We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Preview: A Nondescript Office Building in Montreal

Preview: A Nondescript Office Building in Montreal

Regular Price:£0.00

Publisher's Summary

Jon Ronson looks at how a group of Montreal tech wizards - with Fabian at their helm - gave the world free, easily accessible online porn. But what happened to the porn community in the San Fernando Valley as a result? Twenty years ago, a boy named Fabian had an idea. Because of Fabian's idea, millions of people behave a little differently when nobody's watching them. Lives were mangled, fortunes made.

©2016 Audible Original LLC (P)2016 Audible Original LLC

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (97 )
5 star
 (72)
4 star
 (21)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.7 (84 )
5 star
 (65)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.8 (83 )
5 star
 (66)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    P. C. Dettmann London, England 29/12/2016
    P. C. Dettmann London, England 29/12/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great"

    Fascinating ascent into the world of free porn tech companies headquartered in... Canada? Ronson always brilliant. More!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Skeggman 03/03/2017
    Skeggman 03/03/2017 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    31
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    84
    28
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Classic Jon Ronson in a new way."

    I really enjoyed this. I should however stipulate at this point that I'm a massive Jon Ronson fan and have enjoyed all of his books to date.

    This differs from previous Audible offerings in that it' comprises a narrative from Jon interspersed with interviews with people rather than accounts of interviews. Jon's manner is very light but his questions are intelligent and interesting. You don't feel that anyone is being set up to make a fool of themselves and as a result he teases out genuine and interesting responses to questions.

    In terms of subject matter - yes, it's about porn, but really it's about how a significant change to an industry affects ordinary (well...) people.

    It's free (at the time of writing) so if you like Jon Ronson or Louis Theroux, you honestly can't lose with this. I look forward to paying actual money for future instalments!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Neil LEEDS, United Kingdom 10/12/2016
    Neil LEEDS, United Kingdom 10/12/2016 Member Since 2017

    When driving I enjoy memoirs and business books. When running I like books about running and mountaineering. Sometimes I dip into fiction.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    30
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    48
    48
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    8
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "More please..."

    Great start. But how long do I have to wait for more?

    Classic Jon Ronson territory.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kate Leaver 27/09/2016
    Kate Leaver 27/09/2016 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant, love it"

    This is a fascinating first episode and I can't wait to listen to the rest.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jonathan 24/09/2016
    Jonathan 24/09/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "FakeAgent and FakeTaxi?"

    For the record, Fabian has never bought FakeAgent or FakeTaxi simply because I have never sold my sites.. I have absolutely no idea why this is stated in this interview. My site FakeTaxi had not even launched by the time Fabian sold Manwin. Comical really...

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.