We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever? Audiobook

Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever?

Regular Price:£10.39
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In a barracks on an abandoned military base, miles from the nearest road, Thomas watches as the man he has brought wakes up. Kev, a NASA astronaut, doesn't recognize his captor, though Thomas remembers him.

Kev cries for help. He pulls at the chain. Thomas didn't want to have to resort to this. But they really needed to have a conversation, and Kev didn't answer his messages. And now Thomas has a few questions.

©2014 Dave Eggers (P)2014 Random House Audio

What the Critics Say

"Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever? stretches...toying with literary forms to new lengths...compelling." (Evening Standard)

"Possibly the most admired and emulated American author of his generation." (Independent)

"An angry and astute investigation into the state of America... Politically and polemically engaged in the tradition of Dickens and Zola" (Mark Lawson, Guardian)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (14 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.1 (12 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.5 (12 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Carys Kennedy 22/07/2015
    Carys Kennedy 22/07/2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not overly impressed"

    I'm glad I read this as an audiobook, because the performances were pretty good. Other than that, I wasn't impressed - the whole thing was heavy handed as subtle as a brick. It's a shame because I used to like Eggers, but now it all feels so try hard.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    rachel rowarth 14/04/2015
    rachel rowarth 14/04/2015 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thought provoking"

    The only reason this didn't get a five was the ending....I thought it was weak. That said I thoroughly enjoyed the dialogue between Thomas, a somewhat narcissistic displaced character, and his captives. Some of the exchanges were thought provoking. I will read this again.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Goatbuoy UK 25/02/2015
    Goatbuoy UK 25/02/2015

    GB

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very well done"

    I was initially disappointed that Dion Graham wasn't the narrator for this story, but the full cast approach is actually really appropriate and highly entertaining.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.