We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Truth: Discworld, Book 25 | [Terry Pratchett]

The Truth: Discworld, Book 25

William de Worde, the accidental editor of Discworld's first newspaper, just wants to get to the truth. Unfortunately, everyone else wants to get at William. And it's only the third edition.
Regular Price:£25.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

William de Worde is the accidental editor of Discworld's first newspaper. Now he must cope with the traditional perils of a journalist's life - people who want him dead, a recovering vampire with a suicidal fascination for flash photography, some more people who want him dead in a different way and, worst of all, the man who keeps begging him to publish pictures of his humorously shaped potatoes.William just wants to get to the truth. Unfortunately, everyone else wants to get at William. And it's only the third edition...

This is the 25th volume in the Discworld series.

©2000 Terry and Lyn Pratchett; (P)2000 Isis Publishing Ltd.

What the Critics Say

"Pratchett's brand of humor has intelligence and satiric relevance...he has much to say about the world." (Publishers Weekly)
"Unadulterated fun...Witty, frequently hilarious." (San Francisco Chronicle)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (414 )
5 star
 (310)
4 star
 (90)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
4.7 (169 )
5 star
 (133)
4 star
 (30)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.8 (167 )
5 star
 (135)
4 star
 (26)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Martin Cork, Ireland 19/04/2008
    Martin Cork, Ireland 19/04/2008 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    35
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "Pratchett in top form"

    I am a fan of Terry Pratchett novels and am amazed at how prolific he is while maintaining the quality of his output. This is one of his better recent efforts. Pratchett's books always have one or two inspired comic ideas and this one is no exception. It is worth reading for the vampire photographer with flash-photography issues alone. Well worth a listen if you like quirky humour in the vein of Douglas Adams and Robert Rankin.

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael Chatham, United Kingdom 07/04/2011
    Michael Chatham, United Kingdom 07/04/2011 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    45
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    211
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    "***ing brilliant"

    Mt Tulip and Mr Pin, The New Firm, Millenium Hand and Shrimp I told 'em! Now my favouite Discworld book.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael. R whitehaven, cumbria, United Kingdom 19/04/2010
    Michael. R whitehaven, cumbria, United Kingdom 19/04/2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "the truth"

    one of the best books from sir terry pratchett colection of the disk world stories

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer PETERBOROUGH, United Kingdom 07/04/2013
    Amazon Customer PETERBOROUGH, United Kingdom 07/04/2013 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Great Discworld story"

    Another great story of the discworld. I've read them all, and am working through the audio books during long journeys. Love Pratchett's work and after the older Tony Robinson ones this is my favourite narrator.



    The Guards stories are my preference and this is a great one. Would recommend the story to those new to or totally familiar with the Discworld

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Natalia Southampton, United Kingdom 21/03/2013
    Natalia Southampton, United Kingdom 21/03/2013 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Great read!"

    Really like this story and the characters. Exciting with a very cool twist on the end. Witty, great pace of the story unfolding. The narrator Stephen Briggs is my favourite!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    nicole 26/08/2013
    nicole 26/08/2013

    "I have always imagined that Paradise will be a kind of library." — Jorge Luis Borges

    HELPFUL VOTES
    69
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    247
    59
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    34
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "In the unlikely event you've never read Pratchett"

    I wasn't going to review Terry Pratchett's Discworld books, simply because he is such a well known author that everyone already knows that this book, like all the Discworld books, will be funny, imaginative and have everything you want in it to keep you coming back and re-reading year after year. Most Audible listeners also know that all the main narrators that read Pratchett's books (Stephen Briggs, Nigel Planer and Tony Robinson) are all amazing, bringing the book and it's characters to life in a way that earns their five star reviews.

    If you are actually a new listener on the other-hand this might really help.

    Firstly despite the order they were written in my suggestion would be to start with the guards series. Pratchett has developed a complicated world with several in jokes and this is an easy way to enter it, as the books introduce the reader to the main city from which much of the action takes place. The guards series is arguably one of the most popular and after the first book has a strong cast of both male and female characters. I should warn that some of the other series' books are set before the events in the Watch novels but I still found this the most accessible way, into this vast fictional world.

    The order of the guards books are Guards Guards, Men at Arms, Feet Of Clay, Jingo, The Fifth Elephant, Night watch, Thud and Snuff (there are also spin off books that are mentioned in the series). From there you can either start reading the witches novels if you prefer female leads, Rincewind if you prefer male or stay in the city with some of what are often refer to as the `industrial' novels like The Truth, Going Postal and Making Money. Guides to reading order can easily be found on the net if you don't want to go by publication date.

    I would also think twice before buying the abridged versions. Tony Robinson as a narrator is brilliant but so are the other narrators and a lot of the plot and humor is cut to fit so much into such a short time. I've listened to most of them and I'd personally go with unabridged every time.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    12/04/2013
    12/04/2013 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Terry at his best!"

    I love this novel! Terry introduces William Deworda, and the start of the press in . the usual mix of lord vetinary, the watch and the wizards, trolls and Dwarfs. I love the use of the vampire as an iconographer. it is like coming home to your family, to be able keep up with the chacters as they grow throughout the series. this one of my favorites and I own them all.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Heather Newby 02/10/2014
    Heather Newby 02/10/2014 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Partnership of perfection"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I'd recommend this to anyone who loved fantasy. Stephen Briggs voices exactly match my imagined ones in Terry Pratchett's work. Though this is funny and brilliantly imaginative, it still manages to look at serious ideas.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Truth?

    Melting lead! And the -ing woodworm.


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    Wiiliam's visit to his father with Otto Chriek's appearance


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Two, perhaps- I do have other things that need attention


    Any additional comments?

    If you like Pratchett, you'll know. If you've not tried him, have a go.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    boosmummy 13/06/2014
    boosmummy 13/06/2014 Member Since 2012

    Wanna

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not bad but"
    Any additional comments?

    I've read quite a few Terry Pratchett's Discworld books and enjoyed them. I didn't enjoy this one as much as others, it felt like in parts it dragged along just for the sake of it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    kola London 23/05/2014
    kola London 23/05/2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Classic Terry Pratchett"
    Would you listen to The Truth again? Why?

    This is a satire of newspaper / journalism, viewed through the lens of "Discworld". Originally published in 2000, as newspapers were coming underpressure from the internet, it deals with many of the themes, asking questions such as "what is news?" "what is the public interest?" as well as asking more profound questions about "amusingly shaped root vegetables" - cracking plot, and once again well narrated by Stephen Briggs


    What did you like best about this story?

    Great plot.


    Which character – as performed by Stephen Briggs – was your favourite?

    Favourite characters: the zombie lawyer and vampire photographer - hilarious


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    It made me laugh


    Any additional comments?

    there are also some great observations in the book - I probably haven't got the quote from Lord Vetinari quite right, but something along the lines of "people are not interested in news. They are interested in being told what they already know. They are interested in olds."

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-10 of 13 results PREVIOUS12NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.