We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Battlemage Audiobook

Battlemage

Regular Price:£19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

"I can command storms, summon fire and unmake stone. Animals have nothing interesting to say, and no one can see the future because it has not been written," growled Balfruss. "It's dangerous to meddle with things you don't understand. When you fight magic with magic, nothing is certain."

Balfruss is a battlemage, one of a vanishing breed, sworn to fight and die for a country that fears and despises him.

Vargus is a soldier, and while mages shoot lightning from the walls of his city, he's down in the frontlines getting blood on his blade.

Talandra is a princess and her father's spymaster, but the war may force her to take up a greater responsibility and make the greatest sacrifice of all.

Known for their unpredictable, dangerous power, society has left battlemages untrained and shunned. But when a force unlike anything ever imagined attacks their home, the few remaining magic users must go to war - to save those who fear them most and herald in a new age of peace built upon the corpses of their enemies.

©2015 Stephen Aryan (P)2015 Hachette Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (296 )
5 star
 (131)
4 star
 (121)
3 star
 (31)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
4.2 (278 )
5 star
 (118)
4 star
 (113)
3 star
 (34)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (4)
Story
4.5 (280 )
5 star
 (164)
4 star
 (87)
3 star
 (23)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amazon Customer 24/03/2016 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very gritty magic"

    Good book, amazing voice actor. Maybe a bit of gore glorification, but I get why. Imparts the brutality of war and magic well.

    14 of 15 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Aaron 19/09/2016
    Aaron 19/09/2016 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    24
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Had its moments, but a little bland."

    Firstly the narration was quite good, a little monotone at times, but didn't detract from the story.

    Story was ok, but there was really only a few moments when something actually happened. Instead I had to listen to what I assume is setup for the next book. The problem with this is that only a couple of characters are interesting because they are the only ones really involved in any action.

    I just felt like the author had an idea for a good ending and the whole book was just about getting there, with very little happening in between.

    13 of 15 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Paul 18/12/2016
    Paul 18/12/2016 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    25
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent experience "

    First chapter was excellent then it lost me for a few but I persevered and the story gathered pace and the last few chapters were very engaging. 4 5 stars rounded up, it would feel petty not to award 5 stars for how much I enjoyed the story come the end of the book.
    Have heard many talented voice actors on Audible but this guy's range, ability and depth was for me incredible and the best voice actor I've heard. No-one paid or sponsored me for this review, I just very much enjoyed it.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    anthony 10/12/2016
    anthony 10/12/2016 Member Since 2016

    Very big audible fan.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    47
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    103
    78
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great start to a series."

    I had this book in my wish list for a little while and was a little unsure to weather i was going to lie it or not. As there was just something i liked about it. Then i saw that audio had book 1 and 2 in the bye 2 books for 1 credit. So i purchased both. Now i have listen to book 1 and i'm very glad that i got both books. This was a very good listen and had everything i love in a good fantasy magic, action, very good battle seems and a good storey line. If you are a fan of authors like brandon sanderson, robert jordan and robin hobb then i think you will enjoy this book to. This was another strong narration and i could listen to matt advis again. So if you were like me and sat on the fence and not sure if you should download this book then just do it you wont regret it.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mike T. 09/12/2016
    Mike T. 09/12/2016 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very long, very good epilogue. The rest - just OK."

    Strangely the extremely long epilogue was for me the highlight of this listen. The rest of the book was interesting enough, but could not hold my attention for long periods. Well written but a lot of listening sessions was needed to finish this book.

    Narration was great.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 05/12/2016 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One of the best magic books i've read."

    The magic system and intrigue in this book is the best i've seen in any series. Very enjoyable looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lizzi 19/11/2016
    Lizzi 19/11/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    41
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A good tale"

    This is a good story that keeps you interested and wanting for more. It's well read. I personally wish there'd been a bit more 'magic' as I enjoy that aspect of good defeats evil with panache!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Graham 12/11/2016
    Graham 12/11/2016 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Ok but Disjointed"
    Where does Battlemage rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    It's OK overall, but disjointed eg big buildup to a battle and when it starts there have already been 3 attacks and the characters are exhausted, the villains are really bad but turn out weak? And what's going on with the Vargus character?


    Would you recommend Battlemage to your friends? Why or why not?

    I'm not sure I would, the book's premise is good, but it's almost as if the author wrote the scenes separately then placed them together. Tying the end threads is really poor and yet part OK. Aargh!


    What does Matt Addis bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    Really good narration, brings a lot to the story


    Any additional comments?

    The rest of the series may turn out to be terrific? The first volume could have been

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Paul Chipperfield Frimley Green, England 28/05/2017
    Paul Chipperfield Frimley Green, England 28/05/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    35
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable but ..."

    Interesting to listen to a book that you want to hear the next stage but also want to give up. I can't put my finger on it at this time, maybe the story felt a little shallow, the fight scenes too observational, the plot too glib, it was like someone put a juicy mango in front of you but there is no aroma. Four stars because I kept going, but it could easily have been 2.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Belfast, County Antrim Northern Ireland 29/04/2017
    Amazon Customer Belfast, County Antrim Northern Ireland 29/04/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great find"

    really enjoyed this book, both the story and the narration. very quickly got into it and found it difficult to stop listening. looking forward to the next book in the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Nikki Chenard
    Pawcatuck, CT
    27/06/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I hung on every word. . ."

    As an avid audio book listener and lover of the epic fantasy genre, it's not often I find a gem like this book. Not only was the tale enthralling, but it was well put together, the characters were amazing, and it was action packed, thrilling, with a side of sexy.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Lawton
    17/02/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great for fans of Song of Fire and Ice"

    great story, very compelling and excellent performance. would definitely read again and already have the next book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Douglas E. Noll
    25/11/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "So what?"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    Create a point to it all. It is boring because I just don't care about the characters or what happens to them.


    Any additional comments?

    Long and tedious. Can't recommend.

    2 of 13 people found this review helpful
  • G. Bishop
    typing
    02/10/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Outstating :)"
    If you could sum up Battlemage in three words, what would they be?

    Magic andddddd Fireball (Clan wars) blah blah blah


    What other book might you compare Battlemage to and why?

    Don't know


    Which scene was your favorite?

    The end with the epic battle


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Lose of friends


    Any additional comments?

    0 of 20 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.