We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
Under a Pole Star Audiobook

Under a Pole Star

Regular Price:£19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Costa-winning author Stef Penney returns to the wild Arctic setting she brought so vividly to life in The Tenderness of Wolves in an epic story of ambition, perseverance and love against the odds. Perfect for fans of To the Bright Edge of the World and The Essex Serpent.

Flora Mackie first crossed the Arctic Circle at the age of 12. In 1889 the whaler's daughter from Dundee - dubbed by the press 'The Snow Queen' - sets out to become a scientist and explorer. She struggles to be taken seriously, but determination and chance lead her back to Northern Greenland at the head of a British expedition despite the many who believe that a young woman has no place in this harsh world of men.

Geologist Jakob de Beyn was raised in Manhattan. Yearning for wider horizons, he joins a rival expedition led by the furiously driven Lester Armitage. When Jakob and Flora's paths cross, it is a fateful meeting. All three become obsessed with the north, a place where violent extremes exist side by side: perpetual night and endless day; frozen seas and coastal meadows; heroism and lies. Armitage's ruthless desire to be the true leader of polar discovery takes him and his men on a mission whose tragic outcome will reverberate for years to come.

Set against the stark, timeless beauty of Northern Greenland and fin-de-siècle New York and London, Under a Pole Star is a compelling look at the dark side of the golden age of exploration, a study of the corrosive power of ambition and an epic, incendiary love story. It shows that sometimes you have to travel to the furthest edge of the world in order to find your true place in it.

©2016 Stef Penney (P)2016 WF Howes Ltd

What the Critics Say

"A supreme storyteller." (Sunday Times)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (30 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.1 (29 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.7 (29 )
5 star
 (22)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Úna 10/03/2017
    Úna 10/03/2017 Member Since 2016

    Studying Architecture - I love to lsiten to Audiobooks while I work. Favourite authors include Toni Morrison, Margaret Atwood & Donna Tartt.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    38
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Adventure!"
    What did you like most about Under a Pole Star?

    The main character Flora is a brilliant creation.


    What did you like best about this story?

    I like the chronicle approach - building a picture of a whole human life from start to finish, I also loved the depiction of Flora's relationships with other people, particularly the Inuit people.


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    One scene near the end made me cry.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ms. L. V. Hurley 08/12/2016 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not sure"

    Well I'm not sure if I did or didn't like this book.
    I certainly wasn't rushing to finish it.
    It felt like listening to soft porn disguised as a book about a travelling.
    The constant sex scenes became boring and unnecessary.
    Would of liked more about her actual experiences exploring the North Pole.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Fiona 13/01/2017
    Fiona 13/01/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another wonderful book from Stef Penney"

    It is hard to believe that Stef Penney can keep producing books to the same high standard. Finishing the book felt like a bereavement from the characters and the landscape. A magical journey to the arctic lands with a wealth of description. The accents of the Inuits made the audiobook seem very authentic - as if we were in their igloos with them. Excellent performances from the narrators.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Clare 12/01/2017
    Clare 12/01/2017 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    54
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excessively long and numerous passages of sex spoil an entertaining story well told"

    Such a shame! Lovely evocative passages describing the polar landscape, fascinating insights into Inuit culture, unexplained deaths and a love story running through it all. So many elements that could have made a wonderful novel. But I have never read a book with so much, such prolonged and such explicit sex. Of course it's a powerful component of the lovers' story, but a substantial edit of all of their sexual encounters wouldn't affect the reader's sympathy for or understanding of their story and would have made the novel a considerably better read for me.

    I nearly gave up on this book four or five times. Certainly not recommended for younger readers...

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ms Montaigu de quercy, France 10/01/2017
    Ms Montaigu de quercy, France 10/01/2017 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Superb"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Under a Pole Star to be better than the print version?

    Yes. I enjoyed the different voices


    What did you like best about this story?

    The heroine , she was a fascinating character from start to finish


    What does Cathleen McCarron and Thomas Judd bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    They were excellent narrators , both of them


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    there were many moving scenes


    Any additional comments?

    I loved this story , Steph Penny is a wonderful author and this latest book is even better than her previous

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John 25/11/2016
    John 25/11/2016 Member Since 2014

    a reader

    HELPFUL VOTES
    141
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    157
    33
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another memorable story."

    After 'The Tenderness of Wolves' and 'The Invisible Ones' Steff Penny has won my trust as a storyteller. I would read anything she writes and there is lots to admire about exploration and hardship and the native Greenlanders but I was not gripped at the start.The story develops into a love story stretching from London and New York to the Arctic. It is written with a subtle intensity and completeness that includes some very graphic descriptions of intimacy. The power of these scenes and how they contrast with the society of the time is undeniable and is realised in the very satisfying final chapters when some of the tension is built on our knowledge of them. My favorite of Ms Penny's novels remains 'The Invisible Ones' but here is another excellent book full of interesting and well drawn people. It is almost a week since i finished it and I still think of the final scenes.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.