We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
The Serpent Sword Audiobook

The Serpent Sword: The Bernicia Chronicles, Book 1

Regular Price:£18.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

633AD. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, powerful, action-packed historical thriller about vengeance and coming of age. The Bernicia Chronicles are perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell.

Beobrand is compelled by his brother's almost-certain murder to embark on a quest for revenge in the war-ravaged kingdoms of Northumbria. The land is rife with danger, as warlords vie for supremacy and dominion. In the battles for control of the region, new oaths are made and broken, and loyalties are tested to the limits. With no patronage and no experience, Beobrand must form his own allegiances and learn to fight with sword and shield.

Relentless in pursuit of his enemies, he faces challenges which transform him from a boy to a man who stands strong in the clamour and gore of the shieldwall. As he closes in on his kin's slayer and the bodies pile up, can Beobrand mete out the vengeance he craves without sacrificing his honour...or even his soul?

©2016 Matthew Harffy (P)2016 Audible, Ltd

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (42 )
5 star
 (29)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.6 (40 )
5 star
 (27)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.6 (40 )
5 star
 (27)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Bairdy1985 03/02/2017
    Bairdy1985 03/02/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Bloody & Brilliant"
    If you could sum up The Serpent Sword in three words, what would they be?

    Bloody, Emotional, Gritty


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Serpent Sword?

    The main scene for me is when Beo learns the men he is travelling with aren't nice men at. Emotional charged and something not easy to forget once you've read it.


    What does Barnaby Edwards bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    Grittiness, his voice suits the tone of the story perfectly


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No, I guess you could but I prefer to split the tale in the chunks so I can reflect before moving on


    Any additional comments?

    Bloody Brilliant!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    LewisMoorhead 21/12/2016
    LewisMoorhead 21/12/2016 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best Audiobook I have read to date,"
    If you could sum up The Serpent Sword in three words, what would they be?

    Gripping, Battles, Emotion


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Beobrand ofcourse, the main protagonist who defeats his enemies with the power of youth and determination after the loss of his loved ones. A great character to follow.


    Have you listened to any of Barnaby Edwards’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    First performance I have heard from Barnaby Edwards but his performance is fantastic.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    I listened to it over 3 days at work! =)


    Any additional comments?

    Fantastic read.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alan 05/03/2017
    Alan 05/03/2017 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent"

    Excellent performance, great characters, very much in the essence of the saxon chronicles. Looking forward to the next one which is already downloaded

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Matt 15/12/2016
    Matt 15/12/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An excellent debut"

    This is Matthew Harffy's first novel, though you'd never guess that from the writing quality; it's as well-written as anything that more veteran authors of the genre like Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow have produced. The story is gripping and engaging from start to finish, and the narration by Barnaby Edwards is near-perfect. I say near-perfect because just occasionally it feels as though Edwards is reading the words as a recitation rather than acting them. The best audiobooks are those in which the narrator acts, rather than simply reads. But as I say, this is only occasional, and should be no barrier to enjoying the book. Definitely a worthwhile purchase for fans of historical fiction.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • John
    Lampasas, TX, United States
    17/02/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic!"
    If you could sum up The Serpent Sword in three words, what would they be?

    Taking up this book based on the comment about it being a good one for Bernard Cornwell fans, of which I am a huge fan, it started a bit slow. But I stayed with it and was rewarded by a gripping tale every bit as worthy of the genre. The tale covers a wide array of emotional tides other than revenge and grief. Mr. Harfly weaves this tale well and makes it a hard book had to put down. I look forward to the next two books to see what happens to the boy who became a warrior, Beobrand.


    Have you listened to any of Barnaby Edwards’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I've never listened to any of Mr. Edwards' narrations but I am now a fan. It is difficult to remember that all of those voices are being said by one narrator and not an entire company of actors.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Timothy
    UNIVERSAL CITY, TX, United States
    09/02/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "PRE SERIES TO BERNARD CORNWELL'S SAXON TALES"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Serpent Sword to be better than the print version?

    DIDN'T READ BOOK.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    MAIN CHARACTER BEOBRAND. LIKE THE CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT OF WHAT MAKES A MAN A WARRIOR.


    Have you listened to any of Barnaby Edwards’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    HAVE NOT.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    OF COURSE THE FINAL SCENE OF MEETING HIS BROTHER'S KILLER.


    Any additional comments?

    THIS BOOK FEELS LIKE IT IS WRITTEN BY BERNARD CORNWELL. GREAT BOOK AND READY FOR HIS NEXT ADVENTURE.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.