We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Villa on the Riviera Audiobook

Villa on the Riviera

Regular Price:£18.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Absorbing and escapist, The Villa on the Riviera is perfect summer listening for fans of Rachel Hore and Santa Montefiore.

Polly Smith is struggling to make a living as an artist when her friend and patron, Oliver, invites her to the south of France. But her world is unexpectedly turned upside down when she digs out her birth certificate to apply for a passport. Her parents are not who she believed them to be - even her name is different.

Fleeing to the Riviera, Polly finds that the serenity and sunshine brings her art to life as never before. But all is not well in the grand house. Oliver's father was forced to leave England in a cloud of scandal and his past is about to catch up with him. And Polly's own future begins to take on a new and fascinating shape....

The perfect listen for fans of The Villa and Summer's Child, this is a beguiling and evocative tale that will transport you away to the Riviera itself.

©2015 Elzabeth Edmondson (P)2015 Audible, Ltd

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (105 )
5 star
 (55)
4 star
 (29)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
4.2 (96 )
5 star
 (47)
4 star
 (32)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.5 (97 )
5 star
 (65)
4 star
 (21)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Animal lover Wales UK 14/08/2015
    Animal lover Wales UK 14/08/2015 Member Since 2016

    Jacsis

    HELPFUL VOTES
    35
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    35
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Compelling"

    A story with several twists. Nothing it what it seems! Enjoy, you will not be disappointed.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pamela 04/06/2015
    Pamela 04/06/2015 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "My kind of book"

    It has everything: original plot, engaging characters, nicely paced. Didn't want it to end. Would make a good movie.

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jan 04/11/2015
    Jan 04/11/2015 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful fairytale"

    Thoroughly engrossing and enjoyable story with amazing characterisation. Well narrated and I loved the descriptions of the people and scenery. Sometimes the story was a little far fetched but that didn't detract from the experience.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    MRS 13/08/2016
    MRS 13/08/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Villa on the riviera."

    Quite slow to get going, but eventually a good yarn. Well read, good voices, enjoyable.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Linda London, United Kingdom 06/07/2016
    Linda London, United Kingdom 06/07/2016 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    237
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    123
    117
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    69
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nice old fashioned mystery and romance"

    I am obviously getting a bit sentimental in my old age but I am enjoying this run of Elizabeth Edmonson stories. Yes I saw where most of the storylines were going but that really didn't matter at all. Good interesting bunch of vintage characters and a thoroughly unpleasant villain all very well portrayed by Nicolette McKenzie who suits this type of book admirably.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Clare 12/06/2016
    Clare 12/06/2016 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Twists And Intrigue."

    Another enjoyable audio book.. Full of twists. turns and Intrigue. Read exceptionally well by the narrator who brings the charecters to life.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    avril 31/05/2016
    avril 31/05/2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    "Villa on the Riviera"

    An excellent story. I couldn't wait to get to the next chapter. The plots were fantastic, and the characters,and views were depicted beautifully. I felt that I was transported into another world. Absolutely fantastic. The narrator brought the characters to life. Very enjoyable. E B. Northwest

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Beverley Elston 02/04/2016 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "brilliant.... most enjoyable and a good story line"

    Brilliant story lone and the performance was also very good. I easily got lost in the world of Polly. Story line and intrigue was so good. looking forward to downloading the next one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nina Ludgate 20/03/2016
    Nina Ludgate 20/03/2016 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gentle twists and turns"

    A good story of an impoverished young artist in 1920/30s, thrown into high society. Her beguiling character has an innocence about it. She is likeable with no expectations from life. She gets surprised enormously by the end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Anthony Beeson 18/02/2016
    Anthony Beeson 18/02/2016 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "enjoyable read like a good mug of hot chocolate."

    Good mix of characters interesting storyline nothing to keep you awake at night.I wanted to keep on to the end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Alexa
    United States
    16/12/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Meandering and boring"

    I was hoping this would be a cozy and entertaining mystery/romance story. No such luck.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • C. Rosser
    Waco, TX
    25/04/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too many characters for so thin a plot"

    The reader was excellent, giving each of the (far too) many characters a separate voice. The characterizations were very good, even the minor characters were described with perhaps more detail than they deserved. The plot was thin and the book went on too long.




    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Lorriee
    Paso Robles, CA, United States
    16/07/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good, too many characters not completely developed"

    There were far too many characters who were interesting in the beginning, but lost steam towards the end of the book. Still a listenable book for a beach or a car ride.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Callie E Masten
    07/07/16
    Overall
    Performance
    "A Good Storyline"

    This book has a good storyline that is easy to follow. It is well read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • susanne gravelle
    04/01/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "terrible and annoying narrator!"

    i really struggled to make it to the end. The narrator was terrible, extremely annoying.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Andrea mcmillan
    15/07/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nice story, wonderful reader."

    The woman doing the reading was fantastic. Great story. Wish there was another. Will download more books by this author and reader!

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.