We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
Vanessa and Her Sister Audiobook

Vanessa and Her Sister: A Novel

Regular Price:£18.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

What if Virginia Woolf's sister had kept a diary? For fans of The Paris Wife and Loving Frank comes a spellbinding new story of the inseparable bond between Virginia and her sister, the gifted painter Vanessa Bell, and the real-life betrayal that threatened to destroy their family. Hailed by The New York Times Book Review as "an uncanny success" and based on meticulous research, this stunning novel illuminates a little-known episode in the celebrated sisters' glittering bohemian youth among the legendary Bloomsbury Group.

London, 1905: The city is alight with change, and the Stephen siblings are at the forefront. Vanessa, Virginia, Thoby, and Adrian are leaving behind their childhood home and taking a house in the leafy heart of avant-garde Bloomsbury. There they bring together a glittering circle of bright, outrageous artistic friends who will grow into legend and come to be known as the Bloomsbury Group. And at the center of this charmed circle are the devoted, gifted sisters: Vanessa, the painter, and Virginia, the writer. Each member of the group will go on to earn fame and success, but so far Vanessa Bell has never sold a painting. Virginia Woolf's book review has just been turned down by The Times.

Lytton Strachey has not published anything. E. M. Forster has finished his first novel but does not like the title. Leonard Woolf is still a civil servant in Ceylon, and John Maynard Keynes is looking for a job. Together, this sparkling coterie of artists and intellectuals throw away convention and embrace the wild freedom of being young, single bohemians in London.

But the landscape shifts when Vanessa unexpectedly falls in love and her sister feels dangerously abandoned. Eerily possessive, charismatic, manipulative, and brilliant, Virginia has always lived in the shelter of Vanessa's constant attention and encouragement. Without it, she careens toward self-destruction and madness.

©2014 Priya Parmar (P)2015 Audible Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.8 (18 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.6 (14 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.9 (14 )
5 star
 (13)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Sarah 07/07/2015
    Sarah 07/07/2015 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing read"

    An amazing read read by brilliant narraters!!! really good book couldn't put down, top marks!!!

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jo Douglas 29/01/2016
    Jo Douglas 29/01/2016 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    "Excellent"

    This is a fascinating insight into Vanessa and Virginia's relationship and their individual personalities and talents. Additionally the forming and growth of the Bloomsbury Group is highlighted so well, we really get to feel the human side of so many well known names.
    Lastly it was enlightening for me to learn so much more about Vanessa who sadly historically has been overshadowed by Virginia's fame. I was riveted to the whole book and enjoyed it tremendously.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.