We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Hope and Red Audiobook

Hope and Red

Regular Price:£19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In a fracturing empire spread across savage seas, two people find a common cause.

Hope, the lone survivor of a village massacred by the emperor's forces, is secretly trained as a warrior and instrument of vengeance.

Red, an orphan adopted by a notorious matriarch of the criminal underworld, learns to be an expert thief and con artist. Together they will take down an empire.

Perfect for fans of Brent Weeks, Brandon Sanderson and Peter V. Brett, Hope and Red is destined to be the next fantasy blockbuster.

©2016 Jon Skovron (P)2016 Little Brown Book Group

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (64 )
5 star
 (35)
4 star
 (21)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.4 (61 )
5 star
 (34)
4 star
 (19)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.3 (61 )
5 star
 (30)
4 star
 (19)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    R. Maines 20/11/2016
    R. Maines 20/11/2016 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    34
    30
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Cheesey"

    Thoughts when reading this book:

    Stilted dialogue.

    Cheesey revenge plot

    Villain so evil I'm surprised he doesn't laugh all the time.

    Narration was ok.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Karoline 31/10/2016
    Karoline 31/10/2016 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    59
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Intelligent escapism"

    Cool and catchy fantasy book for adult readers. Enjoyable language, perfectly narrated. looking forward to the next installment.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mr. M. G. Helliwell surrey, england 27/10/2016
    Mr. M. G. Helliwell surrey, england 27/10/2016 Member Since 2016

    matthelliwell

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "OK, not brilliant"

    First the good points. Some of the twists and turns of the plot are original; the supporting cast it pretty well drawn, particularly Sadie and Nettles; the narration is generally pretty good, which is a pleasant surprise given that it was narrated by the author.

    The bad points:
    The voices aren't very good. They are unconvincing and seem have come with a cheesy American accent, which doesn't exist when reading the non-dialogue parts.

    A big part of the plot is the usual fantasy affair of someone ordinary finding they have world class skills in something. In this case, it was two people. The Hope character seems to have become an unbeatable swords-woman after only 8 years training in the evening so her skills are less than convincing.

    Of the two main characters (Hope and Red), Red is ok, Hope is irritating and their relationship is sufficiently badly written to make me cringe.

    The plot generally roles along at a reasonable pace apart from the chase-the-baddy section at the end which gets dragged out for far too long.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    David Stephens 13/10/2016
    David Stephens 13/10/2016 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Easy listening"

    Good story. Keeps your attention. Slightly predictable but good entertainment.
    I didn't like the narrators voice at first but I got used to it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Chris Leeds, United Kingdom 11/10/2016
    Chris Leeds, United Kingdom 11/10/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    45
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent Writing and Narration"
    Any additional comments?

    Loved this Audio book. Superb dialogue and storyline. I can't wait for the sequel. When I first heard the narration I was a bit dubious, not a big fan of American narration but Jon Skovron is excellent bringing a real depth to the narration of his own book. More please!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Billy 05/10/2016
    Billy 05/10/2016 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "magical and engaging"

    a great start to what should be a wonderful saga! A slow character creation leaves you really caring about the people and the towns and engaged til the very end.

    Really looking forward to the next one

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Birdie 30/09/2016
    Birdie 30/09/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    222
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Buoyant romp."

    Excellent, fast paced, imaginative tale, full of gusto and fun. Read this if you are looking for jolly, raucous escapism.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alkes 29/09/2016
    Alkes 29/09/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    118
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What a debut"

    Expect great things from this author. His imagination runs free and his writing keeps pace. Excellent!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ms sd thompson 27/09/2016
    ms sd thompson 27/09/2016 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent"

    I enjoyed every minute of this book and can't wait for the next one to be available . The characters were so like able , the story intriguing and the story teller made it magical. Anyone who enjoys game of thrones will love this ....

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Simon Waterlooville, UK 20/11/2016
    Simon Waterlooville, UK 20/11/2016 Member Since 2016

    A man with a child in his ears

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1326
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    250
    246
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    138
    17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Smug Caricatures in a Clichéd Land"

    I have to be honest up front and confess that I didn't make it all the way through this one which is unusual for me, especially as plenty of others have clearly enjoyed it so much. It is fast-paced and there is action in it but to me it felt like a cliched world populated by caricatures.

    It is more Pirates of the Carribean than Brandon Sanderson that's for sure. Super-skilled characters with incredibly smug outlooks who spend their time pulling crimes off in a neighbourhood where apparently everyone knows everyone else but with no comeback. Pitched fights where characters exchange "witty" dialogue while taking down multiple opponents without exerting themselves.

    In short I really do think that the publisher's suggestion that this is perfect for fans of the likes of Brandon Sanderson is stretching credulity just a bit. So it all got a bit much for me and while Skovron is a decent enough narrator for the text overall his character voices felt quite limited.

    So, given that I do seem very much in the minority on this one I'll leave this author to those who are more attuned to him and hope they get more out of it than I have.

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.