We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
Unexpected Economics Lecture

Unexpected Economics

Regular Price:£27.09
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Why are we choosing to have fewer children, even as we put more time into raising each one? Why are we so often willing to follow the herd and the opinions of strangers when making important decisions, even when those decisions are deeply personal? Most surprising: Why are questions like these increasingly attracting the attention of economists?

Find out why with these 24 fascinating lectures that will help you grasp as never before the ways in which these mechanisms for making choices are operating even in areas in which you may never have considered the forces of economics to be at work. Professor Taylor puts to rest the oft-quoted misconception of economics as "the dismal science." Instead, you'll take part in a wide-ranging and enjoyable investigation of how economic thinking - whether applied personally, nationally, or globally - relates to, and sheds fresh light on, just about everything.

With the aid of findings from recent Nobel Prize winners and rapidly evolving leading-edge fields like behavioral economics, you'll look at subjects ranging from discrimination and natural disasters to charity and risk-taking, and even whether terrorism can be considered a "career choice." As you roam with Professor Taylor across this fascinating landscape, you'll discover unique vantage points from which to survey and understand these exciting and vital territories being explored every day by economists. And you'll gain a deeper understanding of the role of choice in your own life, whether choices you've made for yourself, or those made for you by leaders you've entrusted with that authority.

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your Library section along with the audio.

©2011 The Teaching Company, LLC (P)2011 The Great Courses

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (3 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.7 (3 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.3 (3 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Jake
    Port Hueneme, California, United States
    21/06/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Riveting Take on Big Issues from Econ Perspective"

    In the vein of Freakonomics, Professor Taylor, undoubtedly one of the best Great Courses lecturers, provides you with a novel perspective on a variety of issues. Kidney transplants, traffic congestion, terrorism, marriage, procreation, discrimination, addiction, obesity, and voting; Prof. Taylor gently but fascinatingly analyzes all of these areas with economics in mind. He doesn't tell you what to but how to think more clearly about these subjects. Highly recommended.

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful
  • Mike
    WOODBRIDGE, VA, United States
    14/03/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not bad."
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    I love the Great Courses. This one was OK, but not my favorite. I guess the title made me think this would be full of fun, 'unexpected' economic story-telling...the untold story behind big events, etc. It is not that. This is an overview of various social science topics that could (unexpectedly) be considered to be 'economics'. Many of the lectures were simplistic probability theory sort of stuff. Some were opinions rationalized through selective inclusion of data. The lecture on addiction was particularly bad. If you are a social scientist, this might be your thing. Delivery was fine. If you are looking for education that also entertains, there are better choices.


    5 of 9 people found this review helpful
  • Said
    30/07/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One of best The Great Courses audio I listened to ..."

    Well structured and excellent explanation of economic ideas in real world existence, simple and everyone can benefit

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Flavius
    Morro Bay, CA, United States
    19/07/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "New Insights Into Familiar Topics"

    This was an enjoyable, informative course. I purchased it on a friend's recommendation, and I'm better for it. Professor Taylor takes a variety of subjects--sports, obesity, risk, uncertainty, and more--and looks at them through an economist's lens. One needn't know much about the study of economics to enjoy and appreciate this lecture series--the lecture topics are pertinent to to the lives we actually lead, and not just the stuff of academics.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.