We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Truth Audiobook

The Truth: Discworld, Book 25

William de Worde, the accidental editor of Discworld's first newspaper, just wants to get to the truth. Unfortunately, everyone else wants to get at William. And it's only the third edition.
Regular Price:£25.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

William de Worde is the accidental editor of Discworld's first newspaper. Now he must cope with the traditional perils of a journalist's life - people who want him dead, a recovering vampire with a suicidal fascination for flash photography, some more people who want him dead in a different way and, worst of all, the man who keeps begging him to publish pictures of his humorously shaped potatoes.William just wants to get to the truth. Unfortunately, everyone else wants to get at William. And it's only the third edition...

This is the 25th volume in the Discworld series.

Please note:This is a vintage recording. The audio quality may not be up to modern day standards

©2000 Terry and Lyn Pratchett; (P)2000 Isis Publishing Ltd.

What the Critics Say

"Pratchett's brand of humor has intelligence and satiric relevance...he has much to say about the world." (Publishers Weekly)
"Unadulterated fun...Witty, frequently hilarious." (San Francisco Chronicle)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (645 )
5 star
 (503)
4 star
 (126)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
4.8 (384 )
5 star
 (312)
4 star
 (63)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.8 (380 )
5 star
 (310)
4 star
 (58)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Martin Cork, Ireland 19/04/2008
    Martin Cork, Ireland 19/04/2008 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    48
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    47
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "Pratchett in top form"

    I am a fan of Terry Pratchett novels and am amazed at how prolific he is while maintaining the quality of his output. This is one of his better recent efforts. Pratchett's books always have one or two inspired comic ideas and this one is no exception. It is worth reading for the vampire photographer with flash-photography issues alone. Well worth a listen if you like quirky humour in the vein of Douglas Adams and Robert Rankin.

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael Chatham, United Kingdom 07/04/2011
    Michael Chatham, United Kingdom 07/04/2011 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    76
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    255
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    "***ing brilliant"

    Mt Tulip and Mr Pin, The New Firm, Millenium Hand and Shrimp I told 'em! Now my favouite Discworld book.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael. R whitehaven, cumbria, United Kingdom 19/04/2010
    Michael. R whitehaven, cumbria, United Kingdom 19/04/2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "the truth"

    one of the best books from sir terry pratchett colection of the disk world stories

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    nicole 26/08/2013
    nicole 26/08/2013

    "I have always imagined that Paradise will be a kind of library." — Jorge Luis Borges

    HELPFUL VOTES
    166
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    630
    76
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    42
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "In the unlikely event you've never read Pratchett"

    I wasn't going to review Terry Pratchett's Discworld books, simply because he is such a well known author that everyone already knows that this book, like all the Discworld books, will be funny, imaginative and have everything you want in it to keep you coming back and re-reading year after year. Most Audible listeners also know that all the main narrators that read Pratchett's books (Stephen Briggs, Nigel Planer and Tony Robinson) are all amazing, bringing the book and it's characters to life in a way that earns their five star reviews.

    If you are actually a new listener on the other-hand this might really help.

    Firstly despite the order they were written in my suggestion would be to start with the guards series. Pratchett has developed a complicated world with several in jokes and this is an easy way to enter it, as the books introduce the reader to the main city from which much of the action takes place. The guards series is arguably one of the most popular and after the first book has a strong cast of both male and female characters. I should warn that some of the other series' books are set before the events in the Watch novels but I still found this the most accessible way, into this vast fictional world.

    The order of the guards books are Guards Guards, Men at Arms, Feet Of Clay, Jingo, The Fifth Elephant, Night watch, Thud and Snuff (there are also spin off books that are mentioned in the series). From there you can either start reading the witches novels if you prefer female leads, Rincewind if you prefer male or stay in the city with some of what are often refer to as the `industrial' novels like The Truth, Going Postal and Making Money. Guides to reading order can easily be found on the net if you don't want to go by publication date.

    I would also think twice before buying the abridged versions. Tony Robinson as a narrator is brilliant but so are the other narrators and a lot of the plot and humor is cut to fit so much into such a short time. I've listened to most of them and I'd personally go with unabridged every time.

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer PETERBOROUGH, United Kingdom 07/04/2013
    Amazon Customer PETERBOROUGH, United Kingdom 07/04/2013 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Great Discworld story"

    Another great story of the discworld. I've read them all, and am working through the audio books during long journeys. Love Pratchett's work and after the older Tony Robinson ones this is my favourite narrator.



    The Guards stories are my preference and this is a great one. Would recommend the story to those new to or totally familiar with the Discworld

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Natalia Southampton, United Kingdom 21/03/2013
    Natalia Southampton, United Kingdom 21/03/2013 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Great read!"

    Really like this story and the characters. Exciting with a very cool twist on the end. Witty, great pace of the story unfolding. The narrator Stephen Briggs is my favourite!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rhiannon 12/04/2013
    Rhiannon 12/04/2013 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Terry at his best!"

    I love this novel! Terry introduces William Deworda, and the start of the press in . the usual mix of lord vetinary, the watch and the wizards, trolls and Dwarfs. I love the use of the vampire as an iconographer. it is like coming home to your family, to be able keep up with the chacters as they grow throughout the series. this one of my favorites and I own them all.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    David Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom 05/12/2015
    David Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom 05/12/2015 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    177
    27
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Much better than I remembered"

    Although I had read it before I couldn't remember much about The Truth before returning to it as part of a rerun of many Pratchetts in honour of the great man's passing. It was therefore a huge pleasure to rediscover it as the kicking off point of what I think of as the best of his works - the late Ankh Morpork books. Although it doesn't feature the same central characters it very much acts as the forerunner of the later Moist von Lipwig books which I regard as Pratchett's best works. It features the same type of reluctant central character (albeit William de Worde is much more diffident) and the same cynical but humanist streak.

    On the back of this re-listen, I would now recommend The Truth as a good starting point for a Pratchett neophyte as it features many of the strongest characteristics of his late work while also not being too fantasy heavy so as to put off a casual reader.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    tru.gough Swindon, United Kingdom 10/11/2015
    tru.gough Swindon, United Kingdom 10/11/2015 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "not as good as the rest"

    the narator was unexpressive and I struggled to finish it, ot did not even bother me when I missed a bit due to the kettle boiling. I love the discworld series but this one was a complete disapointment.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joseph Newton Whittle 03/11/2015 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it"

    always prefer Tony Robbinson because I grew up listening to him, but this guy was good, had consistent and memorable voices.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.