental editor of Discworld's first newspaper. Now he must cope with the traditional perils of a journalist's life - people who want him dead, a recovering vampire with a suicidal fascination for flash photography, some more people who want him dead in a different way and, worst of all, the man who keeps begging him to publish pictures of his humorously shaped potatoes.William just wants to get to the truth. Unfortunately, everyone else wants to get at William. And it's only the third edition...

This is the 25th volume in the Discworld series.

©2000 Terry and Lyn Pratchett; (P)2000 Isis Publishing Ltd.

What the Critics Say

"Pratchett's brand of humor has intelligence and satiric relevance...he has much to say about the world." (Publishers Weekly)
"Unadulterated fun...Witty, frequently hilarious." (San Francisco Chronicle)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (361 )
5 star
 (271)
4 star
 (79)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
4.8 (113 )
5 star
 (91)
4 star
 (19)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.8 (113 )
5 star
 (94)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Martin Cork, Ireland 19/04/2008
    Martin Cork, Ireland 19/04/2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    31
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "Pratchett in top form"

    I am a fan of Terry Pratchett novels and am amazed at how prolific he is while maintaining the quality of his output. This is one of his better recent efforts. Pratchett's books always have one or two inspired comic ideas and this one is no exception. It is worth reading for the vampire photographer with flash-photography issues alone. Well worth a listen if you like quirky humour in the vein of Douglas Adams and Robert Rankin.

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael Chatham, United Kingdom 07/04/2011
    Michael Chatham, United Kingdom 07/04/2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    40
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    209
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    "***ing brilliant"

    Mt Tulip and Mr Pin, The New Firm, Millenium Hand and Shrimp I told 'em! Now my favouite Discworld book.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael. R whitehaven, cumbria, United Kingdom 19/04/2010
    Michael. R whitehaven, cumbria, United Kingdom 19/04/2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "the truth"

    one of the best books from sir terry pratchett colection of the disk world stories

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer PETERBOROUGH, United Kingdom 07/04/2013
    Amazon Customer PETERBOROUGH, United Kingdom 07/04/2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Great Discworld story"

    Another great story of the discworld. I've read them all, and am working through the audio books during long journeys. Love Pratchett's work and after the older Tony Robinson ones this is my favourite narrator.



    The Guards stories are my preference and this is a great one. Would recommend the story to those new to or totally familiar with the Discworld

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Natalia Southampton, United Kingdom 21/03/2013
    Natalia Southampton, United Kingdom 21/03/2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Great read!"

    Really like this story and the characters. Exciting with a very cool twist on the end. Witty, great pace of the story unfolding. The narrator Stephen Briggs is my favourite!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    12/04/2013
    12/04/2013 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Terry at his best!"

    I love this novel! Terry introduces William Deworda, and the start of the press in . the usual mix of lord vetinary, the watch and the wizards, trolls and Dwarfs. I love the use of the vampire as an iconographer. it is like coming home to your family, to be able keep up with the chacters as they grow throughout the series. this one of my favorites and I own them all.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    nicole United Kingdom 26/08/2013
    nicole United Kingdom 26/08/2013 Member Since 2013

    "I have always imagined that Paradise will be a kind of library." — Jorge Luis Borges

    HELPFUL VOTES
    45
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    127
    47
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    18
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "In the unlikely event you've never read Pratchett"

    I wasn't going to review Terry Pratchett's Discworld books, simply because he is such a well known author that everyone already knows that this book, like all the Discworld books, will be funny, imaginative and have everything you want in it to keep you coming back and re-reading year after year. Most Audible listeners also know that all the main narrators that read Pratchett's books (Stephen Briggs, Nigel Planer and Tony Robinson) are all amazing, bringing the book and it's characters to life in a way that earns their five star reviews.

    If you are actually a new listener on the other-hand this might really help.

    Firstly despite the order they were written in my suggestion would be to start with the guards series. Pratchett has developed a complicated world with several in jokes and this is an easy way to enter it, as the books introduce the reader to the main city from which much of the action takes place. The guards series is arguably one of the most popular and after the first book has a strong cast of both male and female characters. I should warn that some of the other series' books are set before the events in the Watch novels but I still found this the most accessible way, into this vast fictional world.

    The order of the guards books are Guards Guards, Men at Arms, Feet Of Clay, Jingo, The Fifth Elephant, Night watch, Thud and Snuff (there are also spin off books that are mentioned in the series). From there you can either start reading the witches novels if you prefer female leads, Rincewind if you prefer male or stay in the city with some of what are often refer to as the `industrial' novels like The Truth, Going Postal and Making Money. Guides to reading order can easily be found on the net if you don't want to go by publication date.

    I would also think twice before buying the abridged versions. Tony Robinson as a narrator is brilliant but so are the other narrators and a lot of the plot and humor is cut to fit so much into such a short time. I've listened to most of them and I'd personally go with unabridged every time.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    elizabeth gaskell uk 01/12/2013
    elizabeth gaskell uk 01/12/2013 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "more truth"
    Would you listen to The Truth again? Why?

    i would listen to the truth again and again as it contains all the essential elements of a good narrative. It contains the fight between good and bad told in a satirical way and adding twists where son comes face to face with his father and his character wins through.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Truth?

    one of the most memorable moments was when sacharisa learnt to say "ing"


    Have you listened to any of Stephen Briggs’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    i have listened to many of his performances and this one compares well showing more maturity in the characters


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    truth truth and more "ing" truth


    Any additional comments?

    keep up the good work audible

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ms Greater Manchester, United Kingdom 01/12/2013
    Ms Greater Manchester, United Kingdom 01/12/2013 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The truth will make you fret"
    What made the experience of listening to The Truth the most enjoyable?

    Terry Pratchett's foray into the murky world of journalism and politics. Given Sir Terry's background in journalism it is quite surprising that this gem of a book comes only mid way through the discworld series.
    Stephen Briggs consummate voice talent once again brings the character's to life, imbibing Mr Tulip's unfortunate speech impediment with such life I had to rewind to make sure I hadn't heard a bleep.


    What did you like best about this story?

    As with most of TP's writing there are several strands of story that come together in a pleasing climax. For me it is the characterisation of people that just step into the spotlight from the great (unwashed) chorus of Ankh-Morpork citizens, that make any discworld novel. The Truth gives us some old favourites, such as Gaspode, one of my all time favourite people, new protagonists, the morally straight jacketed William De Worde and a couple of the nasty villains in the New Firm.


    Have you listened to any of Stephen Briggs’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    Stephen Briggs' performance is very polished as always and has a consistency in character that throughout the 10+ hours of this book.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-9 of 9 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.