We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Lazarus War: Artefact Audiobook

The Lazarus War: Artefact

Regular Price:£19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Artefact is book one of The Lazarus War, an explosive new space adventure series from one of the brightest new stars in science fiction - perfect for fans of The Edge of Tomorrow, Alien and James S. A. Corey's Expanse series. Jack Campbell, author of the Lost Fleet novels, calls it "a gripping read that moves at warp speed".

Mankind has spread to the stars, only to become locked in warfare with an insidious alien race. All that stands against the alien menace are the soldiers of the Simulant Operation Programme, an elite military team remotely operating avatars in the most dangerous theatres of war. Captain Conrad Harris has died hundreds of times running suicide missions in simulant bodies. Known as Lazarus, he is a man addicted to death.

So when a secret research station deep in alien territory suddenly goes dark, there is no other man who could possibly lead a rescue mission.

But Harris hasn't been trained for what he's about to find. And this time he may not be coming back....

©2015 Jamie Sawyer (P)2016 Hachette Audio UK

What the Critics Say

"Artefact is an adrenaline shot of rip-roaring military SF packed with cinematic action sequences and tightly drawn characters. I look forward returning to the company of hardman Conrad Harris and his motley crew of simulants and soldiers time and again." (Stephen Deas, author of The Adamantine)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (34 )
5 star
 (17)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.1 (31 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.3 (31 )
5 star
 (18)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Martyn. R. Winters Cardiff UK 06/06/2016
    Martyn. R. Winters Cardiff UK 06/06/2016 Member Since 2011

    A reader of science fiction and other speculative musings for more than 40 years, I'm most fond of the grand themes found in space opera.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    61
    33
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Superb military sci-fi"

    I bought this on a whim, looking for something different. I'm so glad I did.

    Lazurus is the nickname of an Earth Allied Forces captain, commander of a simulation squad, an elite commando group, who remotely control enhanced bodies in combat against a collective alien species who are waging war against humanity. They are tasked with investigating an out of touch scientific research outpost deep inside the Maelstrom, a vast unnavigable area of space on a planet called Helios.

    The writing is really good, with believable characters and good plotlines. It may be a little linear for some tastes and reminiscent of many other novels, but for all that, it's done very well.

    If you like military sci-fi, you will like this and I give it 9/10.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Metalmonster 24/04/2016
    Metalmonster 24/04/2016 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Ripley should have had this team in Aliens!"
    What did you like most about The Lazarus War: Artefact?

    Absolutely loved the squad based battles. The description of the action was top notch.
    The idea of there being a squad of improved human soldiers engineered to fight the alien enemy was fresh and interesting. The overall mission running through the book was gripping. I found myself driving a longer way home so I could enjoy the story before I got home to a house of screaming children 😀


    What other book might you compare The Lazarus War: Artefact to, and why?

    I would describe the book as a mixture of the following films Avatar, Aliens and Edge of tomorrow. If you enjoyed any of those movies then I would highly recommend this book to you.


    What three words best describe Jeff Harding’s voice?

    I won't lie didn't particularly like Jeff's voice. Maybe it's because I am English 😊
    However the book was so good it didn't spoil it for me.


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    When man meets hostile alien life being human isn't enough to take them down.


    Any additional comments?

    For action hungry fans who enjoy human vs. alien stories I would highly recommend.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Daniel 29/03/2016
    Daniel 29/03/2016 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Action packed, like taking a punch to the face."

    Love it!! Excellent story, prefectly narrated. Can't wait for the next book, don't miss out!

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.