We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
White Seed Audiobook

White Seed: The Untold Story of the Lost Colony of Roanoke

Regular Price:£19.39
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A fully-realized historical thriller in the tradition of James Clavell's Shogun and Ken Follett's The Pillars of the Earth.

One of the most haunting mysteries in American history - The Lost Colony of Roanoke - comes roaring back to life in White Seed, with a compelling cast of characters, including Maggie Hagger, indentured Irish serving girl, a victim of rape and intimidation; Manteo, Croatoan interpreter for the English, inhabitant of two worlds, belonging to neither; John White, ineffective Governor, painter, dreamer, father and grandfather; Captain Stafford, brave and disciplined, but cruel soldier; and Powhatan, shrewd Tidewater warlord who wages a stealthy war against the colonists.

©2009 Paul Clayton (P)2013 Paul Clayton

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

2.5 (2 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
2.5 (2 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.0 (1 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Cate's Book Nut Hut
    JBLM, WA
    25/08/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Why oh why"

    This has to be the worse narrator I have heard so far from Audible. His accent fluctuates each time he reads the same character, and his butchery of an English accent is just... this will be returned as i think I would rather read the actual book than suffer through this again.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Terry D
    Issaquah, WA USA
    15/07/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can't get past the narration"

    The mystery of Roanoke is fascinating and I was excited when I saw the description of this book.

    Not sure if it is a good book or not. I simply can not get past the narration! It is read with all the inflection and drama you might hear at the library any Saturday morning when it is story time for the kiddies. Irritating. The frequent mispronunciation of common words is jarring. I'm 8 hours into it, ashamed that I have wasted this much time and giving it up.

    If you really want to explore this - get the paper book, not this audible.

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful
  • Heidi Burnette
    16/07/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This is THE WORST narrator I've ever listened to"
    Would you try another book from Paul Clayton and/or Lee Harpster?

    I might try another book from Paul Clayton but would not ever again listen to another audio book narrated by Lee Harpster


    Would you be willing to try another book from Paul Clayton? Why or why not?

    I would possibly try another book, but while it was interesting to read the historical account of Roanoke, the characters were so one dimensional. There were so many points where I thought the writer would delve further into a character's background, but he really only ever scratched the surface. I might have enjoyed this book more were it not for the narration.


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    It's an absolute shame how terrible this narrator's performance was. I should have returned this book, but I kept with it because I was really interested in how the story turned out. Throughout out the book, he routinely mispronounced so many words (striated, anemic, gaol, raucous, mottled, tallow, cupboard, inexplicably, among many, many other words), that you could almost make a game out of it. It actually even started to be kind of funny, to a certain point, when I wasn't cringing inside. How an editor could have let this be published as an audiobook like this is a complete mystery. Aside from the hundreds of pronunciation errors, the stye of narration was terrible. Every woman sounded like a shrew! The narrator used such a shrill voice that he made every single female character unlikeable. Regardless of what they were saying, he made them really sound like women on the verge of hysteria. In addition, the narrator seems to start with one voice for a character and then change it completely in the space of a sentence or a paragraph, almost like he cut the recording and came back and started over another day without the faintest notion of how he sounded 3 days ago. His English accent is really bad, goes in and out during the narration from an English to an American accent, and really the "savage" voices he used were just terrible. Don't get this book...it might have been a funny lark to listen to this narrator for a bit just for a laugh...but not for an entire 18 hours.


    Any additional comments?

    Don't waste your time or money. I wish I hadn't.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Ellen
    Chesterton, IN, United States
    25/03/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An interesting piece of history"

    This is not brilliant writing but it's a good story and told well enough. The questions of what happened in Roanoke has always fascinated me. of course it's speculative, but it's interesting.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • DogNotSpicy
    Left Coast
    05/06/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The worst read audiobook!"
    What would have made White Seed better?

    The reader was horrid, pure amateur stuff. It was unbearable to listen to. The story had potential, but when it's read by an actor who can't even pronounce words correctly, let alone affect any accent- it completely ruined the story.


    Would you ever listen to anything by Paul Clayton again?

    I would, with the exception that someone else read his books.


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    The narrator should have been taken out and shot. He was awful. Ruined the book.


    7 of 9 people found this review helpful
  • kmk
    31/12/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hard to listen to"
    Would you try another book from Paul Clayton and/or Lee Harpster?

    Despite a very stilted narration, I persevered listening to the book as the story is fascinating. But I just could not finish it due to the over-articulated stilted narration.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • J. Susanne Wirth
    29/10/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narration so awful I was unwilling to tolerate a full five minutes. Trash."

    Excruciatingly awful job of narrative production. Totally crushed my internet in audio books. Waste of my precious retirement minutes.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.