We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Star Nomad Audiobook

Star Nomad: Fallen Empire, Book 1

Regular Price:£29.29
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The Alliance has toppled the tyrannical empire. It should be a time for celebration, but not for fighter pilot Captain Alisa Marchenko. After barely surviving a crash in the final battle for freedom, she's stranded on a dustball of a planet, billions of miles from her young daughter. She has no money or resources, and there are no transports heading to Perun, her former home and the last imperial stronghold.

But she has a plan.

Steal a dilapidated and malfunctioning freighter from a junkyard full of lawless savages. Slightly suicidal, but she believes she can do it. Her plan, however, does not account for the elite cyborg soldier squatting in the freighter, intending to use it for his own purposes. As an imperial soldier, he has no love for Alliance pilots. In fact he's quite fond of killing them.

Alisa has more problems than she can count, but she can't let cyborgs, savages, or ancient malfunctioning ships stand in her way. If she does she'll never see her daughter again.

Fans of Firefly and Star Wars should enjoy this fun, fast-paced new series from USA Today best-selling author Lindsay Buroker.

©2016 Lindsay Buroker (P)2016 Podium Publishing

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (11 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.5 (11 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.7 (11 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    robert clacton on sea, United Kingdom 23/10/2016
    robert clacton on sea, United Kingdom 23/10/2016 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    229
    25
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "firefly meets star wars"
    What made the experience of listening to Star Nomad the most enjoyable?

    after reading the books it was great to be able to re-imagine the story through Kates narration, looking forward to the rest of the series


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    alisa for sure! she is tough sassy never say die attitude with a heart of gold


    What about Kate Reading’s performance did you like?

    I love Kate reading she was magnificent if the wheel of time(14 books) and here she is very good as well but I'm not sure she carries alisa's flippant humour across (maybe I just heard it differently in my mind when I originally read the book) otherwise very well read


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    firefly meets star wars


    Any additional comments?

    set in a universe where a 40 year galactic war has just been fought and the rebel alliance has beaten the imperial forces
    Alisa Marchenko an alliance pilot stranded on a back water planet tries to reclaim her mum's old haulage space ship which lays abandoned in a scrap yard with the help of her engineer mica, only to find that an imperial cyborg soldier has already laid claim to the vehicle and plans to take it on a secret mission to the asteroid belt.
    an action packed sci-fi adventure! fast paced and humorous with well defined characters

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • dee
    fernley, NV, United States
    01/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Is it cake or biscuits?"

    I was once told that I could take a list of ingredients: flour, eggs, baking powder, water, etc., and make either a cake or biscuits because they each had the same ingredients. I think the same applies here for Lindsay Buroker. She had all the ingredients and produced cake. And of course, Kate Reading is my all time favorite female reader! She is the epitome of female readers starting with the Wheel of Time and in Star Nomad she has instilled the characters with personality and individuality. In some chapters, the script is almost cookie cutter but I think the narrator kept the plot flowing and I didn't lose enough interest to punch the return key to Audible. Cake but not German Chocolate......

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Jim "The Impatient"
    Springfield, MO, United States
    26/10/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "OH YES, WERE A CHATTY BUNCH"

    DID I OFFEND HIM. HE WAS BEING CRANKY. DUST BUNNIES
    I applaud the author and they way she treats her main character. The woman is a woman, but she is military trained and she can take care of her self. We are not beat over the head with how mistreated she was because of her gender, their is none of that kind of thing. It is obvious that she is setting up a series and getting her crew together. A cyborg for muscle, a pessimistic engineer, a kind of flighty science officer, etc.

    WORM SUCK
    My low rating is for a few other things. I got sick and tired of the junior high school bickering between the main character and cyborg, even though we know by the end of the book, they are going to be buddies. I am guessing, cause I quit at 5 hours. I thought the cargo hauler out running and out maneuvering war ships and everybody was a little hard to believe. Mostly I got tired of all the talking. Every single moved had to be discussed.

    Kate Reading
    It is always a pleasure to hear Reading's voice.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Joshua T Collier
    19/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Short Firefly/Serenity Clone w/ few improvements"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    Characters should have more depth and more of the story should be told in each book.


    How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

    Felt like a short story, improve length and include an entire story arc.


    What about Kate Reading’s performance did you like?

    Kate Reading always does well and was the reason I bought the book to begin with.


    If this book were a movie would you go see it?

    No, it would take six such books to make a single movie


    Any additional comments?

    Story was short and failed to resolve any issues hinted at. Completed first two books and still little satisfaction. I recommend waiting until the first three books are packaged together to buy them.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • KJ
    TUSTIN, CA, United States
    16/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love it!"

    I'm happy to see this series is making its way to audiobook! I picked up Star Nomad, book 1 of this series, a few months ago first as an ebook. It sat in my digital to-be-read pile until I finally opened it up. OMG, by chapter 2 I was hooked! I love the characters in this series. It's definitely SF and not SFR, but there is some romance along the way, although it mostly appears in the background because there is so much action going on that there isn't time for it. Well, eventually... Honestly, this is space opera at its best. I raced through this series as fast as I could get the ebooks and I'm doing the same with the audibooks -- my credits are being saved so I can get these the minute each book in the series becomes available. This proved to be one of my favourite reads of 2016. Just said to know that book 8 will be the last.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • radine
    28/10/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful Beginning"

    Excellent start to what is an amazing Sci-fi adventure series. I'm eagerly awaiting the next installment.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • MakJ
    21/10/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "wonderful book. women not needy. great characters"

    i love these characters and the way they interact. only reason I haven't finished the series is because the only audible book is book 1.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Charles E. Richardson
    bink
    30/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Solid SF with Great Narration"

    In this book Buroker puts together a team of misfits, yeah a bit cliche-ish, that have disparate needs and missions. The main character, the captain of the Nomad, is a cheeky former space fighter jock post-war, yeah, I know still cliche-ish, who has to find her way home and meets a former enemy, or two, and some other people who need her help and can help her in a world just getting over the war.

    This sounds formulaic, but it's not. Buroker develops the characters quickly and adds to their profile more and more information while keeping the story moving. You can see Buroker's strong heroic fantasy roots, but it is not all that obtrusive and the story and characters are enjoyable. Is it the best SF ever written, no, but it is entertaining and well written with no "why would any moron ever do that" moments.

    In my mind the writing is a clean 4.5 so I rounded up.

    The Narration by Kate Reading is outstanding. She does a great job of reading the book without "acting". She differentiates the characters with no jarring voices or hoky accents. She is consistent. You always know who is talking. You don't notice her reading after the books starts. Her narration is smooth and is consistent with what is going on in the book.

    She gives a 5-star performance.

    Overall I found this book enjoyable and easy to listen to. Time passed so quickly the deep voiced "Audible hopes you've enjoyed this program," came almost as a surprise.

    Overall is a 5-star for me, too.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Ken
    20/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Book"

    So hard to find good Science Fiction anymore. So this was fun. Well worth the read!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Megan K. Williams
    19/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Standard space grunge with a gigantic side of rape"

    Don't get me wrong, it's a fun genre read that hits all the traditional Firefly-fan milestones and everything, but it feels like every ten pages one of the characters is getting groped against their will, threatened with rape, or finding off rape attempts. One attempt is super graphic and intense, so heads up for that.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • VJG
    Boston
    14/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fall into Fallen Empire for action and adventure!"

    This is going to be a fun crew to follow through the galaxy! Kate Reading does a great job of embodying all the characters from the feisty pilot to the taciturn cyborg. I'm looking forward to the next book already.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.